We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Dinner” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Shipwrecked Seafood and Bar

Shipwrecked Seafood and Bar
Roundabout Building | Cnr Shute Harbour Rd & The Esplanade, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
07 4946 6713
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 70 Restaurants in Airlie Beach
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Mackay, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Romantic Dinner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We went here for a nice dinner. It started nice, with the chilli kilpatrick oysters. Even though there was some shell grit in them. It then took a turn for the worse. I had the mussels in a tomato sauce, they were rubbery & the sauce wasn't that great. My partner had the barramundi with cous cous, he said it was nice, but not the best. A little disappointing given its great location & potential. Just a heads up, it doesn't seem to have air con, which was fine for us but I could imagine it wouldn't be that nice in the middle of summer.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    55
    44
    36
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best in this area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I strongly recommend this restaurant. I've been twice during my stay in Airlie Beach. The food is lovely and at the same time you'll be able to enjoy its amazing views. Good relation quality-price and nice staff. One of their waiters, Fox, made the difference with her lovely service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Margaritas made by the Foxxy Lady!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Just visiting for two sun filled days in Airlie Beach I was unfortunately disappointed with the weather as it rained the whole time. A taxi driver recommended this place as family friendly and good food. Having enjoyed the warm welcome and the spacious dining space based on a nautical theme I was pleasantly surprised and entertained by my waitress Fox. She makes an awesome Margarita and is a delight to talk too. The food was great. Must recommend the Ginger and Wasabi Oysters and the bugs. Safe travels and for all those none believers it may not be five star but it was definitely a good place to eat and I'm happy to pay for decent food. Go there with an open mind you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very nice meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Just off of a 2-day cruise in the Whitsundays, my husband and I picked "Shipwrecked" for dinner based on the ad in the little booklet we got at our hotel (Coral Sea). We walked about 15 minutes from the resort to the restaurant (in a fine mist) and found the restaurant on an upper level overlooking the beach. The theme is very nautical (which we love) - and even the water bottle was shaped like a fish. I ordered the seafood pot pie and it was rich and creamy and garlicky and filled with chunks of prawn, fish and calamari. It was served with a side salad and a piece of bread. Delicious and perfectly cooked. My husband ordered the trout and even though the lovely waitress warned that the spices had a bit of a kick, he found that the spices overwhelmed the fish. He ate it all, but didn't love it. I had the Tsunami Cosmo and it was delicious. We both ordered dessert (caramel cheesecake - nice, creamy, but not a lot of flavor and apple crumble - which disappeared!)

The service was good, and our primary waitress was attentive and helpful. Overall - a solid B+.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum Beach, Australia
1 review
“Fun night.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Great atmosphere, great staff, great music. Main meal was a disappointment as we ordered the $80 crayfish mornay for 2 and it was the smallest crayfish we had ever seen. So much so that we ordered another mains. Other than that we had a great night!!!! Spent over $200 on food and wine so I would say that they did well from us.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shipwrecked Seafood and Bar also viewed

 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Shipwrecked Seafood and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shipwrecked Seafood and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.