We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whitsunday on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Whitsunday on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Whitsunday on the Beach
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   269 Shute Harbour Road, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Airlie Beach
Leeds
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Whitsunday on the Beach has an excellent location right in the heart of Airlie Beach. The rooms are sizeable if a touch spartan but the kitchenette is well equipped. Considering the central location having parking on site right in front of the rooms is great.

If you go out one gate you are on the main street in Airlie beach and the other gate leads out on to the lagoon area. It is also walking distance to Abel Point marina - in fact it is probably quicker to walk to Abel Point marina than get the busses that most operators offer.

The only downside of the central location is that there can be a bit of street noise but we were there on a weekend and it wasn't an issue for us.

Room Tip: Some of the upper floor rooms have a view over the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    32
    4
    2
    8
See reviews for
8
35
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mackay
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have stayed here a number of times. We live in Mackay, just south of Airlie Beach and this is a great place to stay on weekends away. We go to Airlie to party and relax and these things are available in abundance from this accommodation. Situation in the heart of the main street of Airlie and backing onto the Lagoon there is very little need to walk far to access all the things we wanted to do. The managers/owners of this accommodation are quite simply the best. We were held up arriving last time by heavy road works and they bent over backwards to accommodate us and make checking in as easy as possible. Whenever I have stayed the staff are very friendly and the owner is always up for chat and will stop and give you her full attention. In my experience other guests are usually friendly and generally there's a very happy atmosphere about the place. We have stayed in several different rooms both first and ground floor and find both to be good options. I have no preferences myself as all are clean and have very good kitchen facilities with a full size fridge which is a bonus. I will keep returning here for years to come and I have, and will continue to, recommend this to my friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Quite simply ..... if you want to be reasonably sure of a good nights sleep (and that is why we all book hotels etc), don't stay here.
The accommodation is to a high standeard - in very good condition and very well equipped. And it is cleaned and tidied up every day. The reception staff were very helpful when we arrived (just as they were about to close, as we were delayed by multiple roadworks on the journey from Cairns), and also recommended what they thought was the best trip to the Islands. We booked it there and then and had a wonderful day- see my separate review of the Whitehaven Express.
The hotel is very well located on the main strip - for ease of access to bars, restaurants etc - and adjacent to the delightful Airlie Beach Lagoon which it overlooks. Its very close to the biggest and noiseiest bars in the strip - this didn't affect us (our noise problems were within the motel), but might affect others.
But wonderful accommodation and helpful staff are of no use if you are kept awake for much of the night by other guests returning late, running up and down the corridor, shouting and swearing, and slamming doors. On our first night this started at 11.30pm and went on 'til well after 2am. For a further 1 hour plus there were occasional shouts, and doors slammed.
When we complained to staff the following morning we were advised that the problem would be dealt with, and that the group of three men two rooms down from us would be leaving that day. They didn't, and a repeat albeit lesser performance was played out on our second night. This was enhanced by a separate group of men in downstairs rooms who arrived back late, and drank and talked and shouted to each other outside well in to the night.
Shame!!! Good standard motel, lovely setting, very pleasant owner - but we left for a 500km drive more tired than we had arrived. Needless to say we would never go back, and could not recommend it to any sensible people who book in to a hotel/motel to sleep.

Room Tip: If you do risk staying here, the rooms nearest the lagoon are furthest away from the noisy bars on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airliebeachgirl, Manager at Whitsunday on the Beach, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
I would like to thank you for your feedback and yes we are extremely well positioned in town and that is why we are popular. It is a shame that you happened to be staying on the second largest weekend for the year. New Years eve is the largest night. There was 350 footballers in town this weekend, along with 3 weddings, and junior soccer (under 9's, under 11's) who happened to have their final sporting carnival and which all stayed in the town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed in a double room for one night for $110. The motel is in a very good location within walking distance of bars, restaurants and the marina. The room was a good size with a decent kitchenette. We arrived about 12ish on the day of check in. We arrived early on the day of check in, about 11 or 12ish and were able to check in straight away. On the day of check out they held our suitcases for us for a good couple of hours while we tried to sort out a cancelled boat trip.

Overall, didn't have any complaints and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilcullen, Ireland
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed here for one night on the way to Hamilton Island. It was a typical motel room on the first floor. It was spacious with cooking facilities. The main selling point was the excellent location, right in the centre of Airlie Beach and beside the lagoon. The staff were helpful with good advice about buses and eating options. Good value for money, it does exactly what it says on the tin!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed there this weekend,right in the main street and close to everything.
We got a top floor unit which had views of the ocean smack bang in front of you,walking out the back is a gate thats 20 meters from the lagoon,The kitchen had most cooking facilities and everything else you need.
We loved it and cant wait to go back again, room at night does pick up noise from the night club but not enough to bother us,great breakfast at Harry's on the corner cheap and tasty.
Craft markets every saturday right on the beach front 5 minute walk from our hotel.
Will be going back,great accommodation.

Room Tip: Room number 205 and 206 great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

We got there by chance since we were looping for a room for one night coming back from a sailing trip. Sally and her husband were extremely nice and helpful, they had left a cheap and small room, perfect for a couple. The room was clean and had all the things you need: hot shower, comfortable bed and a boiler for coffee in the morning.
The owners help us in finding the transfer for the airport, such a nice couple!
Highly recommended in Airlie beach!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whitsunday on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitsunday on the Beach

Address: 269 Shute Harbour Road, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Whitsunday on the Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airlie Beaches only Motel accommodation that backs onto the Airlie Beach Lagoon. All units are self contained with patios and balconies. Secure parking in the centre of the complex. No taxis to catch or hill to climb as we are in the centre of Airlie Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HostelWorld, Hotel.de, HostelBookers, Budget Places, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Whitsunday on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitsunday On The Beach Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitsunday on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.