We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, nice and in the centro of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whitsunday on the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Whitsunday on the Beach to your Saves list
Whitsunday on the Beach
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   269 Shute Harbour Road, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Clean, nice and in the centro of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

We got there by chance since we were looping for a room for one night coming back from a sailing trip. Sally and her husband were extremely nice and helpful, they had left a cheap and small room, perfect for a couple. The room was clean and had all the things you need: hot shower, comfortable bed and a boiler for coffee in the morning.
The owners help us in finding the transfer for the airport, such a nice couple!
Highly recommended in Airlie beach!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    35
    4
    3
    8
See reviews for
11
36
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mooloolaba, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Great spot adjacent to the Galoon (that's what my 7 year old calls Airlie Lagoon) - I've been visiting AB for 20+ years, usually staying at Summit Apts Flametree when with the family, this trip just me & a buddy stopping briefly overnight b4 heading out to the islands. Great staff, excellent location, handy for all shops, bars, pharmacy etc. If you're staying a while don't do your shopping in AB - get on a bus & head for Cannonvale shops - much cheaper. WOTB is a great short or longer stay, top end of backpacker prices, but u get what u pay for here & for all the right reasons - helpful & friendly staff add to the easygoing vibe. May be a little too central & young crowd for some esp on Friday & Sat nites, but guests here ranged from early 20's to mid-60's, so depends on your outlook I guess. I'd definitely stay here again if solo but if bringing missus & sprogs would rather book into Summit Apts. Otherwise I can't fault WOTB. All good.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I really enjoyed staying there. It is located right in the center of Airlie beach with lots of bars and restaurants around it. However, was not noisy in my room. There is a gate at the back of the motel, which leads to a path to the beach.

The room was clean and comfortable. WiFi worked well. The kitchen had all the necessary dishes, but you have to wash them yourself, otherwise there is an extra charge. The only problem that I had was that my room didn't have a table or chairs. But there was a small table right outside the room, and it was possible to take it into the room.

The lobby closes pretty early. If you plan to arrive late, make sure to let the management know and they will send you instructions for late check-in.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeppoon, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I hadnt been to Airlie Beach before and neither had my travelling friend, so when looking for a hotel online we werent sure on any of them. We chose Whitsundays on the Beach because of the price and location. The photos that I had found on all the travel sites did not do it justice!! This little place is in the best location with excellent views. The rooms were big but apparently you can get even bigger! The rooms have a kitchenette too which I would have used if I had stayed longer. We drove to Airlie and this motel has secure parking too. The staff were all super friendly. If you are a light sleeper though, I wouldnt suggest this place. I slept fine but my friend could hear the music from the bars which are very close by. Everything is extremely close, shopping, bars, restaurants, parks, the lagoon, Shute Harbour and of course the islands. I really really loved this place and I will be heading back for sure.

Room Tip: When i go back, Im going to ask for a corner room over looking the lagoon. I paid $10 extra for a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed for one night after our sailing trip around the whitsundays. We were allowed to check in earlier than stated and The lady who checked us in was very helpful and hospitable. She showed us to our room advised us about the gate that closed in the evenings, (made you feel very secure) how we can gain access and the facilities the room had. The room was very clean and no unwanted visitors unlike what we encountered three nights earlier at a four times more expensive hotel. The reception area is filled with information on tours and sailing trips and they are more than happy to help should you wish to book a tour.(Whitsunday blue is awesome) You are next to the communal pool which is fantastic and you are on the main stretch of airlie Beach. There is a pub/nightclub directly opposite whitsundays on the beach but the night we were staying it was not open so I can't comment on the noise but it may be worth requesting a room that was closer to the pool rather than the main road. Would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: A quiet nights sleep - ask for a room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu Valley, Nepal
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

This was a great stay - very reasonably priced accommodations - great location and facilities.... staff was very helpful an friendly..one woman there really helped me out in a jam to get my credit card info while I was out at Fantasea Reefworld without enough $ to purchase the additional scuba experience - so glad she was able to help as that turned out out be one of the best things I have done yet in my travels! Definitely would recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

This was my favourite accomodation of my whole trip. The rooms are big and have a little kitchen sections, so that you can do it self catering. It backs on the the lovely lagoon where you caan swim. It is located very central so there are many shops and bars located close by. The noise from the bar opposite can be heard in the rooms however this didn't really bother us. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Whitsunday on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitsunday on the Beach

Address: 269 Shute Harbour Road, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Whitsunday on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airlie Beaches only Motel accommodation that backs onto the Airlie Beach Lagoon. All units are self contained with patios and balconies. Secure parking in the centre of the complex. No taxis to catch or hill to climb as we are in the centre of Airlie Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Whitsunday on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitsunday On The Beach Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitsunday on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.