We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capers on the Esplanade

Capers on the Esplanade
Airlie Beachfront Hotel, The Esplanade, Airlie Beach, Queensland, Australia
4964 1777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 78 Restaurants in Airlie Beach
Price range: $11 - $26
Cuisines: Pub, Australian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Delicious breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Enjoyed a lovely breakfast here. Super cute decor and nice vibe. Service was great and very friendly. Food was delicious! Loved the corn fritters. Excellent iced coffee! Would definitely go back.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    82
    26
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great risotto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We dined there for a quick dinner on a Thursday night. Most tables were full but we eventually got one after a short wait. The chicken with vegetable risotto was great ( anything with risotto is my favourite). My wife had the seafood crepes and they were terrific as well. Service was OK but the location was outstanding on a warm summer night. It's worth waiting for an outside table.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Munches with a View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

A great place to chill out, and eat any time of the day / night. Loved the gourmet food from the kitchen, thanks Chefs and the service was so friendly.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nice food but overpriced, rude service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We are a group of 4. The service was not friendly at all. When we asked the service if the table was free she just waved to anothed table while walking away. No smile at all. She took some things from our table without saying anything, no 'excuse me' at all. She did not offer us any drinks. The food tasted good but a bit overpriced (abt $30). There were 2 cockroaches near our table. The positive thing was there is free wifi.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average food, expensive price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

There was a group of 4 people for our trip to this restaurant. The venue itself is appealing and clean.

The staff don't seem to greet you or at least say hello until they are actually taking your order, this is despite at least 4-5 staff walking straight past us. No eye contact and not even a hello.

On the plus side, the person who took our order checked with the chef regarding food allergies and was helpful in this way.

The food seemed to take quite a while to arrive even though the restaurant was pretty much empty. Once the food did arrive, suffice to say it was very average. The taste was bland and was not value for money. Two people in the group has the chicken salad and it cost 26$ approximately each. It came with a few pieces of salad, cheese, the bacon looked like it was seconds and full of fat. Lastly, you were given 2 chicken tenderloins which were crumbed and deep fried. They looked like they were processed chicken. Very unhappy with this average meal. It shouldn't have been more than 15$ for something like that. I would have expected a lot more for the price paid.

The other two people in the group weren't satisfied by their burgers either. Both indicated the meals were bland.

I wouldn't return to this place again. A real let down.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capers on the Esplanade also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Capers on the Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capers on the Esplanade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.