We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice apartment, poor attention to detail” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Horizon Resort Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Horizon Resort Apartments to your Saves list
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   3 Hermitage Drive | Whitsundays, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice apartment, poor attention to detail”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I stayed in a studio apartment at Blue Horizen hotel for two nights having nabbed it from lastminute for a very cheap price. In a good location, not completely central not too far out, about 8min walk from centre. Close without being I'm the midst. The hotel concierge was well mannered (in his half unbuttoned shirt), albeit a bit chatty. I don't mind chatting to hotel operators in check-in, but in this case, no real information about the hotel services, local area or available tours around etc was offered to me in conversation so the 'chatting' was pretty useless and a bit invasive. Also, he did not listen properly to my instructions regarding hotel transfer and told the operator I was booked for a different air carrier, and failed to give me the correct timings for the bus which ensued in a bit of drama the next day. In my view, that's lacking in professionalism. Less talking socially and a bit more customer focus to ensure the guests arrangements are properly attended to is preferred. The studio itself was very impressive, no problems with cleanliness, fully equipped with a full kitchenette (although the TV was extremely annoying, slow to change). There was a Large open balcony overlooking the bay. A large bed, although the blankets were very lightweight and not quite warm enough. The bathroom was of pretty cool architectural design a and always a plus, a washer/dryer set available . However the beautiful ambience of this lovely apartment was considerably compromised by a number of things. Firstly, the WIFI plan in the room was excessively costly at $6 for 30min, $10 an hour and $20 a day. It was not even based on consumption but rather time, so your service would terminate after 30min even if you had you consumed only 5min of internet. This is far too costly by any standards bed irritating given how heavily reliant you are on internet when traveling. Secondly, the usual amenities you expect to be provided on a daily basis such as milk and shampoo were not refreshed daily, you had to pay for them pro-rata, at around $2-3 for a tiny bottle. Although admittedly the products were very very good (hairdresser standard) unlike most places where they can be destructive to your hair and skin. Same with cleaning, there was a cost to have your place cleaned daily and you were required to throw your own garbage out. Though this is not altogether unusual for a studio, it didn't really feel like you were getting much from the place otherwise. The outdoor pool photos on the website are a bit exaggerated but it is a beautiful heater pool nonetheless, around 2m deep at one end snd surrounded by deck chairs. A small touch of the outdoor jacuzzi had me reeking in horror from the ice cold water. So much for that. I would have asked about it but it seemed pointless. In the end, I think this place was pretty average. A bit more front desk professionalism and a change to the WIFI/outdoor tub would bring this place right up, but for now you are paying for the nice room and semi-central location and not much more.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    64
    30
    17
    13
See reviews for
45
87
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

What a beautiful place, and with brand new beds now too. :)
Perfect distance out of central business area to be quiet, but so close to everything that you can walk to it easy.
Spa on the verandah overlook the bay, heaven.
Good quality kitchen plus the BBQ area by the pool plus the new Woolworths down the street, makes it so easy.
All the staff know there job, and are so helpful almost to a fault. Nothing is too much ask.
Would good back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Excellent staff, great room and the spa bath on the balcony with a view was a real bonus. We were able to book our chosen tours via reception. Despite being unlucky with the weather, we would definitely return to this accommodation. A huge draw was the 'adults only' policy. Great for couples looking for a quiet break.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

A group of us stayed in the first week of April and couldn't have been more impressed. It's in a great location, away from the main street, so nice and quiet, and to walk into the main street is only about 5 minutes. The guy at reception was really helpful and assisted with tours and information. We locked ourselves out of our room on one occasion and the reception guy let us in in no time. The room itself was nice and clean and had all the amenities you could ask for. The view is amazing! Request a room high up if you want ocean and island views (or if you want direct pool access, request the ground floor). Just a few little negatives - it's a shame there isn't anyone at reception after 5.00pm, and on Friday night there was a bit of noise on the balcony, but that didn't bother us and it quietened down by 9.30ish. Also, we have a big 4WD and parking in the car parks was a bit tricky as they are so pokey. Those negatives are only small though, and didn't detract from our stay at all. We had such a nice time!

Room Tip: Request a room higher up for amazing views, or a room on the ground floor for direct pool access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Unfortunately our stay at the Blue Horizon was memorable for all the wrong reasons. Arrived and room not ready, very unclean including rotten banana on the veranda and food stains on the bench. There was clumps of hair in the spa bath which then made us not want to use it. The couch was so hard you can not sit on it for long. The hot plates, lights and DVD were all broken and we had to ask for assistance on several occasions. I wrote directly to the owner of the hotel to explain my concerns prior to writing any reviews but he did not respond showing he really does not care for his customers. Never returning again. Beware.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Blue Horizon in a 1 bed semi self-contained apartment. Our room had a spacious balcony with good views and great sea breezes.

The bathroom had a shower over the spa bath but it was quite awkward to get in to and water leaked all over the floor, no matter what we did. Also the ceiling fans didn't work that well - it was either super slow of flat out fast.

The units are close to Airlie Beach shops, a pleasant 10 to 15 minute walk away.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Other reviews said that this resort didn't always clean the room properly which luckily wasn't a problem for us. Excellent facilities, after 5 days on a yacht we were ecstatic for a washing machine, dryer and air con. There is a window overlooking the living room from the bathroom. There are wooden blinds if it bothers you. I will definitely stay here again. The pool and parking are great. On thing that annoyed me is that it's an extra dollar for toiletries if you need more (which was a pain because who ever did our room forget about shampoo and I needed some). Tinnnnnnny criticism. receptionist was really nice.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Horizon Resort Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Resort Apartments

Address: 3 Hermitage Drive | Whitsundays, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Blue Horizon Resort Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
at Blue Horizon Resort creates the perfect setting for your Airlie Beach Whitsunday holiday. Whether you are looking for a romantic getaway, a family friendly destination, or somewhere to mix work with pleasure at Blue Horizon Resort can cater for all tastes.The resort’s modern, Balinese inspired 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments and 3 or 4 bedroom luxury penthouses offer spacious balconies with views over the Coral Sea. With an emphasis on comfort and warm friendly service at Blue Horizon Resort is your home away from home.With the beautiful Whitsunday weather you can choose to relax in the heated spa, rise early to take advantage of the fully equipped gymnasium or relax by the poolside café. The toddler wading pool and play room helps to keep little ones occupied while the Horizon heated swimming pool provides year round fun for all. Our onsite tour desk will assist you to choose the perfect activity to make your Whitsunday experience a memorable one, from a romantic secluded island beach picnic to a thrill seeking parachute jump our dedicated team can make it happen.at Blue Horizon Resort is the perfect spot for small to medium sized conferences, boasting a large, modern, dedicated conference room with state of the art audio visual equipment, broadband internet access, and versatile choice of room configurations at Blue Horizon Resort presents itself as a resort focused on driving business results.at Blue Horizon Resort, located a short walk from Airlie Beach village is the ideal base for your Airlie Beach Whitsunday escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Blue Horizon Resort Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel Apartments
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Horizon Resort Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.