We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartments” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Horizon Resort Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Horizon Resort Apartments to your Saves list
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   3 Hermitage Drive | Whitsundays, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great apartments”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Firstly, having read other reviews, remember these are apartments, it's not a hotel. It was just my wife and I staying in a 1 bedroom apartment which was lovely and clean. Stayed for 3 nights. Nice and quiet and the bed was comfy - slept well every night. Staff were helpful and friendly. Everything you need is in the kitchen, but probably not to a standard you'd expect at home. We were there in Sept 2013 so just out of high season apparently. It's a 10 minute walk to the main strip of Airlie Beach, which is nothing. There's loads of bars/cafes/restaurants if you need it there. The bar was empty though for some strange reason, not even beers in the fridge. Pool and spa are great. View is definitely a seaview, albeit a bit of a building site in between at the moment. Balcony is spacious too. Would recommend this place and will think about it if returning to Airlie Beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    54
    26
    11
    9
See reviews for
41
74
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We paid $624 for 6 nights accommodation. You're supplied with the basics such as tea, coffee etc single use washing up liquid and detergent. New towels can be hired for $5 a week. The only negative thing I'd say about here is that the bar/cafe wasn't open during our stay and the apartment floor doesn't appear to have been mopped/cleaned properly.
The property is located away from the main strip and a 5-10 minute walk which is pleasing on the eye. Nice pool and spa and there's BBQ facilities as well.
If you're looking for self contained accommodation at a reasonable price, we'd recommend it.
One more negative thing that really was a killer for the trip was the bed was the most uncomfortable we've ever slept on and haven't really slept properly for the trip.

Room Tip: No restaurant facilities and the closest is a 5-10 minute walk but we expected this before our arriv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Have just returned from a weekend at airlie beach. First time there but won't be my last, loved it. We stayed at the blue horizon apartments in a spa room on 3rd floor. Great view from spa and balcony. Is a very laid back location and time seemed to slow down. Going back with the kids

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Was initially impressed with the room and certainly impressed with the view. Was really looking forward to the spa (one of my favourite things to do when on holiday) but was totally disappointed when the spa turned out to be a dud. NO BUBBLES????? Lucky for us we had a lot of things planned to make the weekend enjoyable because looking at my useless spa was a real downer. Probably won't be staying again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room without a blaring hallway light coming in through the blinds of your bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed 8 nights at this resort during the winter months of August 2013 using a voucher and this is what we experienced:
- BEAUTIFUL spacious and clean apartment - we had booked for a 1 bedroom apartment but somehow to our surprise when we got there, got upgraded to a 2 bedroom at no extra cost! Already we were impressed!
- Comfortable bed - slept well every night, with no noise at all as the hotel isn't on the main strip.
- Apartment was only cleaned once during the half-way mark so be aware of this if you go swimming on a daily basis and need heaps of shampoo/conditioner to wash long hair each time!
- Friendly and helpful staff - we arrived late for check-in and they texted us details of how to access our keys left in a security deposit box outside.
- You get $5 off per person for any tours you book through them
- It is about a 10min walk to the main strip of town
- The design of the apartment is a bit quirky - eg. having horizontal blinds in the shower area to the living area! Also kitchen windows opening out to a brick wall! However the main balcony area is a decent size and has beautiful water views.
- The dishwashing liquid provided is somewhat weak and didn't froth up much when using.
- There is a small gym area with limited machines but whenever we went to use it, it was always empty so yay for us! They don't provide any extra towels so you have to supply your own to wipe down after use.
- Pool is heated so always a lovely inviting temperature to swim in. They say not to use the hotel towel but that pool towels can be rented.
- We found we'd left our housekeys in the apartment after leaving QLD and the staff (after twice checking the room) luckily found our keys and promptly sent them in the post the same day for us, only charging us for postage which we were very grateful for!

Overall a very pleasant stay! We had a lovely time in Airlie Beach will consider staying here again if ever we return! I must admit it was excellent value for money given what we experienced at such a cheap price! Thank you so much Blue Horizons for an unforgettable stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Another mixed experience from Blue Horizon. Arrived here for a 2 night stay to celebrate a 2 year anniversary with my partner. After telephoning to announce our "late arrival" (arrived 5.30pm) were told that upon check out we needed to ensure that the washing up had been done, bins emptied, and linen placed in the washing trolleys. Something to be expected of a youth hostel, not a higher rated hotel.

Night one went relatively unhindered, lovely views, short walk to delicious restaurants on the waterfront before returning to our room for coffee and television. Then we saw them - yes them - dozens of cockroaches which had made a home in the kitchenette, and were very upset at our attempts to make hot drinks. These critters scattered throughout the apartment (but especially in kitchenette and bathroom), and were our companions for the rest of our stay. After abandoning the television, my partner and I were quite tired (after a very long day of travel to AB) we attempted to turn in for the night - which went quite well until we hit the bed. Mattresses were quite old, with very audible innersprings which "scratched" at every turn. Air-conditioning was also far too temperamental - violently changing from cooling to heating throughout the night.

The next morning we went down to reception to the lovely Carla (who took fantastic care of us), and were told that these issues would be addressed as much as possible. She also took the time to walk us through various tour options before booking our tours (and obtaining a discount from the operators due to the Blue Horizon booking). Carla saved this trip for us, and we are truly grateful that she was so amazing. Having said this, there was no change in the roaches in our rooms / dodgy air-conditioning when we returned for night - but she did try.

Room Tip: Higher floors (4 and above) have Marina views. On Saturday nights, be warned that there is great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful rooms , awesome staff went above and beyond to accommodate anything we needed , special thanks to Carla !! Spectacular views ....close to Main Street everything you need... Will be back for sure .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Horizon Resort Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Resort Apartments

Address: 3 Hermitage Drive | Whitsundays, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Blue Horizon Resort Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
at Blue Horizon Resort creates the perfect setting for your Airlie Beach Whitsunday holiday. Whether you are looking for a romantic getaway, a family friendly destination, or somewhere to mix work with pleasure at Blue Horizon Resort can cater for all tastes.The resort’s modern, Balinese inspired 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments and 3 or 4 bedroom luxury penthouses offer spacious balconies with views over the Coral Sea. With an emphasis on comfort and warm friendly service at Blue Horizon Resort is your home away from home.With the beautiful Whitsunday weather you can choose to relax in the heated spa, rise early to take advantage of the fully equipped gymnasium or relax by the poolside café. The toddler wading pool and play room helps to keep little ones occupied while the Horizon heated swimming pool provides year round fun for all. Our onsite tour desk will assist you to choose the perfect activity to make your Whitsunday experience a memorable one, from a romantic secluded island beach picnic to a thrill seeking parachute jump our dedicated team can make it happen.at Blue Horizon Resort is the perfect spot for small to medium sized conferences, boasting a large, modern, dedicated conference room with state of the art audio visual equipment, broadband internet access, and versatile choice of room configurations at Blue Horizon Resort presents itself as a resort focused on driving business results.at Blue Horizon Resort, located a short walk from Airlie Beach village is the ideal base for your Airlie Beach Whitsunday escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blue Horizon Resort Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel Apartments
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Horizon Resort Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.