We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Horizon Resort Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Horizon Resort Apartments to your Saves list
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   3 Hermitage Drive | Whitsundays, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Gladstone, Australia
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment on the first floor & it was great. Staff were friendly. Full kitchen (even a dishwasher). Dining table inside & a table outside on the balcony too. Balcony was huge & covered thank goodness because it rained for most of our stay so we could still eat our meals outside without getting wet. Lounge sofa was uncomfortable but not a big deal. Rooms were clean & there was a washer & dryer as well. Lots of hot water in the shower. We all slept well - beds were comfy & no noise. If you haven't read about the rooms when you book, the information book there is loaded with info. You are provided with a starter set of amenities - ours lasted for our stay - & rooms are not serviced each day. Kids loved swimming in the pool (it was great to see a small toddler pool too) & they loved the huge spa. The car parks are very tight but are undercover which is good. It's a bit of a walk to the main street but it's all on a cemented footpath & our kids rode their scooters (although we mainly drove because of the rain). Overall, we were happy with our choice & would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    64
    30
    17
    13
See reviews for
45
87
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tolga, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We looked for apartments for 13 of of us for a 65th birthday celebration and found the ideal place. Chosing a location off the internet can be difficult. Rooms were spacious clean and beds very comfortable. good size fridge for all of our requirements. Washing and drying facilities all helped make our stay perfect. Spacious verandas to sit back and enjoy the winter sun in Airlie. Walking distance to town for those who enjoy a drink and dining in the local restaurants. Plenty car parking as we all drove there from Cairns area. Only setback was that Blue Horizon was on a bit of a hill so those not so fit (3 of us had knee surgery with on going problems) who did walk to town found it a bit of a chore going back up to the resort.

Room Tip: We had our son and his wife and baby with us and had adjoining apartments via the veranda and entran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Blue Horizon Resort Apartments, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Dear Valerie H,

Many thanks for your review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your 65th birthday celebration and stay at Blue Horizon Resort. The rooms are indeed spacious with modern fixtures, lovely to have your son and his family in the adjoining room enabling you to enjoy family time easily.

Having recently purchased the property we are excited to have Blue Horizon Resort as a member of at Hotel Group.

We anticipate including a courtesy shuttle to Airlie Beach in the coming months, whilst the walk to Airlie Beach is less than 10 minutes we would like to offer a courtesy shuttle to Airlie Beach and the shopping precinct for those guests wanting to take advantage of the self-catering options at Blue Horizon....stay tuned.

Geoff, Mel, Matt and I look forward to welcoming you back to Blue Horizon Resort

Sincerely

Jeff Aquilina
Managing Director
at Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milsons Point, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed 8 days at Blue Horizon Apartments and enjoyed every moment of it. The room was beautiful, spacious, clean and well-positioned. Staff was really friendly and professional and did everything to make our stay as welcome as possible. Asked for fresh towels and clean sheets after some days and was no problem at all. Quite a bit of walk into town but with the Whitsunday islands right at your doorstep it was more than ok. We would be more than happy staying at Blue Horizon Apartments again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Blue Horizon Resort Apartments, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Dear Henry H,

Many thanks for your review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your 8 night visit at Blue Horizon Resort and the magical Whitsundays.

The rooms at Blue Horizon Resort are indeed spacious with modern fixtures and lovely views to the Coral Sea and Whitsundays.

Thank you for you kind words in regards to our team, I have passed you feedback to Geoff, Mel, Matt and the housekeeping team.

Having recently purchased the property we are excited to have Blue Horizon Resort as a member of at Hotel Group.

We anticipate including a courtesy shuttle to Airlie Beach in the coming months, whilst the walk to Airlie Beach is less than 10 minutes we would like to offer a courtesy shuttle to Airlie Beach and the shopping precinct for those guests wanting to take advantage of the self-catering options at Blue Horizon....stay tuned.

Geoff, Mel, Matt and I look forward to welcoming you back to Blue Horizon Resort

Sincerely

Jeff Aquilina
Managing Director
at Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We had a 5 night stay in a 1 bedroom unit. The cooking facilities were a microwave & electric frypan. No fresh towels supplied & ran out of hot water twice. The development in front is not pleasing as the view. The lift is right beside the bedroom, so noisy. Next time we will stay at a quiter location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Blue Horizon Resort Apartments, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear QuickCatII,

Many thanks for your review. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

The apartment booked was a 1 Bedroom Ocean View Spa Apartment with "kitchenette", lounge, laundry, ensuite bathroom with corner spa and balcony. WiFi, LCD TV, free cable channels, lift access and under cover parking. Level G – 3. Bedding 1 x Queen.

We also offer 1 Bedroom Ocean View Apartment with "full kitchen", lounge, laundry, ensuite bathroom and balcony. WiFi, LCD TV, free cable channels, lift access and under cover parking. Level G – 3. Bedding 1 x Queen.

The accommodation tariff booked did not include daily housekeeping, you opted for our excellent value weekly service where we provide a weekly service if staying 7+ nights. A mid stay service is available, details and pricing available from our team or listed in the room compendium.

I am not certain how the lift was located next to your apartment, we have two lifts, one in each building, they are located across the corridor from rooms, as we are a new, modern hotel the lift are also new...in any event I have noted your feedback with our lift contractor to investigate.

Blue Horizon Resort Apartments is part of at Hotel Group which offers a variety of hotels in Airlie Beach, and we would welcome you at any of hotels in the future.

Sincerely

Jeff Aquilina
Managing Director
at Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed at Blue Horizon Apartments as they were close to where our family lives. Good views and staff were very professional. A bit of a walk into the township of Airlie Beach, but ok if you have a car. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: In the rooms lower down the air-con worked much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Blue Horizon Resort Apartments, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Dear Mandy022,

Many thanks for your review, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Blue Horizon Resort.

Having recently purchased the property we are excited to have Blue Horizon Resort as a member of at Hotel Group.

We anticipate including a courtesy shuttle to Airlie Beach in the coming months, whilst the walk to Airlie Beach is less than 10 minutes we would like to offer a courtesy shuttle to Airlie Beach and the shopping precinct for those guests wanting to take advantage of the self-catering options at Blue Horizon....stay tuned.

I hope you arrived back home to Christchurch safely and it is not to chilly for you in NZ.

Geoff, Mel, Matt and I look forward to welcoming you back to Blue Horizon Resort

Sincerely

Jeff Aquilina
Managing Director
at Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

My extended family and I recently stayed at Blue Horizon and we all had a great time. The view from our apartment (penthouse) was great, although there is some developing going on just infront. The only thing that I could fault was the fact we only got fresh towels on day 5 or 6 of our 7 night stay. We had a washing machine and dryer so I wasn't sure if we got new towels daily or not so we just laundered our own. Also the shampoo, conditioner and shower gel ran out on our 2nd night and were not replaced. But over all a masive apartment in a great location. I'm sure if we come back to Airlie Beach we'll stay here again. Thanks

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

I phoned weeks prior to our visit date and offered to pay extra if need be to ensure we would have the "stunning sea views" as advertised on the webpage and was guaranteed that we would have them. I was also told on the booking day it was non-refundable, which I happily accepted.
Yes, when we arrived the power was out but that was no biggy, and so we were pointed in the right direction and took our groceries up to the room.
The view from the room was far from stunning and further from the ocean.
A swimming pool and mosque type building with a partial view of a bay under construction do not make seaviews. See photos on earlier post by Bill C.
My husband went down stairs to enquire about a room change and was advised when the other receptionist returned from lunch in an hour they would call us on the room phone.
We waited for 2 hours and then having not heard from anyone, left to find better accommodation. As we approached the Reception desk we were ignored by both receptionists and so didn't bother trying again for an upgrade. (We did not approach the desk, however you would think a friendly hello shouldn't be too much to ask?)
We came back after finding a suitable place to stay, again walking past the two receptionists without a word from either, gathered our groceries and left, still no word from either receptionists .AT NO STAGE WAS AN UPGRADE EVER MENTIONED.
There was one missed call on my phone when we arrived at Pinnacles Resort and Spa (I had been using it to enquire about rooms at other places) but no voicemail was left and we have not heard a word from this Company since. I did not phone them back as we had acquired a Penthouse suite with 180 degree seaviews so there was nothing else to discuss.
When my husband returned the keys, the Manager was there and the only question asked was my husbands surname. No question on how he was today, if the room was ok or if he enjoyed his stay, nothing.
I am the Practice Manager of a busy Medical Centre so I understand customer service, sadly yours falls short.
There was no issue with the location, cleanliness,or maintenance, just the lack of communication and customer service. Oh and of course the missing seaview.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Horizon Resort Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Resort Apartments

Address: 3 Hermitage Drive | Whitsundays, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Blue Horizon Resort Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
at Blue Horizon Resort creates the perfect setting for your Airlie Beach Whitsunday holiday. Whether you are looking for a romantic getaway, a family friendly destination, or somewhere to mix work with pleasure at Blue Horizon Resort can cater for all tastes.The resort’s modern, Balinese inspired 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments and 3 or 4 bedroom luxury penthouses offer spacious balconies with views over the Coral Sea. With an emphasis on comfort and warm friendly service at Blue Horizon Resort is your home away from home.With the beautiful Whitsunday weather you can choose to relax in the heated spa, rise early to take advantage of the fully equipped gymnasium or relax by the poolside café. The toddler wading pool and play room helps to keep little ones occupied while the Horizon heated swimming pool provides year round fun for all. Our onsite tour desk will assist you to choose the perfect activity to make your Whitsunday experience a memorable one, from a romantic secluded island beach picnic to a thrill seeking parachute jump our dedicated team can make it happen.at Blue Horizon Resort is the perfect spot for small to medium sized conferences, boasting a large, modern, dedicated conference room with state of the art audio visual equipment, broadband internet access, and versatile choice of room configurations at Blue Horizon Resort presents itself as a resort focused on driving business results.at Blue Horizon Resort, located a short walk from Airlie Beach village is the ideal base for your Airlie Beach Whitsunday escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Blue Horizon Resort Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Hotel Apartments
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Horizon Resort Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.