We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best salt and pepper squid ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Far Horizons Restaurant - CLOSED

Far Horizons Restaurant
1 Veivers Rd, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
07 4055 3000
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $122
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Our ‘One Chef's Hat' Far Horizons Restaurant (awarded in 2012 & 2013) and Best Wine list awarded by Gourmet Traveler in 2012 is the only venue in Palm Cove on the absolute beachfront. Enjoy a lazy breakfast, long lunch, sunset cocktails or a relaxed dinner. This award winning restaurant offers a menu leaning towards classic contemporary cuisine and features the finest local produce available.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best salt and pepper squid ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

this is one of the best restaurants in Palm Cove. beautiful location and the food was awesome too. highly recommended

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    49
    25
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Gorgeous location !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Celebrated our 25 th wedding anniversary breakfast, with an intimate table organised by the lovely manager , Cecile, so perfectly seated beachfront ! Service was magnificent and the food delicious! Being local , I also love the evening there ! Such a perfect location ! Jane ;)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
“Fantastic, Best restaurant ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

I recently went to Far Horizons in Palm Cove it was the best experience my family and I endured with great food excellent staff and a manager who knows how to treat her staff and patrons with respect. The steak was amazing cooked to perfection and we will definitely be back next time we are in Cairns. I would also recommend anyone looking for a place to hold business meetings etc to attend here as I will be from now on. Beautiful location, Great food and fantastic staff.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

While on holidays , we visited far horizons for breakfast, dinner and afternoon drinks a few times and it was always a good experience .. We re very surprised to see the last reviews .. there was some delays for drinks and food , but you could clearly see it was busy .. Apart from that staff was always extremely friendly and remembered us from the previous day , food for breakfast was good , not waouh.. But dinner was definately our favourite and it made us feel very special , thanks to the staff for a great time

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ordinary food, terrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had breakfast here because the setting is incredible... it's the best location in Palm Cove. The wait staff were really lovely but the service was terrible. We waited ages for our coffee (which was awful) and our tea never arrived. We waited even longer for our food which was very ordinary (the slow cooked onions were tasteless mush and the hash brown was out of a packet). The waitresses apologised for the long delays, explaining that they were really busy. But the restaurant was only a quarter full and it was the Christmas holidays... surely someone on the management staff could predict they'd be busy at this time and staff the place accordingly. My toast arrived with no butter and I had to ask three different staff to bring me some, and by the time it arrived the toast was cold. We weren't offered a pepper mill but managed to track one down ourselves. We felt sorry for the staff - they were doing their best, and the faults clearly lie with terrible management. This place could be amazing... they just need a good chef and manager.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Far Horizons Restaurant also viewed

Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Far Horizons Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.