We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casmar Restaurant and Bar - CLOSED

Casmar Restaurant and Bar
73 Williams Esp, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
+61 7 4059 1215
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $2 - $79
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Casmar Restaurant & Bar is the only restaurant in Palm Cove that has a balcony with stunning views. Situated upstairs, it boasts privacy and entertainment for whatever occasion. Lunch, dinner, birthdays or weddings. Trading hours are Wed-Sun 12pm-late. So call us and make a booking, or, simply pop in and enjoy the great food and relaxing atmosphere.
Leiston, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were in Palm Cove for six days and this was the best restaurant, we tried many other places during our stay. As it was a few days prior to Christmas it was very quiet - we were the only people in the restaurant the night we ate there. I would highly recommend - i am quite a fussy about the standard of food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    36
    17
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Townsville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“OMG best seafood platter I have every eaten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Normally steer away from seafood platters due to deep fry, batter, crumbed and chips as fillers. This one was absolutely the best I have ever eaten. Including great garlic prawns, grilled fish, scallops and calamari. Even a great salad. Cant wait to go back! Yes and the views were fantastic

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Huge seafood platter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Large enough for 3 and plenty of variety. Good service. Not as modern as some of the other restaurants nearby. Menu and wine list were fairly basic.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

When we last visited Casmar it was excellent, service, food, atmosphere it had it all.
As we were back in Palm Cove we headed straight back to have the Bruschetta as entree and of course the seafood platter for two. We were seated on the verandah (great) then everything went downhill fast. Ordered Rum & Dry, the dry ginger ale must of been opened 3 weeks earlier, flat as a tack. Bruschetta, think they forgot a couple of the main ingredients, red onion and balsamic vinegar, tomatoe was nice flavor. Ordered another Rum & Dry asking if they could use a different bottle of dry as it was flat, the waitress being quite surprised informed us that is all they had, and only enough for one more glass. We suggested they pop downstairs to the shop and grab a new bottle. She was very surprised at this suggestion but I must admit she did what we asked. The next rum was bubbly, unfortunately my mood wasn't so.
Platter for two, oyster kilpatrick & scallops nice, but that was about it, chips dry and cold. Morton Bay Bugs (my favorite) didn't know bugs could be so flavorless and mushy. Calimari - oily crumbed rubber-bands. Fish, well I have no words to describe that culinary effort.
All in all, we won't be back. Need to find a new favorite resturant in Palm Cove.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good food, good view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Sitting on the verandah with a beautiful view of the bay with a nice tropical breeze. Perfect setting. Had roe on scallops, wife had the pumpkin, avocado & tofu salad. Scallops were perfect, salad nice but pumpkin tasted a bit like it was just boiled. Service very good. Altogether a good experience but not excellent.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casmar Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casmar Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.