We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a waste next to a beautiful view.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Apres Beach Bar & Grill

Apres Beach Bar & Grill
119 Williams Esplanade, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
+61 7 4059 2000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 51 Restaurants in Palm Cove
Price range: $9 - $27
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, Pasta, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Apres Beach Bar & Grill is celebrating an amazing revamp with an exciting new menu created by two new chefs, a new Pizza Bar and new outdoor furniture. The kid's playground across the road allows you to have a drink or meal while the kids are entertained in the playground. Come and try us out with a complete new food and new drink menu. We have strengthened our supervisory team with the appointment of a supervising chef.March 6 2015 we opened Apres Pizzeria in the rear section of the Apres Bar. Apres Beach Bar & Grill is open 7 days a week all year round. At Apres, we don't want you to just eat, we want you to have a dining experience that you will remember! Dine on the outdoor deck, with stunning views overlooking Palm Cove beach, one of the world's best beaches. There is nothing quite like the sound of waves lapping the shore while palms sway gently in the breeze to add ambience to a meal. Perhaps you'd just like to enjoy a drink, a bar snack or a tapaz platter - the choice is yours, we have something for everyone. Or simply come in for a quick coffee and pastry. While you soak up the atmosphere check out the fascinating memorabilia that is part of our decor. Our friendly and inviting atmosphere has earned us the reputation of being one of Palm Cove's premier meeting places, for both locals and visitors alike. The phrase "Let's meet at Apres" is part of the local language here. While overlooking the beautiful Palm Cove beach, you can meet for a meal, mingle over a drink or just soak up the buzz that defines the Apres Style. Apres has live music every night and organizes many events throughout the year, ranging from Happy Fridays, Darts, Trivia Nights, 60-70-80's music, hospitality/locals nights, happy Pizza hours and Rock & Roll. We are open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. OUR SUNDAY BREAKFAST is almost relaxed enough to wear your pyjamas! APRES BEACH BAR & GRILL, GOOD TIMES ON TAP GREAT FOOD, GREAT FUN, GREAT LOCATION, GREAT ATMOSPHERE. We are excited! Things are now really cooking here at APRES BEACH BAR & GRILL
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“What a waste next to a beautiful view.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Went for a treat with friends and ended up hungry and annoyed. Ordered a burger and requested a gluten free "bun" which turned out to be toasted slices bread on top of a burnt patty. The cheese was plastic and tasteless and let's not even go into the chips. All four of them that they gave me. The waitress' English was limited and the service in general was slow.

No thanks.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    60
    22
    7
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

What a great place to get to know the locals, have a laugh at the fantastic memorabilia stacked around the place, all with the added bonus of the view of a wonderful beach!! Staff were brilliant and one of the only places in Palm Cove/Port Douglas that stocks Gluten free beer for us Coeliac sufferers that still crave a beer that won't make you sick!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hideuos”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Do your self a favour and give this place a big miss. I ordered the salmon and had to send it back it was that over cooked that it was inedible. Service pretty average as well

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absoltely Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We are locals and went to Palm Cove for a couple of days to get away we went to Apres for dinner and we were so very impressed with the staff being extremely kind and helpful..and all kiddies got a piece of treasure from the chest the food was AMAZING very welcoming atmosphere..we could not find fault..we went on a day trip last Wednesday and had lunch at Apres and we'll be back again

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Better than average, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I totally understand the mixed responses below. Apres has some great things going for it and the food is overall better than average, but needs to be more consistent in its service as well as certain dishes.

After our first visit, I was prepared to write a scathing review due to the condescending and unprofessional service we received. We came for a late lunch (around 3:00), and the place was nearly deserted. Even with only one other table on the patio occupied, our very young server ("Jen" was the name on the ticket—surely not the owner mentioned below??) told us to take any two-top, but gave us a scowl and lots of stink-eye when we chose a four-top because the smaller tables were crammed too closely together to be comfortable. She then proceeded to roll her eyes and sigh loudly when my husband asked at the end of the order to have no beets on his burger, and huffed, "Now I have to start all over again!" (Excuse us for inconveniencing you dear, but with your little hand-held computer, how difficult can that be??) Someone else delivered our food, which arrived with large sides of cream cheese instead of the mayo we ordered (and were also charged for). However, the waitress disappeared and we didn't see her for the rest of the visit. We also needed more drinks and would have paid for another expensive beer or two, but our server apparently decided we weren’t worth her time. Having been a waitress for years, I sympathize with how hard and often thankless the job is, and always overtip as a result. However, any extra money in this case was beyond justification. I’m glad that Aussie servers make $20.00-plus an hour (according to another waitress we met), but not at the expense of doing your job. This was only the second time in my life I've stiffed a server—including north Queensland, where tipping is still optional.

So why on earth would we go back? I really didn’t want to, but the burgers were actually huge and darn good (despite the strange addition of cream cheese), and my husband was persistent (he really wanted to hear some live music). This time we were greeted effusely by a jolly gentleman who we were told was the owner, and he personally seated us in front of the “entertainment” at our request (Mike Bell/Ball, who was unobtrusive and did a lot of classic Tom Petty and other hits we enjoyed), and took our drink orders as well. The place was busy so it took several minutes to get menus and our drinks, but after that service was prompt, accommodating and blessedly cheerful. Our lovely server took the time to make some recommendations, and noted our special requests without a word of complaint. The food was overall tasty, but some of it could be improved. The menu is quite large, for one thing, and it’s hard to get everything right. The garlic bread entrée was rather small and we’ve had better (e.g. at Blue Moon), while my shrimp curry, which I ordered mild, had barely any curry flavor at all and was simply bland (guess “mild” in Oz is different than elsewhere). However, there were plenty of shrimp and crunchy veggies. The fried wonton on the side, however, was stale and inedible. My husband’s pork chop was huge and tender, with tasty gravy, but not Cajun-flavored as described. The “potato pie” on the side was delicious, however—what Americans would consider scalloped potatoes, made with both white and sweet potatoes. I ordered the coffee n’ cake on the specials board as well: the blueberry cheesecake was probably store-bought, but the chai latte was outstanding.

With a few tweaks to the menu and a bit more training of the wait-staff (or changes as needed), this place would get more “outstanding” reviews, imho. I recommend giving it a try—on a busy night.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apres Beach Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 

Been to Apres Beach Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apres Beach Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.