We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sammy's - CLOSED

Sammy's
41 Williams Esplanade | Shop 5D, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
+61 7 4059 0012
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $4 - $18
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We have outdoor and indoor seating that overlooks the ocean at Palm Cove. Your furry friends are welcome in the outdoor seating which is undercover. We are now open for Dinner 7 nights a week with lunch 5 days a week and breakfast from 0800 on the weekends. Sammy's Place is specializing in, if it is not on the menu but we can make what you want we will do it. We do not have a child menu as such as Sammy believes that your kiddies like to eat what you eat. We will make a smaller serve for you. We do sell chips and ice-cream for the kids if they would like that. Our coffee is rainforest alliance from Caffe Aurora and we are the first cafe/restaurant out of Brisbane to have this beautiful smooth blend. We have free wifi and a lounge inside to sit on relax, enjoy your coffee and light lunch or muffin. Sammy and her team look forward to meeting you and so hope you enjoy your time with us and Palm Cove. We really are so lucky living and working in such an amazing piece of country.
Canberra
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

The outside seating looks directly onto the beach. We had a delicious vegetarian pumpkin and sweet potato soup with excellent buttered toast. The tea was real tea with tea leaves - makes all the difference!
The service was so friendly and prompt, we couldn't have asked for better.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    4
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Cove, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Views to match the food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

There are so many great places to choose from in Palm Cove but Sammy's does stand out. The steak in the steak sandwich is cleverly cut into strips so it doesn't fall apart when you eat it. The Ceaser salad is perfect too. I'm keen to try out one of the cocktails next time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Yummy caesar salad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I've only tried the salad but it was very nice, the eggs were cooked to perfection with a massive amount of chicken.. Yumm.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best coffee in Palm Cove”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We discovered Sammy's on our very early arrival in Palm Cove. Even though the cafe wasn't quite open at that time of the day, they couldn't have been more accommodating for our group of 6 weary travellers!! The coffee was served hot and all of our quirky individual tastes were catered for excellently. The Barista Tibor (the very polite, very efficient Hungarian man!!) made the BEST coffee!! Our breakfast orders were filled quickly and efficiently and the food was always of a high standard. Sammy was chatty and hospitable and made us feel very welcome. I guess that is why we went there every day for coffee & breakky whilst we were in Palm Cove!!! I can't wait to come back next year and sample another one of those spectacular coffees!! For a fledgling business I couldn't fault it. Best of luck to you Sammy and your team!! See ya next June!!!!!!!
Colleen & Warren, Perth WA

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ironman triathlon 8th June 2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Very busy day but the staff was fabulous, friendly and attentive. Coffee was great and we came back a little later for a a delicious breakfast. We will be back

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sammy's also viewed

Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sammy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.