We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elysium Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Elysium Apartments to your Saves list
Elysium Apartments
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   26 Veivers Rd, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Warrnambool, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I can highly recommend this property for not only it's value for money but also location.
The room was spacious and clean.
The reception staff were friendly
and very helpful..
Security too excellent along with privacy.
Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn49, Manager at Elysium Apartments, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you Janszfamromoz Warrnambool Aust for your review. Thank you very much for Highly recommending Elysium Apartments.

We are pleased to hear you were happy with our value for money and also the location and that you found your apartment spacious and clean.

Thank you also for mentioning that the reception staff are friendly and helpful and that our security was excellent.

We are very glad you will stay here again and we certainly look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    56
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
118
89
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed in a studio for two nights. It had everything we needed as we planned to eat out. It was a Nice clean apartment near the beach. With very friendly and helpful management who helped us wonderfully.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn49, Manager at Elysium Apartments, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you GuusV for your Review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in the Studio Apartment and that it had everything you needed and you found your apartment to be very clean this really helps make your holiday enjoyable.

It was great to chat with you and learn about the Netherlands where you are from, hope you had a great trip home and we hope one day in the future we will see you again that Elysium Apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We got a studio apartment for 2 nights last September.

PROS: nicely decorated, close walking distance to the beach, nice pool.

CONS: while the bathroom itself was huge, the rest of the studio apartment was fairly cramped. We had to pull out the desk that was facing the wall to use as a table to eat on. Serious mould in the shower--not on the walls, but at the bottom in places that you see only if you are sitting down in the shower. There was no way to "bask in the sun on your private balcony" (as their website says) because the balcony was completely closed off (i.e. NO SUN) and through the tiny slats we had a view of nothing but the roof. Very disappointing. Soulless, echoey hallway where noise was magnified. Grim lady on check in and on check out we were told we had to take out our own rubbish or we'd be charged for it. Thanks, nice parting words. Terrible unfriendly service, bad value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn49, Manager at Elysium Apartments, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank You Disco Queen 54 Cairns for your review. We are pleased to hear you found your Studio Apartment nicely decorated and that we had a nice pool, however we would like to point out to future guests a few misleading comments you have made.

Firstly we would like to point out that WE DO NOT advertise our Studio Apartments as " "bask in the sun on your private balcony" (as their website says) OUR WEBSITE says (when you click on the Apartments Tab and choose the Studio) "Private Balcony" there is sun in the morning on the studio balconies, the balcony IS NOT completely closed off it has a frosted glass balustrade of which you can see plenty of sky, trees over the top as it only stands 1 1/2 metres high, the only way you can see the roof next door is if you look through the balustrade opening half way up, so not offensive at all, in fact a LOT of guests like the balcony as it is very PRIVATE.

Secondly we would like to point out that our showers are very clean and the only LITTLE bit of mould we do get from time to time is because the water gets under the sealant around the bottom of the tiles and we cant lift it up to spray mould killer as that would break the seal and the shower would leak, we do have these sealants replaced when needed.

Thirdly we would like to point out that reason the hallway on the 1st level is echoey is because we have to have that level tiled due to the access to the pool being on the 1st level we cant have carpet for obvious reasons.

Fourthly we would like to point out that WE DO NOT have " Terrible unfriendly service" we greet everyone with a pleasant manner (we wouldn't have won all the TripAdvisor awards if we didnt) and THERE IS NO WAY you would of been told to take your rubbish out or you would be charged as you checked out this WOULD NOT have been parting words, yes we do have a small notice in the apartments asking guests to "please leave the apartment tidy with dishes done and rubbish removed" the reason MOST resorts do this is because if we dont get to strip the room the day of departure we don't want anything to make the apartment smell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

The apartment was large, clean and very well equipped with everything we needed however it did overlook the tavern. Secure parking underneath. Short walk to the beach and restaurants. Friendly and helpful management.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn49, Manager at Elysium Apartments, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thanks you Moofe Nottingham for your review.

We are very pleased to hear that you found the apartment you stayed in large, clean and well equipped. Yes we do have apartments looking over the Tavern next door however in saying that you can still see a lot of trees and other resorts in the distance as you are looking over the roof which is level with the first floor, so for anyone staying on the 2nd & 3rd levels you are actually not looking at the roof you will see it if you look down over the balcony it is not intrusive even from the 1st level.

Thank you for your comment "Friendly and helpful management." as Resort Managers that is what we aim to do for all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This was my 3rd visit to Elysium and nothing has changed - still great hospitality in a friendly environment under great management with our hosts Jocelyn and Roger.
My wife and I have now stayed in 4 establishments since arriving in Australia late January. Without doubt Elysium is superior! Our 6 week stay at Elysium was most enjoyable. No noise to talk of and the place is clean. Access is secure and simple - when we were wanting to take a walk to the beach we used the (first floor) side entrance / exit (same key as our apartment) which leads into a side street which slopes down to the esplanade - no need to use the car basement.
The apartment is well kitted out with modern appliances. We found the beds very comfortable. The birds in the trees were a wonderful cacophony of sound in the evenings.
One aspect which we really enjoyed was to frequent the local restaurants and bars (as close as a block away) and then to be able to retreat to the quiet of our apartment for a night cap!
Will we go back - you betchya!!

Room Tip: Hard to pick a room - we stayed in 214 this time and it had a view of the trees (?). Stayed in 316...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn49, Manager at Elysium Apartments, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you Peter & Amanda for your lovely review, its was a great having you stay with us and we hope you will stay again in the future.

Your review was great being so detailed as we are sure it will help prospective guests make up there minds where to stay in beautiful Palm Cove.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 7nights. In comfort and style.

Firstly imagine, its Easter Saturday, and we had booked in somewhere else ( in Cairns) which turned out to be a dive. So after ringing around we went with Elysium Apartments. Why? Firstly because their page on the net looked promising, the lady on the phone was friendly and more than accommodating, and they had an apartment which would suit us.

So we popped over to Palm Cove for an inspection (not going to get caught twice). What a relief! Jocelyn met us, and took us through. We were happy to find that we could have it as a two or three bedroom unit so we decided to splurge on the 3, that way our two teens wouldn't have to share a room (although they could have, because the rooms were quite spacious). Our room was situated on the northern end of the second floor.

Our room overlooked beautiful green trees on the Northern side, on the east is the back of other apartments, but on the western side was the beautiful mountains surrounding the Cairns area... Lovely views, not beachside, but at the price we were paying, I wouldn't expect ocean views.

A small price for an Internet modem (so that the obligatory Wi-Fi could be accessed) while not included, was a reasonable rate. Also pool towels were available.

The rooms were spacious, air-conditioned, and clean. The master bed was a tad firm for us, but nothing to complain about. A large mirrored cupboard and a large master ensuite for us, and the kids had a separate bathroom.

The unit had everything you could ask for both in the kitchen and the laundry and I'm sure that if it wasn't there I could have asked for it and it would have been made available.

I read in another review that there was a bad smell. We did not have this experience, if anything the area smelled of clean air I.e. fresh ocean breezes.

When it comes to getting advice about things to do, Jocelyn had all the answers, she and her husband (who I didn't get to meet) go out doing all the tourist activities, so know where to go and what to do, especially where the reef is concerned. So if you want local knowledge go to reception and have a chat.

Being an ex-local myself I knew most of the places (and she was right about them all), but not which companies were best suited to my family, she helped us navigate those waters with ease (pun not originally intended).

...and talk about going the extra mile, we locked ourselves out one evening and we had to ring Jocelyn to come help us get back in, so the security is top knotch too.

Not only would be happy to recommend Elysium apartments, my family and I plan to stay there the next time we come to my hometown.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn49, Manager at Elysium Apartments, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you Happyjulieishere Toronto NSW for your lovely review, we were more than happy to help you out with your accommodation needs, nothing worse than staying somewhere you are not happy with.

We are pleased you found the 3 bedroom apartments very comfortable, spacious, great views etc and everything to your liking as that is very important to us.

We do hope you visit us in the near future, please phone direct and we will see what specials we can offer you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Have stayed there several times now and the place is amazing. Beautiful views, close to the shops and beach. The staff are fantastic. All this and more is why I go back all the time to relax with family on small trips away. The rooms are very spacious and enjoyable also.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jocelyn49, Manager at Elysium Apartments, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you Carl E for your review.

It is always great to have you and your family stay with us and we thank you for your honest and helpful review, this will certainly help others thinking about accommodation in the Cairns/Palm Cove for their next holiday.

Hope to see you in the near future!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.1 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.2 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#3 of 13 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 stars 309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#12 of 13 in Palm Cove
4.0 of 5 stars 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#8 of 13 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
#7 of 13 in Palm Cove
4.0 of 5 stars 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysium Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysium Apartments

Address: 26 Veivers Rd, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Cove
#2 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Elysium Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Cove's luxury holiday apartments combine high style and practical choices for discerning holidaymakers. Being only a 3 to 4 minute stroll away from Palm Cove's beach and esplanade, Elysium's superbly decorated studio, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom self contained holiday apartments all feature spacious, open plan living areas with floor to ceiling glass opening out to large private balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Elysium Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysium Apartments Hotel Palm Cove
Elysium Apartments Palm Cove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elysium Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.