We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palm Cove Tropic Apartments - Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Cove Tropic Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Palm Cove Tropic Apartments to your Saves list
Palm Cove Tropic Apartments
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6 Triton Street, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Palm Cove
Melbourne Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Palm Cove Tropic Apartments - Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days in February this year. Booked the accommodation based on what we saw on the website, The
self contained appartment we had was exactly as described on the website. Clean, fresh , modern and very well maintained with everything you needed to have a wonderful stay. There was even an outside BBQ area by the pool.

Wayne is an excellent host, very helpful and knowledgable about all the tourist attractions in the area and beyond. We were able to book our Barrier Reef cruise with Wayne - it was just added onto the bill and we were picked up and dropped off out the front of the appartments ! - how easy can it get?

There is also off street parking which is very convenient. The appartments are only a short 3 min stroll to the beach - we found this to be a positve aspect to the location as it was nice and quiet.

We will certainly stay here again when we are next up this way from Melbourne.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    32
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
94
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is a great location,  pretty much at the southern tip of palm cove, about two minutes stroll away from the beach and 'bottle shop' and the string of restaurants and small shops that line the beach front of the town.

We were there in August, no jelly fish in the sea but the weather was still warm enough for us, the sea very pleasant to swim in. 

The apartments themselves are clustered round a lagoon-themed pool, with tall trees and plants providing shade round most of the pool area. This is perfect for sheltering from the sun.. If you want direct sun, the beach is only 2 mins stroll away. The pool Is heated, this was very important for us as we've heard from others that unheated pools here in August are just too cold to enjoy. The pool and pool area was also colourfully lit in the evenings, making for a very nice evening dip (which I did until I swam close to what I thought was a fair-sized fallen leaf floating in the twilight only to then see that the 'leaf' was attached to many legs which were thrashing about trying to get the whatever insect it was back to dry land). There is no really shallow end under 50 cm so maybe not perfect if you have very young children who can't swim.

There is a clean communal gas-fuelled BBQ near the pool with a fridge full of sauces that you are welcome to use ( just clean up after yourself). Everything was very clean, clearing up all the fallen leaves in this tropic environment happens every morning. 

Most of the clientele that we saw during our one week stay was over 50, we and our two kids nearly had the pool to ourselves. This is in summary a nice quiet place.

The apartments themselves.. We were very lucky to get a ground floor apartment whose patio doors opened up right to the pool side, very convenient! Our apartment was spacious, clean, the beds were very comfortable, the kitchen was well equipped, sponge and washing up liquid provided, the wash machine even came with an initial powder portion allowing us to catch up on clothes washing.

There are a great many touristy things to do near palm cove, the reception office offered many leaflets and Wayne in reception proved an extremely friendly and useful guide to attractions, best directions and timing and weather.  And he also booked everything for us, all at no commission or credit card markup. Great service was provided.. The only thing that 'went wrong' while we were there was that the communal BBQ ran out of gas while I was cooking.. Wayne turned up with a replacement gas canister within minutes. If you are there mid August, wish Wayne a happy birthday (I found out that Wayne and I nearly share a birth date.. As he rightly said, we age well and enjoy the finer things in life :-).  

There's a medium sized Coles supermarket 5 minutes drive away and the far larger Smithfield shopping complex about 15 mins drive away.
 
Palm cove is a beautiful beach town and tropic apartments is perfect if you want quiet self-catering apartments with a heated but shady pool and you still want to be close to the beach itself. We would happily stay there again. 

Tips: request a ground floor apartment with easy pool access. Follow the guidance in the kitchen about not leaving any food out on surfaces, this is the tropics and swarms of tiny ants will find any food .. We found this out the hard way and subsequently kept everything in the refrigerator.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We write this literally 24 hours after returning from 12 incredible days at Palm Cove Tropic Apartments. This is outstanding value, close to the beach......and yes girls the shops....but sheltered, private and enveloped in lush green tropical vegetation, which surrounds a beautiful pool.

Best of all this property has the "magic increment".....Wayne.

This quietly spoken professional cannot do enough to make your stay more than wonderful. He and his partner work tirelessly and quietly to make certain everything is done to make your stay SENSATIONAL

You simply MUST check out Palm Coves best kept secret............but HEY.......keep it to yourself

Ian & Kathy Lucas - October 2012

Room Tip: Apartment 205........................the BEST
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Could not fault Tropic Apartments! Friendly service & easy check-in, room was already air conditioned when we arrived, and the apartment was very neat & clean. Rooms are basic but have everything you need to be self sufficient. The pool area is fantastic and big enough for everyone, with a great BBQ area. For the price, this place is sensational value!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We could not have done better for the money. The apartments were very clean and well furnished in a quiet area and only a short 200 metre stroll to the beach and all restaurants. Set in magnificent tropical gardens with pool, jarrah decking all around, sun chairs, bbq, etc, etc. Manager Wayne was very helpful and nothing was any trouble. Just ask and it was attended to promptly. Bookings for tours, car for the day, you name it, Wayne would do it. Thanks again Wayne. Jill and I very rarely go back to the same accommodation. This is the rare exception. Can't wait to come back soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view over pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colac, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was a very quite and clean resort to stay at. The pool, BBQ area was clean and well maintained. It is in walking distance to the shops, beach and restaurants. Just a nice place to stay at, will be back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Point, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This was a very nice and quite resort within easy walking distance to the local restaurants ,pub and the beach. The pool , BBQ was really great and well maintain. The rooms were clean and tidy ,the only negative for us was our unit was very musty when we arrive and took us a few days to air out the unit to get rid of the musty smell. This could be because the unit is right down the back and does not get a lot of sunlight. But we will return for a good value for money & quite holiday.

Room Tip: Maybe rooms closer to the front which get more sun, the end rooms always seem to be dark and musty
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Cove Tropic Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Cove Tropic Apartments

Address: 6 Triton Street, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palm Cove Tropic Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 & 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments. Beautiful Lagoon style saltwater pool and accompanying BBQ area makes you feel a world away from the city stress. Swimming pool is heated during winter. All apartments have widescreen LCD TVs and DVD players. Private verandas to all units plus undercover car. Parking. Quiet location but only a 2 minute walk to shops, cafes and restaurants or the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Palm Cove Tropic Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Cove Tropic Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.