We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort for family holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Amphora

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Amphora to your Saves list
Mantra Amphora
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   49-63 Williams Esplanade, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia (Formerly Breakfree Amphora)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Palm Cove
Gippsland, Vic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great resort for family holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

For the second year in a row, our family of six stayed in the 3 bedroom ocean view apartments, which had a fantastic view, well appointed, 3 bathrooms, and fully equipped kitchens. The staff were friendly and professional, the pool spacious and clean.
My only negative comments are in regard to the pool area deck chairs. Each morning I have been for a swim and watch multiple guests place towels on chairs and then walk away. It is very frustrating when your family goes for a swim then has nowhere to sit because every chair has been taken up by people who are not even in the pool area. Not sure what Mantra could do about these selfish people.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear TrevorPil,

Thank you for your great review and feedback on our resort, it is much appreciated.

While we, and other resorts in the area, do not allow the "reserving" of pool lounges - it is difficult to monitor this continuously throughout the day. Guests are always welcome to remove pool towels from unoccupied lounges provided that there are no personal belongings left as well.

Thank you once again for your fantastic review and I hope we can welcome you back next year!

Best Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    126
    49
    16
    8
See reviews for
108
142
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had a ground room which was very handy. The rooms were spacious and had everything we needed. The Mantra is in a great location just opposite the beach near the shops with a restaurant / cafe out front. All good except for the minor inconvenience of being able to hear upstairs move their chairs around.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear GavinmSydney,

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback is appreciated.

We are certainly very lucky in being close to all of Palm Coves great restaurants and facilities.

I hope we can welcome you back to the resort again soon!

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Mantra is a beautiful resort with a great pool, excellent for kids. When we arrived we were allocated a room at ground level, which was good but didn't enjoy. We asked for a different room and there was one available on the third floor: they moved us without any hesitation.

The views were tremendous and the apartment was outstanding. Good value for money. We had a look at the much more expensive Peppers and although the pool area looks more impressive, ultimately the massive swimming pool at the Mantra trumps it.

It's a well designed and pleasant place to stay. Thank you Mantra for your helpfulness.

Room Tip: 3rd floor feels more private. We stayed on the west side (away from beach) and had great sun all day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Peter M,

Thank you for your excellent review of Mantra Amphora! It is always great to hear when someone has had an enjoyable stay.

I am also pleased to hear that we were able to accommodate your request for a third level room.

We appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

First of all, this was our third stay at Palm Cove and second at the Mantra. We still love Palm Cove but less certain now about the Mantra.

We had a great sized room and lovely outlook over the ocean but our main gripes:
1. We were awoken every morning at 6:30am by a hotel guy trundling bins around outside along the pebblecrete path. Why so early??
2. Seven days without maid service is too long. I appreciate that maid service every day is probably too much but a week is too long,
3. Sound insulation. The people above had a little lad who ran around all the time and sounded like a shetland pony trotting around. They also kept moving/scraping the furniture,
4. the hotel needs to provide free wi-fi. Trying to charge guests $15 for a two hours connection is ridiculous.
5. The pool is still fabulous but we found it too noisy (little screaming kids) and most days we opted for the beach (fantastic). This was our first holiday away without our children (grown up) and we expected, outside of school holidays, to get a lot more peace and quiet at Palm Cove generally. However, the place seemed to be teeming with toddlers/babies (more like Pram Cove during the week that we were there tbh).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Thompsonsdownunder,

Thank you for your feedback on our resort. It is much appreciated.

We will be speaking to the private restaurant at the front of our property in regards to rubbish removal prior to their breakfast service each morning. They store their bins in our carpark so we apologise that you were affected by this.

Housekeeping provide mid-stay services for every 8 nights booked. However, for anyone needing extra bath towels or amenities, they are always welcome to see reception for extra items.

The resort is currently looking into the prices of the wireless internet with the external provider and hopefully this can be resolved soon.

Palm Cove, in particular, is a very popular holiday destination for families throughout the entire year. I most certainly agree that the beach located across the street is a great place to escape for some peace and quiet.

We do wish that you had mentioned these concerns during your stay with us as our staff would have been able to look into some solutions to resolve any issues as soon as possible.

I hope that you will consider us again on your next holiday to Palm Cove.

Yours Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

I had such a wonderful stay at this resort. Morgan in reception and Graham the groundsman were especially helpful. We had asked for a ground floor but because they were so busy they unfortunately couldn't give us one. All ok though! Morgan had Graham help us with our bags and we couldn't have been happier. My husband and I will certainly be back. Thank you for giving us a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear MargaretSPW,

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy that we were able to assist.

We hope you'll join us for another holiday again soon!

Best Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Cannot begin to explain how great my stay was. My partner surprised me with a trip away and it couldn't have been better. Staff were amazing on check in and so helpful during our stay - especially when our pre-booked shuttle through our travel agent didn't show. Had a taxi there in 5 minutes which still left us time to get our flight. Thanks girls! The room we stayed in looked over the ocean and had everything we needed. Originally booked a hotel room and we decided to upgrade. Worked out much better because there is no on-site laundry. Worth the upgrade with the extra space! Not a full view of the ocean but suited us just fine. Worked out better because the other full views are close to the restaurant and seemed to get the noise from there. Pool is amazing. Lots of families around the pool but the pool is big enough to not be surrounded by children the entire time. Perfect stay and will be returning over New Years!

Room Tip: There are no stairs at the resort. Didn't bother us at all. Kept us fit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Lucy W,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

Our staff are so pleased to hear that they were able to help.

We're looking forward to welcoming you back over New Years!

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Bolivia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We returned recently from our Australia trip and our highlight was Pam Cove.
Stayed at Mantra Amphora which we booked by walking into reception. We got a great deal and the staff were fantastic. The room was nicley situated around the large pool and came with a kitchen and a spa bath. It was clean and comfortable. The restaurants around offered great food.
We used our hire car to get around the area. Loved Mossman Gorge and the daintree rainforest. If we get the chance we will be back to ths part of Queensland.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear PabloVa2013,

Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure to have you here at the resort.

We hope to welcome you back to Australia in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Amphora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Amphora

Address: 49-63 Williams Esplanade, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia (Formerly Breakfree Amphora)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#9 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Amphora 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Amphora offers magnificent waterfront accommodation in Palm Cove combined with great facilities to provide an ideal location for a Tropical North Queensland Holiday. Surrounded by landscaped gardens and located right on the Esplanade, Mantra Amphora offers the perfect place to relax and indulge. Property facilities include: Award-winning outdoor lagoon pool and spa, children’s wading pool, Tour desk, undercover parking, Vivo Bar & Grill Restaurant, waterfront location and landscaped gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mantra Amphora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Amphora Palm Cove
Mantra Amphora Hotel Palm Cove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Amphora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.