We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing long weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Amphora

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Amphora to your Saves list
Mantra Amphora
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   49-63 Williams Esplanade, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia (Formerly Breakfree Amphora)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Mission Beach
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Relaxing long weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Hotel spa room was of decent size. We were on the third floor, the steps were a pain the first day and a half but got easier by the third day. The bed was very comfortable, big screen tv, fridge was too small,spa was great. Overall for a hotel room, very good. Pool area was very relaxing. Would be a great place for families.

Room Tip: Second floor would give better ocean view than third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, General Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear MBTCL2009,
Thank you for sharing your experience on line and I am pleased to read you enjoyed your weekend away at Mantra Amphora.
I note you are a TNQ local and it is fabulous that you choose to holiday in your own gorgeous backyard! Thank you.
Regards
Lisa Knowlson
General Manager, Mantra Amphora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    148
    59
    19
    10
See reviews for
125
173
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here for 4 night's, only staff I saw where at reception when I checked in....room was not cleaned for entire stay! apparently they only clean them every 3 day's unless you get the vip deal and then it's everyday. Room was on ground floor, had a few mosquitoes get into room and feast on me during the night.....not good. Try and get a room on 2nd floor facing beach, they looked great.
Pools are nice and they have a outdoor spa also. I did not eat at the restaurant attached to the hotel. But others near by where ok although little over priced. It seems like a area for older ppl very different to cairns hectic backpacker atmosphere.
I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We had an ocean view spa room on the 2nd floor. The room was very nice with a great outlook. The pool area is lovely too. The hotel is 3 stories but only has stairs so if you have mobility issues make sure you request a ground floor room.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week in January in a one bedroom apartment. The room has everything you need and ours was on the ground floor and opened out onto the pool area. The pool is nice with the giant palms offering plenty of shady areas while the mountains provided a lovely backdrop to the hotel.

Since it was wet season we got a great rate but this is Palm Cove and it's a tourist area so everything around you is expensive. Vivo, the on-site restaurant, is quite good, we had breakfast and lunch on a few occasions there, but again make sure you have plenty of money on you.

Overall a good mid-level hotel that's really designed for families. Those wanting a more upmarket experience should try the Beach Club which we thought had best the pool facilities of all the hotels in Palm Cove.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Have stayed at Amphora Palm Cove twice now (Feb 2012 & March 2013) both times have been great. The building colours really fit Palm Cove (it is not bright white paint). Spacious units, good for kids, there are dual units for families & good for couples. Amphora is situated on the esplanade, some look over the beach, others look over the pool. Units are individually owned so each are a bit different & have different 'things' in them. The pool is awesome, Feb 2012 it was very hot and the pool temperature was not very refreshing but can't do anything about the weather. This year (2013) was great! Booked through Boutique Collection they gave us very good service. Yes, if you are on the top floor (3 storeys) you have to walk up, no big deal. One tip is, hire a car for a few days & go to Coles at Clifton Beach (not far,5 mins drive) and buy your supplies, instead of paying big money to eat out. A few nights we had a bbq on the beach front, & how good was that on palm tree lined beach, with the sound of small waves coming in. I would very much recommend Amphora and was very happy looking over the pool and to the mountain behind the units.

Room Tip: All units are good, it just depends on if you want to be on the ground floor or not. We liked the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

A well located establishment but nothing to write home about. $99 a night during low season was ok. Girls at reception were helpful. If you have some gear - pls note - no lifts. We asked for first floor but given second (3rd some would say these days) Ground floor near pool is the go.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was a fantastic hotel. Went with my partner and the kids in mid Jan 2013. 2 bedroom dual key apartment with ocean views. Kids had their own room, toilet, bathroom, tv, balcony - they loved it. More importantly, we loved our privacy in the main apartment which had a common door with the kids' room. Our apartment had all the cooking facilities you would ever hope for, hob, oven etc. - heaps of cookware and cutlery, appliances (toaster, microwave, etc.), decent medium sized refrigerator (not just a bar fridge), flat screen TV's, ceiling fans, air con, huge balcony with its own al-fresco dining table to seat 6 (easily seats 8) in addition to the one that seats 4 inside. Seriously, all you had to do was go to the local supermarket and stock up. Even the local liquor land outlet is just around the corner - sweet!! OK, so the only possible issue was the presence of microscopic ants in the apartment (very few and they posed no inconvenience whatsoever - the room even had a can of bug spray but we didn't bother to use it.) The only thing that bugged me (lol) was that there was a safe in the room but you had to pay $4.40 per day to use it. Pretty crappy really considering that every other place I've stayed in gave it to me for free - again, we didn't bother with that either - the rooms are super secure and after all - it's Palm Cove!! Everyone who is there can afford to be there - they don't need to rob you. At the pool we left our wallet, keys etc. on the table for hours - no problem! (mind you, that was an accident. I don't recommend such complacency anywhere, but was super glad our valuable stuff was all still there later on.) MY FINAL COMMENT IS THIS - the staff are probably about the best I have ever met in any hotel anywhere - period (other than the Charming 2 Hotel in Vietnam - but that's another review :-)) Seriously, Olivia was magnificent, both on the phone when I booked and in person when we arrived. Rachel was a dream when it came to booking tours and just for local knowledge in general. They made us feel like we were their only patrons and the check in - check out procedures were the quickest and most painless I've ever experienced. THE BOTTOM LINE IS - STAY HERE !!! IT'S A TOP HOTEL AND YOU WON'T REGRET IT. The pools are clean, large and safe (cleaned each morning from what we saw.) The gardens are beautiful, service brilliant, quality top notch. One thing though, you don't get daily refresh of your toiletries, etc. It's an apartment and you need to look after yourself in that respect. But that's what makes the hotel so great, because you save a fortune avoiding the $100 per meal that you would otherwise spend for 4 people if you couldn't cook for yourselves. OK, enough said - this is the longest review I've ever written. Great hotel - thanks to all the staff for helping to make our holiday so wonderful. We'll be back!!!

Room Tip: Ocean view room was beautiful and no real noise as its set back far enough from the street. They ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.1 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.1 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#3 of 13 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#8 of 13 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove
0.3 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
#7 of 13 in Palm Cove
4.0 of 5 stars 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Amphora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Amphora

Address: 49-63 Williams Esplanade, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia (Formerly Breakfree Amphora)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#12 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Amphora 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront at Palm Cove, one of Queensland's most sought-after destinations, Mantra Amphora is the ideal base to discover all that Tropical North Queensland has to offer. Accommodation ranges from hotel rooms to self-contained one, two and three bedroom apartments and all have quality finishes including stone bench tops, floor coverings incorporating a mix of quality timbers and most rooms feature a spa bath. All rooms and apartments feature private balconies with garden or ocean views where you can kick back and relax as the sun sets on another perfect day. Enjoy an early morning dip in the tranquil Coral Sea waters directly opposite the resort or meander your way around our beautifully landscaped gardens. Spend some time relaxing in our award winning swimming lagoon and spa that features many coves and nooks shaded by massive palm trees. Located on Williams Esplanade, on the waterfront, Mantra Amphora is just minutes away from some of the best restaurants in Tropical North Queensland. Wander the stretch of Palm Cove Esplanade to discover a chic range of restaurants and cocktail bars suitable for couples and family appetites. At the front of the resort guests will find Vivo Bar and Grill which was listed in the Top 200 Restaurants in Australia according to Gourmet Traveller magazine. Vivo offers guests Italian inspired food mixed with subtle tastes of the tropics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Mantra Amphora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Amphora Palm Cove
Mantra Amphora Hotel Palm Cove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Amphora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.