We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Amphora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Amphora to your Saves list
Mantra Amphora
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   49-63 Williams Esplanade, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia (Formerly Breakfree Amphora)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
brisbane
1 review
“Great resort and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at Mantra Amphora.
Excellent resort with a superb big pool area and friendly service.

Talk about whingers on trip advisor.
Whats the big deal about a zip bed - get over it.
Use Boutique Collection , you must be joking. booked with them before and they are not even on site or available after hours , fine if service is not important to you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    147
    59
    19
    10
See reviews for
125
173
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We booked and paid for a self contained apartment with views to the mountains for 12 days and were given a room with a view of the wall of the building next door. We complained and a week later we were "upgraded" to an apartment for our second week. We were not given a reimbursement for the incorrect room. The room and apartment were lovely and modern but could have been cleaner. They provide enough toiletries to last a couple of days then you have to buy your own including toilet paper. If you want extra towels you are charged for them. Having said that, we were supplied with the toiletries and extra towels without charge when we asked but that isn't the normal "policy". We heard of 2 other couples who had the same problems. Probably wouldnt stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILLAWONG NSW
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were so impressed with the Mantra Amphora.
Well appointed Apartment. Outstanding Pool Area (picturesque at night). From time of arrival we were treated by the Receptionist who was so friendly,, caring and professional.
Restaurants, Cafe, and other amenities are so close to Resort.
Hopefully when time permits we will re-visit for a longer stay.
Highly recommended.
D & S J.

Room Tip: As a couple we thought we had great Apartment on first level overlooking Pool. For a family I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

So apparently every king bed in every mantra Australia-wide is made up of 2 single beds pushed together. They call it a 'zipper king'. Everything else about the resort was great. Great location, great pool and the restaurant attached 'vivo' was very nice. When I asked about the two single beds pushed together I was told that they're all the same across Australia. The manager told me she might be able to get another mattress topper to make the bed a little more comfortable. She said she'd ring me back during the day but never did. A liitle disappointing, from an otherwise great resort.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The highlight of the Mantra Amphora is definitely the spectacular swimming pool. Otherwise this is a reasonably generic and forgettable resort. It seems a bit rich to charge such high prices but then not to offer a daily service of the rooms - we even had to buy our own toilet paper. Plus the 3% credit card surcharge on the final bill was an extra sting, especially given that many of these charges for us were outside tours simply booked by the hotel. The wifi was spotty and next to useless. Finally, we were promised a "pool view" room as if this was something worth paying extra for, but on arrival it seemed that every room faced the pool!

On the other hand, the rooms were clean, spacious and quiet. The staff were knowledgeable and helpful. The location is extremely central to everything in Palm Cove. And did I mention the fantastic swimming pool?

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is my second time to Mantra Amphora but unfortunately it didn’t live up to my fantastic experience I had the first time.

Three years ago I stayed in an apartment which was organised via The Boutique Collections. This time I booked a studio room through the Mantra website. The room looked old and in need of new furniture. There was a horrible smell in the bathroom which they tried to cover up with an air freshener that smelt almost as bad. The bed linen was out-dated and the bed was very hard. It was actually 2 single beds pushed together with a piece of foam over the top. However they put the foam with the bumpy side up – which meant I slept on little bumps all night. I felt like I was staying in an old-fashioned 3 star motel.

I was woken at 5.30am to what I’m guessing were kids jumping off furniture in the room above me. After 4 hours of this I went to reception to ask for another room. They didn’t seem to care much and I was told there were no studio rooms left on the upper floors and I would have to pay for an upgrade to a one bedroom apartment. Even though I don’t believe I should’ve had to pay….I did so as I just wanted some peace and quiet…..and sleep! After speaking to a few retail workers in Palm Cove, Lisa the manager at Mantra is ‘not known for her customer service skills’. According to previous reviews it seems other people have had trouble too. Maybe Mantra management need to look into this.

There is no lift at all in the hotel and no one will offer to carry your bags for you. So if you don’t want to carry your luggage up stairs it may be a good idea to request a ground floor room. However there is no privacy in the ground floor rooms and they attract a lot of noise from the pool area. You will need to decide which means most to you. The walls are also quite thin as the talking and general noise from the neighbours was unusually loud.

I purposely travelled outside of school holiday time as I am not a fan of screaming kids, however the place was still over-run by them. Their parents did nothing to control them or ask them to lower their voice. They were in the pool and spa all day every day. A complete nightmare for me. So I had no choice but to spend my time away from the hotel.

The pool and gardens were kept lovely however the rooms are well overdue for a complete refurb. Unfortunately you don’t get a room looking like the pictures on their website. Installing lifts is also mandatory. What 4 star hotel doesn’t have lifts these days??!!

Please make sure you do not book directly with the hotel or via the Mantra website. It just isn’t worth wasting your money. Go to The Boutique Collections website and book your holiday through them. They are lovely people who will do anything to ensure you have a great holiday. They hand pick the rooms so you know you are getting a great, clean room.
There are also a lot of nicer places to stay in Palm Cove, so if you don’t want to book through the Boutique Collections, it would be wise to stay somewhere else.

After staying in 2 lovely resorts (Sea Temple and Shantara) in Port Douglas, unfortunately this was not a very good end to my holiday in Tropical North Qld.

Room Tip: Do not book directly with the hotel or Mantra website. Book through The Boutique Collections for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I would have no hesitation recommending this property, providing the 'general manager' was replaced by a competent person whom actually has training in the hospitality industry. On the limited interactions we had with Lisa, we were left aghast with the clear contempt in which she held guests. We were horrified by Lisa's ineptitude and attitude when dealing with enquiries we had regarding our room (we had booked a one bedroom ocean view apartment, and been given a room to the rear of the complex instead, Lisa actually sighed, laughed at me then told me to 'be quiet and listen' when I questioned our booking). This is unacceptable behaviour and reflects so badly on the Mantra brand. It's clear by reading a number of reviews pertaining to this 'resort' we are not the only ones who have experienced this revolting excuse for customer service.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, General Manager at Mantra Amphora, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear CCsomewhere,
I clearly recall our conversation and I understand your frustration with the fact that we could not offer the room that you had booked.
As expressed, this was due to a room removed from our inventory and it something that we are unfortunately unable to control.
At no time do we as resort managers relish communicationing room changes to guests, as we would prefer to deliver an exceptional holiday experience for families to remember. It places ourselves in a difficult position and one that opens us to frustration and anger as expressed here on-line.
It is unfortunate that you feel such a personal attack is warranted. My conversation with you was initited with an apology, explaintation for the change and you were compensation financially.
Regards Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.1 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.1 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#2 of 13 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 stars 309 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#8 of 13 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove
0.3 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
#7 of 13 in Palm Cove
4.0 of 5 stars 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Amphora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Amphora

Address: 49-63 Williams Esplanade, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia (Formerly Breakfree Amphora)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#12 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Amphora 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront at Palm Cove, one of Queensland's most sought-after destinations, Mantra Amphora is the ideal base to discover all that Tropical North Queensland has to offer. Accommodation ranges from hotel rooms to self-contained one, two and three bedroom apartments and all have quality finishes including stone bench tops, floor coverings incorporating a mix of quality timbers and most rooms feature a spa bath. All rooms and apartments feature private balconies with garden or ocean views where you can kick back and relax as the sun sets on another perfect day. Enjoy an early morning dip in the tranquil Coral Sea waters directly opposite the resort or meander your way around our beautifully landscaped gardens. Spend some time relaxing in our award winning swimming lagoon and spa that features many coves and nooks shaded by massive palm trees. Located on Williams Esplanade, on the waterfront, Mantra Amphora is just minutes away from some of the best restaurants in Tropical North Queensland. Wander the stretch of Palm Cove Esplanade to discover a chic range of restaurants and cocktail bars suitable for couples and family appetites. At the front of the resort guests will find Vivo Bar and Grill which was listed in the Top 200 Restaurants in Australia according to Gourmet Traveller magazine. Vivo offers guests Italian inspired food mixed with subtle tastes of the tropics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Mantra Amphora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Amphora Palm Cove
Mantra Amphora Hotel Palm Cove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Amphora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.