We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Mantra Amphora” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Amphora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Amphora to your Saves list
Mantra Amphora
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   49-63 Williams Esplanade, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia (Formerly Breakfree Amphora)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence 2014
rochester, ny
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Loved the Mantra Amphora”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2007

Stayed 4 nights and loved this place. Great room, pool and restaurant. We were upgraded to oceanview apartment. No daily maid service, but that was ok because we got our privacy. Everyone was great and a perfect location. Had full kitchen and laundry facilities. We were directly across from the lovely beach. The only issue was the limited amenities in Palm Cove. Many things close early (7pm) so you need to aware of that. There is good and reasonable public transport into Cairns. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Liked — Location, room pool
  • Disliked — Closing times of businesses in Palm Cove
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    136
    52
    17
    9
See reviews for
114
156
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2007

We stayed in one of the 2 bed apartments in October and had a great time in Palm Cove. There is plenty to do around the area (although you will need to rent a car) and there is a good golf course about 5 minutes drive away.

The pool at the Mantra is very good for kids and adults. It also helps that it is ony 20 minutes transfer from the airport - which is good after a long flight with children.

The local zoo (which is walkable from Palm Cove) was surprisingly good and had a 3 day pass offer (for the price of 1 day) - the breakfast there is worth a try.

I would put in a request for a ground floor apartment if you are going with very young children (as there is no lift).

A point to note is that it was great for us (as thirty-somethings with a child) but life stops in Palm Cove at around 9:30 - 10pm so it is not for anyone who wants to go for a wild holiday.

Most of the restaurants looked new and seemed to be around the same price and although we didn't have a bad meal, we were a little disappointed with some of the food relative to the price charged. You do, however, have the option to cook for yourself and the large Coles 5 minutes down the highway has plenty of selection.

One comment I would echo from other reviews of the hotel is that the cleaning could be done on a more frequent basis - once every 3 days does mean the place can get a bit dirty in-between services. Ours was, however, clean when we arrived.

Overall, we thought it was a good place to stay and would go back again.

  • Liked — Close to beachfront
  • Disliked — Infrequent cleaning
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nz
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2007

We arrived in palm cove from a delightful stay in port douglas and checked in to the mantra amphora. now I know why we were not escorted to our room as per other places we'd stayed at on our trip.

At first glance it looked fine, typical hotel room style with a nice modern bathroom and spa. Tiny balcony and no view, but what the heck.

Relaxing on the bed before deciding what to do first noticed a 'mark' on the bed cover. As i inspected further it was covered, and I mean covered in 'bodily fluid' stains. Nice. Not. So when you've noticed something as nice as this you start to take a closer look around you. I rolled down the sheets to find hairs in the bed.

Out on the balcony a broom hadn't been pushed around for quite some time, massive webs and spiders all over the place.

Back in the room and the walls and light fixtures are covered in dirty finger marks, the bath still has 'tide' marks from other peoples scum and the carpets hadn't seen a vacuum in a while either. Added to this there was dust everywhere and sand on the table tops.

This place just HAD NOT been cleaned!! filth.

After complaining to reception and being told nothing could be done till the morning because it was Sunday and everyone had gone home, my hubby was not at all pleased and got on the blower again.

The manager's wife came over to the room and agreed it wasn't clean and took us over to another room for us to inspect.

I could see straight away this room was also not clean. dirty foot prints on the floors and all the stainless stuff in the kitchen was well grubby. The balcony looked fine and there were no marks on the duvet. Was slightly better... my hubby turned back the bed sheets to check and there were two massive, further bodily fluid stains on the bed sheets!! Clearly this place has no cleaners? I find it very hard to believe we were so unlucky as to be given the two only dirty rooms in the whole place?!! I'm going to guess the entire complex is filth.

so we returned to the original room and it was to be cleaned for us while we went to dinner.

Sheets had been changed and cobwebs removed but that was all.

Next morning we were given vouchers for a free breakfast as way of an apology.

The pool area was really nice and great position on palm cove but won't recommend the hotel until they sort the cleaners and give the walls a good wash!

  • Liked — location and pool
  • Disliked — it was dirty
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights as part of our 7 night holiday in Tropical Nth Queensland. This resort has an ideal location on the Palm Cove esplanade which is perfect to walk out to the beach and to dinner.

The hotel is a nice 4.5 star hotel, new modern rooms, a beautiful tropical pool (which was too cold in August for me). There didn't seem to be many people at all staying there a part from a few families so things were extremely quiet on the hotel grounds - other than the crying babies early in the morning and around the pool. Our room was a hotel spa room which was like a hotel room, with a normal sized bath with spa jets in it. The balcony was a good size, however, the views were blocked with trees so you could hardly even get a view of the pool - definately request a room with an unblocked view of the pool. There are no lifts on the property and we were put on the 3rd floor. I may be lazy but after 3 days I was really sick of walking up and down 5 times a day. I would request ground level next time.

The staff were friendly enough, and gave us a good tip when we were checking out that the Port Douglas market was on which we had no idea about so instead of dawdling up to Port Douglas we headed straight up there. The hotel has it's own Italian restaurant but we didn't eat there as it was extremely expensive but is supposedly the best restaurant in Palm Cove. All the restaurants were definately on the expensive side, $40 min per main except for the bistro around the corner which has pokies, big screen tv with sports on etc, much more relaxed atmosphere.

Definately need a car up there so you can drive to Cairns etc, which is only 15 mins away, there is a huge coles about 10 mins from Palm Cove too which is handy when you're staying in an apartment. I would definately recommend Mantra Amphora for families, everyone there seemed to have kids instead of us. I'd definately stay there again, but more than 3-4 nights would get boring if you stayed just in Palm Cove, it's a small and quiet place with little to do other than eat and lay by the pool.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Crying babies heard early in the morning
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2007

We have just returned from a week in Palm Cove staying at the Amphora which we booked through the Stayz website. We are a family of 5 with young children, the hotel was just perfect for our needs. the location was perfect - just across the road from the beach and the fabulous Vivo cafe, and just a short stroll from the main "town" of Palm Cove, which is really just a short strip of hotels, restaurants and touristy shops. The pool at the Amphora was large and perfect for kids and adults, but it was quite chilly (the kids called it the cold pool) and most people swimming tended to just sit in the spa pool. We had amazing service from Cecilia from the Beach Club (who also manages units in the Amphora) - we had a portacot, highchair, two strollers and beach toys at no extra cost. She was a star. The units are spacious and really well equipped and we thought excellent value for money. A few notes about Palm Cove and the reef - coz these were my questions when planning our holiday. Palm Cove gets windy - get to the beach early, then retreat to your hotel pool when the wind gets up. the beach is lovely but we live near manly beach in Sydney so our standards are high. We chose to do the quick silver Reef trip from port douglas rather than Reef Magic from cairns - the reason being the reef they go to is further out and therefore clearer. We prepared ourselves for the worst as we were taking our kids (ages 7, 4 and 19months), there were 25 knot winds and they were handing out seasickness pills on board the boat. We actually had a great day!!!! the pontoon was perfect, there was enough to do for non-snorkellers and the reef was stunning - just like you see in postcards!!! We also did the Daintree (drive yourselves and do a crocodile trip from daintree - there are stacks of operators - just decide on the spot - the trips are pretty underwhelming but you may get lucky). We also did the Skyrail/Kuranda train trip - a good day for the kids and nice to see the rain forest but it was really more for the kids.
We had a lovely holiday in palm Cove - we would stay again at the amphora and definietly recommend it!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cold pool
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2007

Staying in Palm Cove for a week to attend a friend's wedding, the Mantra Amphora was a great spot to relax. The room was clean and well maintained with a nice view of the ocean. Whilst we had difficulty locating the entrance to the hotel (checking in after dark requires you to go to the night desk), the rest of the stay was quite enjoyable. The restaurant is definitely a highlight, very very good quality and much more reasonable price wise than the rest of what Palm Cove has to offer. Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — The beachfront location and value for money
  • Disliked — Nothing wrong with the accommodation, but found Palm Cove to be quite over-rated.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2006

Stunning and very kid friendly pool. We had a 2 and 3 year old who are learning to swim and they loved it! Lots of safe areas and room to keep away from other guests. Lovely hot spa.

Thought the charge for cleaning the apartment was a bit petty and exorbitant. We had an apartment plus two hotel rooms... the hotel room which was attached to the apartment (as well as the apartment itself) was UNserviced while the hotel room which was separate was serviced (it was also attached to an apartment but not ours). Curiously, the hotel room which was 'separate' was $2 cheaper than the one that was attached to the apartment and therefore not eligible for free servicing.

All in all, a very pleasant stay.

  • Liked — pool
  • Disliked — lack of servicing
  • Tips/Secrets — if you're a family ask for a room overlooking the pool
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Amphora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Amphora

Address: 49-63 Williams Esplanade, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia (Formerly Breakfree Amphora)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#11 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Amphora 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront at Palm Cove, one of Queensland's most sought-after destinations, Mantra Amphora is the ideal base to discover all that Tropical North Queensland has to offer. Accommodation ranges from hotel rooms to self-contained one, two and three bedroom apartments and all have quality finishes including stone bench tops, floor coverings incorporating a mix of quality timbers and most rooms feature a spa bath. All rooms and apartments feature private balconies with garden or ocean views where you can kick back and relax as the sun sets on another perfect day. Enjoy an early morning dip in the tranquil Coral Sea waters directly opposite the resort or meander your way around our beautifully landscaped gardens. Spend some time relaxing in our award winning swimming lagoon and spa that features many coves and nooks shaded by massive palm trees. Located on Williams Esplanade, on the waterfront, Mantra Amphora is just minutes away from some of the best restaurants in Tropical North Queensland. Wander the stretch of Palm Cove Esplanade to discover a chic range of restaurants and cocktail bars suitable for couples and family appetites. At the front of the resort guests will find Vivo Bar and Grill which was listed in the Top 200 Restaurants in Australia according to Gourmet Traveller magazine. Vivo offers guests Italian inspired food mixed with subtle tastes of the tropics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Mantra Amphora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Amphora Palm Cove
Mantra Amphora Hotel Palm Cove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Amphora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.