We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mango Lagoon Resort & Wellness Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mango Lagoon Resort & Wellness Spa to your Saves list
Mango Lagoon Resort & Wellness Spa
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   81-85 Cedar Road, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
4 Pools with 50m lap pool
1 review
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 5 nights, absolutely love the place, close to shops Palm Cove Beach 10min stroll away, we had a 2bdr apartment no problems what so ever with anything. Big Apartment with main bathroom & decent size in other rm. There are 4 Pools & they are all awesum, kids loved swimming in them everyday! Be coming back here in the future!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    111
    45
    34
    22
See reviews for
89
129
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our stay at Mango Lagoon resort was dreadful. My wife and I had been making our way up the east coast of Australia and had tried to save our pennies as best we could but decided to spend a fraction more for a little luxury and relaxation in Palm Cove. We had friends who had honeymooned at the resort and spoke highly of the apartment accommodation. However we quickly discovered that as hotel guests our experience would be quite different.

The first thing that struck us on entering our room was its size, it was tiny. We barely managed to fit our cases in. It was also a ground floor room with a busy footpath running just alongside the window. Unfortunately our curtain was too small to cover the window and appeared to be made of linen. Not only could people see in through the window but in the morning sunlight poured into the room from 6.00am. The air-con had no remote control therefore could only be set to 'on' (which was freezing cold) or 'off'. The lighting in the main room and the bathroom was also very poor making every day tasks that little more difficult. Sockets were hidden behind heavy items of furniture (wardrobe and bed in our case) which rendered them useless. We were operating without a mobile phone whilst travelling and relied on finding accommodation with free wifi in the room. When we booked the room their website suggested wifi was available in every room. This was not the case, we had no wifi but were assured it was accessible if we just left our room and stood outside in the dark!! The resort also has a no housekeeping policy for those staying less than 1 week. This is fine for those in apartment accommodation but we stayed for 4 nights as hotel guests and received no fresh towels. Added to that our shower curtain was too short and didn't reach the ground which resulted in a flooded bathroom floor every time we showered. Due to us not receiving any housekeeping the room actually started to smell of damp.

Whilst all the above made our stay somewhat disappointing the biggest let down was the attitude of the staff towards us. When we phoned to raise some of our issues we were given the standard response that we were staying in 'budget' accommodation. As a relatively experienced traveller I have stayed in a wide range of hostels/hotels/guest houses etc. I am well aware of what you should expect for your money therefore to be told our hotel was 'budget' reflects appallingly on the member of staff concerned and the resort. I was so cross that the price I had paid had such an influence on the service I would receive. If there had been a mere sniff of this fact prior to booking I would have booked elsewhere. None of our complaints were dealt with instead we were invited to find better accommodation for the price we had paid. It was infuriating and embarrassing customer service. Apparently the Mango Lagoon management can do nothing to fix these problems as each individual room is the responsibility of the owners (who are NOT Mango Lagoon). Surely someone should be accountable for substandard accommodation and if its not up to scratch the rooms shouldn't be used.

Avoid!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in another hotel.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoManagement, Manager at Mango Lagoon Resort & Wellness Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Sir

I apologise for the confusion with your expectations as to how our resort is run. We understand the frustration felt on your behalf.

However with regards to some of the main points, please bear in mind that our Hotel/Standard style of room is placed as an entry level/budget accommodation alternative to be able to come to Palm Cove on a very low outlay.

The point regarding the lack of daily servicing is outlined in the guest info letter inside your welcome envelope, which states that these rooms and apartments are not serviced daily, but weekly (for stays of 7 nights or more).

Again, the instructions in the welcome envelope state that by simply removing the keycard from the slot inside the door the airconditioner will turn off. For eco friendly reasons we do not have remotes for these airconditioners, but have them simply set at the optimal 22 degrees for efficient cooling and power consumption.

Wifi is provided at no charge to all our guests regardless on room type. If you were unable to connect to the service, we apologise, but it is available throughout the resort, the cafe area and reception.

Again on behalf of the resort I do apologise for your frustration, I hope I can be of assistance to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were very disappointed. Arrived late to find key in safe. Difficulty finding our room which was very small, the large bed took up most of the room. One small towel hanger, not enough to hang towels. TV not working properly. Had to pay for any extras including t/bags, milk for our cup of tea. Really glad we were there for only a couple of days.

Room Tip: Maybe a ground floor larger room would have been better??
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had a well priced, lovely two bedroom apartment, containing everything we needed. We were well situated for one of the pools, the beds were comfortable, plenty of space and fair quality services in kitchen and bathrooms. The laundry was very handy. We found staff to be friendly, and helpful, and we all had a very relaxing stay. Will absolutely be going back.

Room Tip: Go for a apartment. I think the studios are pretty small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

On the positive side - the towels were thick, the bed comfortable, the room spacious, the location ok, pleasant staff.
On the negative - No balcony, in fact nowhere to sit outside, the most uncomfortable furniture I have ever encountered in a holiday property, a kitchen with the most minimal of basic equipment, several pool areas with extremely limited seating (astonishing in a resort of this size). The pools could do with heating at this time of year - evidenced by the fact that almost no one was using them or only put their toes in the water to discover that it was too cold. The beach was a 5-10 min stroll away with a range of shops and restaurants.
We were disappointed to see a standby rate of $99 being offered when we had paid $110 per night on Agoda some time ago. We could see much better choices of accommodation in the area and would recommend anyone wanting to holiday in Palm Cove to look at these options.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed with my mother in this resort and we were both very disappointed. When we arrive to check in, it was 4 pm but the reception was already closed! We had to find by ourselves the room. The room was not clean properly. there was no remote controls for the Aircond. They were set to a very cold temperature and the room was freezing. The first roll of toilet paper is provided but you have to pay for the second!!! But the worth is when without tell us a man started to spray bleach on our balcony without taking into consideration that our clothes were on drying on it. It destroyed most of our clothes and when we went to the reception to complain, the receptionist was extremely rude to us. We asked to talk to the manager and he did come to talk to us 2 days later. When we told him the story he laughed at us!!!! We really do not recommend this resort. this was the worth resort we ever been and we travelled quite a lot around the world.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here for a week on a recent visit down under from the UK - recommended by friends of my daughter-inl-law - and loved the place. Our one bedroom apartment provided everything we wanted - it was large and spacious, beautifully furnished in a calm Japanese style with a wonderfully comfortable bed. The large bathroom housed a cupboard containing a washing machine and dryer plus iron, which came in very handy during the week and saved on laundry bills! As well as the three gated swimming pools there is a great kiddie pool., Sitting Buddhas scattered around the grounds and well-maintained decorative fish pools added to the feeling of serenity. A joyful experience.

Room Tip: We had a first floor apartment but would suggest ground floor rooms are more convenient for families...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mango Lagoon Resort & Wellness Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Lagoon Resort & Wellness Spa

Address: 81-85 Cedar Road, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mango Lagoon Resort & Wellness Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mango Lagoon Resort The resort spreads over 2.5 Acres of tropically landscaped gardens with meandering walkways surrounding 4 pools for your pleasure including a 50 metre Olympic sized lap pool and child friendly pool. Our extra spacious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments are fully self-contained and we also provide the option of studio/hotel room accommodation for guests. Other on-site resort features include a covered BBQ area, Continental Breakfast daily, sun lounges surrounding our 4 pools, on-site tour desk and Free Wi-Fi access is available to all guests throughout most of the Resort. As a perfect gateway to the Great Barrier Reef and Rainforest. Mango Lagoon Resorts private, quiet location is your perfect place to stay and experience these natural wonders. Relax and stroll the award winning Palm Cove beach lapped by the Coral Sea or explore one of the many restaurants, salons, and boutique shops. Our friendly staff will be happy to tailor a tour package to suit your requirements and budget. Mango Lagoon Resort has a clear mission. 'We want to provide our guests with the best possible holiday experience in Palm Cove'. We look forward to welcoming you in paradise soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Mango Lagoon Resort & Wellness Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Lagoon Resort And Wellness Spa
Mango Lagoon Resort & Wellness Hotel Palm Cove
Mango Lagoon Hotel Wellness

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mango Lagoon Resort & Wellness Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.