We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star rooms - 4+ star service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Palm Cove Sea Temple Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Palm Cove Sea Temple Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Pullman Palm Cove Sea Temple Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5 Triton St, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“5 star rooms - 4+ star service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2006

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at Sea Temple.
We arrived well after 11.30 pm, to a warm welcome, flames lighting up the courtyard. I later found out they keep them going just for us. Champagne and fruit platter as prearranged was brought up to our room.

Service was good, but still needed improving in areas. If you’re not too fussy it passes. The front desk was helpful and answered all our questions and arranged a couple of trips.
The restaurant helped out with a special dessert to celebrate our wedding anniversary.
I cannot thank them enough.

The day spa, was of the highest quality, and pricey, but well worth it. Not overly keen about the suggested detox, no alcoholic drinks afterwards... straight to the pool bar and some G&T for me thank you. I still trying to work out when pool bar opens, it seemed to be quite sporadically staffed.

Our room was a penthouse suite, in which we enjoyed the roof top BBQ and Spa. Very private if you know what I mean. Great spot to watch the storms roll in. The room its self is well appointed, the kitchen has nearly everything you need for a short stay. Be sure to bring some extra washing powder if you going to use the washing machine.

No mini bar was a disappointment; however the local bottle shop was just a short stroll down the road and turn left. You can order BBQ/dinner packs from the restaurant, a little pricey. If you have a car, there is a small shopping centre toward Cairns on the main road.

The swim-out rooms look interesting and we are going to try these out next time.
We are so impressed with this chain; our next trip in November 2006 to Port Douglas will include the new Sea Temple Port Douglas resort. Lets hope its as good as Palm Cove.

  • Liked — Great pool
  • Disliked — Did not expect there to be so many kids
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't expect too much and be blown away.
  • Stayed February 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    190
    82
    28
    22
See reviews for
180
303
15
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ACT
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2006

We stayed here for one night after an extended stay in Port Douglas, we just drove past to have a look and decided we MUST stay for a night. I booked through wotif for around $300 a night in a studio room. This place is beautiful, they allowed us to check in before 11 am so we had time to really explore the resort, we were not disapointed.
The pools are really nice, we had the lagoon kids pool to ourlselves for a while and it was bliss, even if the water did only come up to me knees!
Again, resorts just don't provide enough lounge chairs, same as the Outrigger and everywhere else we have stayed.

We had lunch from the restaurant, it was a burger meal, it was so nice and very tasty we will be talking about that for a while!
We also ordered dinner to our room which was salads and gourmet sandwiches, stunning again. We chose to have breakfast from the buffet downstairs, it was the best buffet b/fast we had in TNQ, a really good selection of hot and cold dishes, fruits, yoghurts, smoothies and plunger coffee to your table.
All round, the experience was 5 star, the service was great and the resort and rooms themselves are just beautiful, perfect for a relaxing holiday, we will be going back! Soon I hope!

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2006

For the second year in a row we returned to the sea temple for some R & R. The modern spacious and comfortable apartments suit the lazy tropical atmosphere of Palm Cove. The view over the pool and paperbark trees is beautiful particularly at twilight when the outdoor lamps are lit.

Daytime gives way to some amusing activity poolside with guests vying for the limited recliners..... all this angst with the beach a mere 20 metres away. Almost time for Sea Temple to institute a pool policy and have a few more pool staff in attendance.

Really lacking from Sea Temple is a buzzy exciting restaurant because the current one does little to inspire the house guests who usually stroll up the road to one of the many excellent establishments along the beachfront for some nourishment.

The staff here are friendly and relaxed and maybe not quite at the five star level as yet. Maybe a dedicated concierge and a little more attention to detail would be good but I can't help get the feeling that they are trying hard with limited resources.

Try and get you bookings in at the spa early - I recommend a call a week before your stay at least. Having a hire car is also a bonus to do some exploring around the region.

Overall still a great base to stay in this part of the world.

  • Liked — Laidback tropical atmosphere
  • Disliked — Bolshi guests poolside
  • Tips/Secrets — book an apartment
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2006

Like others have said, you really cannot argue the layout and the actual presense of the Sea Temple. The beach location is beautiful (although the ocean water at Palm Cove was brown when we went) and the lobby and grounds are open and nicely decorated.

We stayed in a studio room, which is really, really, REALLY small, but we kind of knew that going in. What we hated was the shower. Long story short, the hot water ran out VERY quickly and what you're left with is lukewarm (at most) water. Keep in mind, it was only the two of us, not a huge family or anything. I think it also depends on when your neighbors take a shower too because sometimes the hot water would last longer than others and the first shower we took had NO hot water to even begin with.

Another complaint we had was the noise. The walls are very thin and you can hear the footsteps of your neighbors. One night my husband was woken up in the middle of the night by the clanking of dishes from the restaurant a few floors below us. He even heard another hotel guest yelling at the employee to stop making noise.

All in all, we felt that when building the Sea Temple they spent a lot of money on the exterior (making it look pretty), but skimped on the interior (thin wallls, cheap water heater). We were expecting a lot more considering the how much it cost to stay here.

On a side note--we thoroughly enjoyed dinner and a couples massage at the Sebel Reef House which is about a 10 minute walk from Sea Temple.

  • Liked — Location, beautiful exterior, friendly/helpful front desk
  • Disliked — Thin walls, shower (water temperature)
  • Tips/Secrets — Studio rooms are VERY small and unimpressive
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2006

The ambiance and layout of this hotel are not in question, however the attitude of the staff and is well below of what could be expected even from a 2 star resort.

We stayed here as part of our Honeymoon and on arrival we thought we would take advantage of the hotel restaurant. Big mistake!
Whilst the food was of a good quality the staff and service was well below par. We waited 15 minuets to place our order and we were given the starter before the wine arrived. The night continued in a vain that put us in mind of “Faulty Towers”.

Despite booking our stay many months in advance we were given a room on the 2nd floor opposite the lift. I did bring these issues to the attention of the General Manager who moved us to a Penthouse suite and took 50% off our restaurant bill.

Four nights later the apartment next to us held a BBQ and Jacuzzi party for 20+ people. I spoke to the hotel management about this and they didn’t feel there was a problem hiring out an apartment in a five star resort to people who then invited 20 guest for a bit of a “blast”. The management did not feel they had to then monitor these “gatherings” leaving it to guest such as myself to bring issues to there attention.

I wouldn’t recommend this Hotel. If you want a quite, relaxing break do not stay here, if on the other hand you want to have a bit of a party with at least 20 of your friends give them a call. They do great weekend deals on Penthouse Apartments.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2006

Sea Temple promotes itself as an asian inspired hotel with that familiar accent upon arrival. However upon arriving at this hotel I wished we had of gone to asia.
The lack of service is a major embarrasment to this hotel which self rates itself as five star. When we first arrived my sister who being five months pregnant was told "you'll be right with those bags won't you"is not a great start.
We chose to ignore this seeing as the lobby and general structure of the hotel looked good. Nice pools (not enough chairs) and clean modern rooms.
We were to be let down again by the constant lack of service and perhaps poor training and management. The three pool area has one pool bar and unfortunately one staff member. Considering this is where most people have their lunch to wait an hour for a drink is really not good enough.
On checkout we were questioned about our stay and after telling them our feelings were told the management is aware of these service problems.
This hotel is not five star and I struggle to see it ever be that , for us it was more t.ravelodge than Sea Temple

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2006

I have just spent a week at Sea Temple as a guest of my family. We had a 3 bedroom apartment, attractive and very comfortable, with excellent facilities for self-care if desired.
While the setting was beautiful, with the beach just a few steps away and a variety of pools, the service was not what I would have expected, with all but 3 of the staff appearing not to have any interest in the guests (others we spoke to had the same opinion).
Although it was obvious there were 3 people using the second bathroom, only two towels were provided each day. Sometimes we had a bath mat, some days we did not.
The mini bar was not set up till the 3rd day, and not replenished till the 6th day.
Alteration to the pick-up time for a tour was not passed on from reception, although we were sitting in front of the desk waiting. Another tour company rang direct to our apartment to notify us of alterations to the original plans, as they said reception never let guests know of changes.
We found the dining room offered a limited range, was very slow, and meals were not overly hot. The children's menu was very unadventurous, with take-away style foods - fish and chips, nuggets and chips, etc. Our children were asking for vegetables! The 6 pm early-bird dining for children was farcical - 20 minutes to be seated, although there was only one other family present, another 25 minutes before fish and chips arrived, and a further 20 minutes' wait (and 3 visits to the kitchen by our embarrassed waiter) for icecream. Needless to say, we only tried it once.
Palm Cove is a pretty little town, but has very limited shopping. We had a delicious meal at El Greko, a Greek restaurant.
For the tarriffs charged, I expected the staff to be friendly, attentive, efficient and communicative, and apart from the 3 exceptions previously mentioned, this was not the case.
I will not return to Sea Temple, and could not recommend it.

  • Liked — Setting, facilities
  • Disliked — Lack of service, poor staff training
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman Palm Cove Sea Temple Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Palm Cove Sea Temple Resort & Spa

Address: 5 Triton St, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Palm Cove
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Cove
#4 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
#6 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
#7 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Palm Cove Sea Temple Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Pullman Palm Cove Sea Temple Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Temple Resort And Spa Palm Cove
Sea Temple Resort & Spa Palm Cove Hotel Palm Cove
Sea Temple Resort Palm Cove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Palm Cove Sea Temple Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.