We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beset by lack of management” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Reef House Spa

Reef House Spa
99 Williams Esplanade | Sebel Reef House & Spa, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
61 7 4055 3633
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 17 things to do in Palm Cove
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beset by lack of management”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Having experienced the Reef House over many years I can honestly say it has gone distinctly backwards under new management. The old friendly staff are gone to be replaced by dithering and unorganized working holiday makers who lack leadership & training. The food - with fee exceptions - is very ordinary whilst the prices suggest it should be top class. Alas, the new management show signs of poor judgement & a lack of skills. An inflated sense of their own importance.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    7
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best yet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Location, venue, service and atmosphere are all exceptional. Stayed at reefhouse for a couple of weeks in July and after having been to Cairns/port Douglas area 6 times in past 8 years (other 2 winters Thailand and Bali) I can comfortably say this was our best experience thus far. I don't want Palm Cove to become another Port Douglas but just quietly not even a competition. Stopped at Peppers (palm cove) previous year which was exceptional also but reefhouse has a feel and openness where you really feel you're in paradise and on the beach. Love the honesty bar and free cocktails concept (will even do free mocktails for kids) that just adds to the friendly atmosphere.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temperance, Michigan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best Massage Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

My wife and I both had the 90 min aroma massge, one of he best ever. Great value for he money.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nearly a 4. What is on the menu & wher is the wine list”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We went to the Reef House for a dinner for four on a Tuesday night. Admittedly a quiet night in most places.
It is set in a lovely location sitting on the open deck with huge illuminated Melaleuca trees framing the ocean. Location, Location, Location
As we had not eaten at the Reef House before, we decided to give it a try. The place only had about 10 people dining out. ( It was a cool night by any ones standard.)
The meal prices are average for the area, a bit overpriced, but wine prices make you whine with the overpriced limited selection.
We asked the waiter what was on the menu and were given the wine list and main menu, we asked to see the evenings special menu as advertised on the a board out front. The waiter could not remember what was on, so he took a piece of paper out of his pocket to read us out the menu. We had also noticed during the day, a board advertising a three course meal for a set price. As the board was not out on display we asked if that was still on, he said it was, so we all ordered that.
After chatting for a while, the waiter returned to see if we would like to order some wine, I opened the wine folder to find it was empty - we joked that the wine was free that night.
This type of thing would not have happened here in the past, with the previous owners, obviously the waiter was not having a good night.
The meal turned up and it was enjoyed by all especially the creme brule.
I would return again as the food was good, but I hope our experience that night is a one off.
At least it was a memorable one in Palm Cove.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
171 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Gorgeous beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Great restaurants, lovely beach and white sand, regular bus service to Cairns at 30 minute intervals

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reef House Spa also viewed

Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 

Been to Reef House Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reef House Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.