We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pure paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Palm Cove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Palm Cove to your Saves list
Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Palm Cove
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Cnr Vievers Rd Williams Esp, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Palm Cove
brisbane
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“pure paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

This is a wonderful resort with friendly and helpful staff. Our stay was for our 25th wedding anniversay and the staff left a bottle of red in our room to help celebrate. Our room was also a nice surprise with a mezzanine level bedroom looking out over the huge living area , kitchen and enormous balocony with day bed for afternoon napping. our apartment overlooked the beautiful free form pool which winds it's way through native trees and rainforest. The only issue I have is that the curtains were mouldy and covered with dust, and as other travellers stated the pool is freezing as is the spa.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    77
    20
    16
    4
See reviews for
74
93
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

I traveled with wife and 2 kids (6 and 2yr old). When we arrived my wife loved the place and that's a great start! The room was very modern and nicely decorated. We loved the day bed!!!
The staff always friendly and resourceful. The huge lagoon pool is beautiful, but it was freezing. Nevertheles we had to dive anyway. Just for 5 min, and then run for the heated spa :-)
We also loved Palm Cove. We were very fortunate with our choices of hotel, place and atractions. I used tripadvisor reviews and that was a huge help.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

This is a complex of well appointed apartments overlooking tropical gardens. There is a large pool, as well as a spa splash pool for the littlies. Note the pool is unheated and therefore freezing in winter. We stayed in a 2 bedroom compact - which was very spacious and well equipped - as well as being clean. The staff were helpful and extremely friendly. The hotel is located to one end of Palm Cove - which is basically a series of resorts and eateries. Directly in front of the resort there are a couple of cafes - which are good for breakfast. We loved the Greek cafe, and the Italian Pizzeria in the 'village', and the Indian was also good.

The beach is patrolled and has a stinger net - and the beach was sandy and clean. If you want to access a supermarket its a five minute drive to Clifton Beach.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

We got an incredible rate for a 1 Bdrm unit during the 3 day Accor Pacific Sale. I wish we had spent more than two nights here (less in Mossman, more here would have been a better decision). Palm Cove was so relaxing and accommodating. The unit was well-equipped and comfortable ... my only gripe would be the dryer. I presume the humidity played a part, but the little apartment sized dryer simply did not completely dry our clothes. I had to set each load on a drying rack to finish. Other than that, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

We stayed in a one bedroom + day bed, 2 bathroom apartment - we thoroughly enjoyed our stay... a great location, a spacious room, lovely surroundings. Very relaxing. The staff were great. And the place was great value... we took cues from other reviews and shopped at Clifton Beach and cooked for ourselves most nights. Beach walks were beautiful. We would stay here again

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

From the moment we booked our holiday, we knew we were heading to a great place. We managed to get four apartments - 2 x Two Bedroom Ocean View apartments & 2 x One Bedroom Pool View apartments.

When we arrived to the Grand Mecure Rockford Esplanade in Palm Cove we were greeted by extremely friendly and courteous staff who where more than happy to let us check into most rooms earlier than check in. Not being locals, we asked the staff if they could recommend certain companies for reef tours, we were very happy with our choice, so thank you for such a great recommendation.

We booked this holiday so I could have my 21st Birthday in Palm Cove. The staff some how found out that it was my 21st and they organise a beautiful bottle of wine and card from the staff, where else would give this service?

The rooms were extremely spacious and ultra modern however one room smelt like cigarette (only downfall) as we are all NON SMOKERS. I would not hesitate to stay in this apartments again and I know I will be requesting the very same room every time I stay there.

I hope this review help and I could almost guarantee that everyone will like this area.

Once again, thank you to all the staff at the Grand Mecure Rockford Esplanade in Palm Cove!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

Mouldy smelling rooms and very cluttered with furniture. Staff failed to re-activate the access card, sent me to an icecream shop to use the internet and provided a discount meal voucher sometime after I had left the complex for dinner.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Palm Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Palm Cove

Address: Cnr Vievers Rd Williams Esp, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Cove
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#10 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
#11 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Palm Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Apartments is situated on the beach at exclusive Palm Cove overlooking the Coral Sea perfectly positioned between two World Heritage sites - the Great Barrier Reef and the Daintree Rainforest. Just 25 minutes north of Cairns International Airport in tropical far North Queensland, the resort features a choice of luxuriously appointed studios, lofts, one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments, each with a large private balcony or courtyard. Resort facilities include several beachfront restaurants and cafes, expansive free form lagoon style swimming pool, children's pool, outdoor spa, gymnasium, pilates classes, massage and boutique shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Palm Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Hotel Palm Cove
Mercure Palm Cove
Mercure Hotel Palm Cove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Palm Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.