We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas in Palm Cove!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade

Save Saved
You added Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Cnr Vievers Rd Williams Esp, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 hotels in Palm Cove
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Christmas in Palm Cove!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights over Christmas, the staff were fantastic, the pool and spa just beautiful and the beach and views just breathtaking. Being Christmas, not all restaurants were open however we were happy with what was available to us. The hotel room itself was amazing, 2 bathrooms, 2 bedrooms and a lounge/dining area, along with a balcony overseeing the pool area. Absolutely fantastic! Can't go wrong with that. 100m to the beautiful beach and just a short walk to the swimming area with life guards patrolling (stinger season)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    74
    18
    13
    3
See reviews for
65
89
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel a number of years ago and it was great but on our return a number of things had changed. The main change was that half the hotel is now used for permanent residents. This means that the facilitis have become tired looking and smelly due to the amount of cooking in the rooms. The hotel restaurant/bar has been replaced by individual businesses as well. The location and pool are excellent but we will look at a different place next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Initial impressions weren't great - first off, the signs all referred in big letters to Rockford (we were looking for Grand Mercure) and then to the Drift Apartments. We turned up quite late and there was nobody on reception. After wandering around looking confused (was this just the apartments or also the hotel?), finally a guy who was sat on a sofa opposite reception asked what we were after. It turned out he was the night porter, though subsequently he proved quite helpful. Our room was huge with a kitchen, 2 bathrooms and 2 bedrooms plus a separate lounge and a balcony overlooking the central area of the hotel (beautiful tree lined pool/jacuzzi area). A slight annoyance was that the walk to it involved a windy route through a number of gates. Weirdly, breakfast was at a cafe next door where you hand in a voucher to get your free (but pretty decent) cooked breakfast. The beach is barely 100 yards away and is really beautiful. We were lucky enough to be here for the total eclipse (which we saw all of despite the clouds, though others a few miles south missed it) which added to the atmosphere. That said, at least during the long stinger season, you can only safely swim in a small area protected by an inflated perimeter. The crocodile warning signs are a bit off-putting too! All in all, we loved this place but it does have those little issues that stopped it getting 5 stars.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Another great stay, we have stayed at Grand Mercure Rockford Palm Cove on a number of occasions, love the closeness to the beach (just across the road), the fantastic pool, and the great relaxed atmosphere. Close to lovely restaurants and shops. We will certainly be returning in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Third visit to this hotel. We just love it. We stay in a one bedroom apartment which is great value for money. Lovely and big, beautifully furnished, with kitchen and washing machine coming in very handy. We always eat out for dinner due to the fabulous restaurants in Palm Cove, but love the option of breakfast in the apartment. The pool is beautiful, one of the nicest I've been in. Only disappointment this trip - we asked night before check out could we extend our check out. Receptionist said yes, let them know next morning and could extend past 12 midday for $20 per hour. After deciding we'd like to stay till 1pm, we spoke to the receptionist working on the morning of our departure. She declined saying the cleaners would need to clean the room so we could not stay past 12.00. We went back at 3pm to collect our bags and since our room was ground floor I went for a peek - the room had still not been cleaned. Anyway, since everything else so fabulous at this hotel I'm sure we'll be back again asap.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

the apartment was well equipped the 2nd bedroom was little more than an alcove with sliding glass panels to close it in, not affording us any privacy from the children in the evening.. The lighting in the rooms was very dim, the pool was fabulous surrounded by huge protected melaleuca trees .loved the location lots of good restuarants in easy walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade

Address: Cnr Vievers Rd Williams Esp, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Cove
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#11 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade is situated on the beach at exclusive Palm Cove, overlooking the Coral Sea. Just 20 minutes north of Cairns in tropical far North Queensland, the resort features a choice of luxuriously appointed loft studios, or one and two bedroom fully self contained apartments, each with a large private balcony. Resort facilities include a beachfront restaurant, free form lagoon style swimming pool, gymnasium, and boutique shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Hotel Palm Cove
Mercure Palm Cove
Mercure Hotel Palm Cove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.