We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and beautiful setting, poor service.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Palm Cove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Palm Cove to your Saves list
Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Palm Cove
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Cnr Williams Esp & Veivers Rd, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location and beautiful setting, poor service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Fact: The Grand Mercure Palm Cove is a resort style hotel in a beautiful setting. The rooms are fairly standard hotel rooms. Ours came with a balcony overlooking the lovely pool area. Very nice.

Fact: 
We couldn't check in until 2:40pm, 40 mins late. However we did manage a late checkout. 
We found our bed doona without a cover! Instead it was sandwiched between two sheets! 
The coffee milk in the fridge was already open. 
Stayed three nights. There seems to be no daily room cleaning service or turndown. 
The Internet is really expensive. Go to the post office. 

We won't go back. 

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    85
    22
    16
    4
See reviews for
82
98
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom, two bathroom ocean view room. Four adults were very impressed ! The apartment was spacious and comfortable and equipped to suit, The balcony overlooking the palms and the beach, only 50m away was a feature. It faced east getting the morning sun. Much time was spent relaxing here. The beautiful pool and large spa were definitely another feature, great to use after swimming at the beach ! We found the hotel staff to be very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great location right on the water at Palm Cove, good sized rooms (2 bed apartment), poor service, grubby broken blinds on the verandah spoiled our beautiful water view, sensitive smoke alarms saw us assemble outside the hotel at an ungodly hour (and apparently it had happened the night before we arrived as well), huge pool (fun for the kids) - could do with 24 hour reception given $$$$ price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We booked here based on the trip advisor reviews. The pool was as lovely as promised, but very cold due to all the shade! We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment, which was very spacious. The only drawback to having owner-occupied apartments is the standard and upkeep of the rooms is not quite as high. Staff were friendly and helpful. We were happy overall and would stay there again. They need to do something about the alarms though, the evacuation alarm went off twice during our week long stay, which was very unsettling late at night dragging small children from their beds and finding emergency exits!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santee, California, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We were unsure when our travel agent booked us into Palm Cove versus Cairns. Boy were we wrong! First off, Palm Cove is a delightful small town with a wonderful beach and excellent restaurants/shops. The only negative of staying here is that if you want to go to Port Douglas you need to either rent a car or arrange for transportation. There is a regular bus to Cairns though.

The Grand Mercure was one of the best accomodations we've ever had on a vacation. We routinely book apartments so we are used to the amenities, but this place is simply outstanding! Although our apartment was listed as a "2 Bedroom Compact" it was HUGE! An ample living room and great semi-private balcony that led to the courtyard were simply excellent. The master bedroom was spacious as well. The staff was also extremely helpful at every turn.

The location was also incredible. Simply cross the Williams Esplanade and take about 10 steps through the palms onto the most beautiful beach we'd ever seen. The Grand Mercure property also has several excellent restaurants, beach wear shop, hair salon, deli, ice cream shop, and tour agent. However, Palm Cove is a small town so inside of 20 minutes you can walk to any number of other restaurants, spas, and shops.

God willing, we will be able to travel back to Palm Cove agin some day. When we do, we will be booking a room at the Grand Mercure!

Room Tip: First floor rooms have direct access to the courtyard with the pool, jacuzzi, and BBQ grills. But a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

What a lovely resort! Spent 5 nights here and wished it could have been longer. We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment overlooking the trees and pool. The apartment itself was spotlessly clean with good quality furniture and a day bed. Its in an excellent location with the beach just across the road and all restaurants, cafes and bars very close by. It has a beautiful pool area surrounded by tall trees with barbeques interspersed within the trees. This creates a beautiful and relaxing ambience.
Would I return - in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

My wife and I spent 3 wonderful nights at the Rockford. It is located right next to the beach and just a few steps from the many resturants in Palm Cove. We thought it was very good value for money. Rooms were very clean and the staff looked after us as if we were royality.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.4 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.4 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#3 of 13 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 stars 309 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#12 of 13 in Palm Cove
4.0 of 5 stars 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
0.5 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#8 of 13 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
#7 of 13 in Palm Cove
4.0 of 5 stars 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Palm Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Palm Cove

Address: Cnr Williams Esp & Veivers Rd, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Cove
#8 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
#9 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Palm Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Apartments is situated on the beach at exclusive Palm Cove overlooking the Coral Sea perfectly positioned between two World Heritage sites - the Great Barrier Reef and the Daintree Rainforest. Just 25 minutes north of Cairns International Airport in tropical far North Queensland, the resort features a choice of luxuriously appointed studios, lofts, one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments, each with a large private balcony or courtyard. Resort facilities include several beachfront restaurants and cafes, expansive free form lagoon style swimming pool, children's pool, outdoor spa, gymnasium, pilates classes, massage and boutique shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Palm Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Hotel Palm Cove
Mercure Palm Cove
Mercure Hotel Palm Cove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Rockford Esplanade Palm Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.