We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location in tropical paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melaleuca Resort Palm Cove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Melaleuca Resort Palm Cove to your Saves list
Melaleuca Resort Palm Cove
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   85 - 93 Williams Esplanade, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb location in tropical paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

With my husband and 3 other couples, I spent a week in the Cairns area in February 2009. Initially we had booked just a few nights at the Melaleuca Resort, but we found Palm Cove to be a perfect location, and the Melaleuca such a gem, that we stayed our entire week there. Palm Cove is a quiet, charming and beautiful place to base yourself in the Cairns area. We spent our days exploring all the local sites - Cairns, Kuranda, Daintree, Port Douglas, Atherton, Mission Beach - armed with lots of info and advice from Margaret, but we always made sure we were back at the Melaleuca's fabulous pool by late afternoon for some well-deserved R&R. The rooms were very spacious and clean, and the full kitchen and in-suite laundry facilities were a welcome convenience. Having done our research before we left, we fully expected the hot, humid, wet, tropical weather, but coming from Canada, it was exciting to experience something so different from home (and after all, isn't that WHY we travel?) Palm Cove has some very luxe accommodation choices, so if you want to brag to your friends that you stayed in the poshest place in town, look elsewhere. But if you're like me and want something extra special that is clean, comfortable, welcoming and beautiful, look no further.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    84
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
51
212
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

Sorry, but we really loved this place.... one of the best accommodations we had in our month long stay in Australia.
Apartment was very clean, loved having a kitchen and laundry facilities in the unit. Absolutely loved the pool and used it a far amount because the jelly fish were in season and we found the beach swimming area closed a couple of days. Was fun to use their outdoor BBQ and we were really ready for some home cooked food after eating out for weeks in restaurants. But even if you want to eat out there are many restaurants along the small strip to eat at. We did find some restaurant to be very expensive and we were disappointed in the size of portions at these. Their is a good Indian restaurant, and also a sushi takeaway.

  • Liked — Great Value and location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

We have just returned from an around the world trip, and of all the places we have visited the Melaleuca Resort at Palm Cove is number one on our return visit list. We found the accommodation clean and comfortable and well equipped, with a great view over the tropical pool and beach.
Palm Cove is a great resort, there are a good variety of restaurants and shops, and above all else the people were warm and friendly. We had a major problem as I had an accident and was hospitalised, the help we received from Margaret and Stephen was absolutely brilliant . If you are thinking of going to this particular part of Australia, choose the Melaleuca Resort in Palm Cove, you wont be disappointed .

Jim & Christine (Suffolk)

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable and close to all amenities.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

We found the Melaleuca after some travelers we had met at a B&B in Sydney recommended it to us. At the time we were staying in a horrible hotel in Cairns and needed a relaxing vacation full of sunshine, white sandy beaches and great food. Palm Cove was just that.

The Melaleuca is centrally located along the Esplanade in the midst of Palm Cove's Spa and Restaurant area (such as the excellent Vivo). The surrounding area and beach is picturesque with an astounding number of trees and flowers. You could likely enjoy Palm Cove without a car, but there are a lot of great things to see further up the Gold Coast, so you'll likely want to rent a car in town to get here. That and you can shop for your own groceries at the Coles in Clifton Beach.

Our room at the Melaleuca was on the second floor overlooking the pool and steps away from the beach. The kitchen was well equipped and allowed us to cook the majority of our meals which is a BIG money saver in Australia. The bed was nice and soft, shower was large enough for 2, and the T.V. was a nice sized (39"?), wide-screen with satellite T.V. Last but not least, after a long period of traveling away from home an in-suite washer / dryer is a godsend! The pool was great as well.

The only downside were the VERY persistent little ants which seemed to get everywhere in the kitchen! We bought some bug spray to keep them away, but it only lasted so long.

Margaret, the manager of the Melaleuca, was great. She helped us plan out our days when we needed help and arranged for an in-suite massage for us which was a real stress-melter. She even brought us each a small plate of chocolates on Christmas day.

Other than that, make sure you're aware of the seasons in Australia. Summer is tropical storm season in Cairns / Palm Cove, and the stingers (jelly fish) are out in full force severely limiting swimming areas to those cordoned off with netting.

  • Liked — The pool, full kitchen and the beach steps away from the hotel.
  • Disliked — The ants! Little buggers got everywhere.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

We were booked into the Melaleuca Resort by our travel agent for three nights in December 2008 as part of our month long trip of a lifetime honeymoon to Australia. According to our travel agent, Melaleuca Resort is four-star accommodation (and it would seem that we paid above average prices to stay there) so we were expecting a certain standard. However, in our view, it is more like one-two star accommodation. The hotel is a stone’s throw from Palm Cove’s lovely, quiet beach (although this may have had something to do with it being Stinger season) and while the apartment itself was very well equipped the furniture was dated, the furnishings/equipment grubby/dusty and the bathroom (which doubled up as the laundry room) very, very basic with a large amount of mould and mildew on the shower – not what we were expecting. Other reviewers have mentioned recent renovation work, however, we saw no sign this in our apartment nor around the resort. Other reviewers have also commented on the managers, however, the only time we saw them was briefly at check in and check out as the front office seemed to be permanently closed although there was a doorbell to ring for assistance if necessary. The one time that we did request assistance with a minor matter, we were served by someone whom was not one of the managers and whom we felt didn’t really want to help us at all.

  • Liked — Location, well equipped apartment
  • Disliked — Furnishings/equipment basic, dated and grubby/dusty
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2008

It was our round the world honeymoon stay and we chose this place as ranked #1 in tripadvisor.com. I totally agree, although we had tiny little ants in the kitchen... The apartment was on 2nd fl, plenty of space and totally newly equipped. It faced the sea through the garden, and we could see the beautiful swiming pool, which we didn't use as we preferred to snorkle in the Reef.
I'd recommend Palm Cove to couples in their 50s/60s, or retired! It is the best place to relax and take it easy, maybe not really suitable for young couples as too relaxing. Said that, Melaleuca Resort was good indeed, I'd suggest the owners to give clients more info about the reef on their website.

  • Liked — very close to the sea
  • Disliked — ants in the kitchen
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2008

Just returned from Palm cove. What a beautiful place. Across from the beach with gorgeous tropical garden and magnificent pool. Tried many local restaurants and loved everyone of them. The people are so friendly. It was terrific to have someone at front desk who was so well informed and with a friendly smile. Thanks Margaret! It was quiet with no other visitors near our apartment we were told it wouldn't last as the busy season is just about to begin with Xmas and New Year. Luck us we had such a quiet, peacful apartment and the pool all to ourselves. The 1 bedroom apartment had everything we needed (didn't stay in the room for too long- too much to do and see). The bed was so soft and i finally found a place that had just the right pillow for me. Slept like a baby.

  • Liked — Great tropical garden, view of the ocean and comfortable bed
  • Disliked — very understanding of energy saving but need to run airconditioning all day as it is very humid and uncomfortable to walk into an extremely hot room
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.1 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#2 of 13 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 stars 309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.1 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#12 of 13 in Palm Cove
4.0 of 5 stars 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#8 of 13 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
#7 of 13 in Palm Cove
4.0 of 5 stars 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melaleuca Resort Palm Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melaleuca Resort Palm Cove

Address: 85 - 93 Williams Esplanade, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Cove
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
#4 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melaleuca Resort Palm Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Melaleuca Resort Palm Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melaleuca Hotel Palm Cove
Melaleuca Palm Cove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melaleuca Resort Palm Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.