We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard To Beat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Palm Cove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sanctuary Palm Cove to your Saves list
Sanctuary Palm Cove
5.0 of 5 Condominium   |   6 Cedar Road, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Hard To Beat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

recently returned from 10 days at Sanctuary Palm Cove. Very fortunate to have stayed in a place that fulfilled all our needs. If you are unsure about accommodation choices in palm Cove, and you have a young family, it would be hard to find anything comparable, let alone beatable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    15
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
71
63
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We'd never been to Palm Cove before and had had mixed feedback about possible places to stay. With a 2-year old and the sometimes unpredictable weather, we were looking for somewhere with a good (and heated) pool and enough space to run around if the weather was poor, which it had been in the few weeks preceeding our stay,

Sanctuary absolutely fitted the bill - a lovely large apartment overlooking paperbarks and a creek. A few minor quibbles - the internet connection was poor (and charged for) and the kitchen was missing a few basic items, but otherwise was really lovely. The pool is not as big as some of the other places in palm cove but was enough for a toddler. It is a very short walk to the beach, a playground, the patrolled area of the beach and the coffee shops / cafes of Palm Cove.

Agree with previous comments though - Palm Cove is the sort of place where not having a car could be a problem.

Room Tip: The apartments are in three separate buidlings and I think the 2 front buildings are best as they lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Just got back from my third great trip to Sanctuary. This time I went with my 4 month old baby and parents and had a great time. The owners provided a cot, and car seat and organized a Mountainbuggy for us to use for the week which made it really easy to be there with a baby.
The apartment was big enough for all of us to have a relaxing time without being on top of each other. Everything we needed was provided and the owners were really helpful with any queries we had.
We were able to cook each night as the kitchen has everything you need although the restaurants are a very short walk away but because we had a baby it was easier for us to eat in.
The three times I've stayed here I have really enjoyed it and recommend it for everyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I would hardly call Sanctuary Palm Cove a 5 star property, you definitely need a car to do anything in the area and for a self catered unit the nearest large supermarket is well out of walking distance.
The rooms are decent, even though the 'king' bed in the master bedroom was just two singles pushed together, no curtains in the lounge gives a complete lack of privacy when everyone has to walk past your room to get out of the property.
Australian tourism operators wonder why no one holidays in Australia anymore that's because the value for money at places like sanctuary palm cove just isn't there for the price they charge you can get much better in south east asia, the owner pulled down the sun shade over the pool whilst we were in the pool and was quite rude even though the wedding we were there for had booked out half their resort. I wouldn't hurry back in a rush as my money would be much better spent elsewhere

Room Tip: Rooms in Thailand are much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We returned to Sanctuary and the moment we turned in to the driveway we started feeling relaxed. Jane at reception gave us her usual warm and happy reception and was helpful during the week with her knowledge of the area. The apartment is light and spacious and very well appointed and overlooks the 'lagoon' and pool area.
What more can you ask for - a bushy, relaxing tropical setting, a very comfy bed, and then only a couple of hundred metre stroll to dinner at a large selection of restaurants in the main street in 'town'.
The pool also has a great BBQ area which we used several times.
Can't wait to get back next year!

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the lagoon and pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed here in the school holidays. Beautiful place set slightly back from the foreshore amongst gum trees. The setting was lovely and the meals area has bifold glass doors that open right up so you feel you are sitting among the birds in the trees. The units are clean and spacious and Jane in reception is wonderful and very helpful. The only thing I would change is to make the pool a little warmer and the spa heated. Otherwise ideal stay and we will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment and cannot speak highly enough of the apartment or of the complex. Our kids loved the pool and were in it at least twice a day. Apartments were very clean and well laid out, and certainly had everything we needed for self catering. Finally, we received personalised service that you would never get from a major chain. Looking forward to returning again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.6 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.4 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#2 of 13 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#11 of 13 in Palm Cove
4.0 of 5 stars 396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#8 of 13 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
#7 of 13 in Palm Cove
4.0 of 5 stars 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Palm Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Palm Cove

Address: 6 Cedar Road, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanctuary Palm Cove 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary Palm Cove offers you the most spacious one, two and three bedroom luxury apartments you will find, all surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens and overlooking our natural lagoon. Sanctuary Palm Cove's apartments were architecturally designed to capture natural light and ocean breezes, they are also fully screened and air-conditioned for your comfort. Your apartment also has lift access and undercover basement car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Sanctuary Palm Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Palm Cove Hotel Palm Cove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanctuary Palm Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.