We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To die for. Shame about the Wifi.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Beach Club & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Peppers Beach Club & Spa to your Saves list
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   123 Williams Esplanade, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“To die for. Shame about the Wifi.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Arrived at peppers and was wowed. Superb looking hotel. We stated for 4 nights, had a ground floor 2 bed lagoon apartment with jacuzzi, bbq etc. Living area spacious & kitchen well equipped. Beds mega comfortable. Swim up bar, excellent food & fabulous breakfasts. Shame about the Wifi. Not free & poor connections. That was only negative!

Room Tip: We were in Oz for 4 weeks so apartment with washing machine & kitchen worked well for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear paul_marmaris_12,

Thank you for your feedback.

Our WIFI is under review!

Please come back soon.

Best regards,

Chris & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    300
    96
    24
    21
See reviews for
252
387
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at Peppers for 3 days in Feb 2013 for our honeymoon. We booked a Penthouse Spa suite and had the most amazing time. Everyone in the hotel was lovely, friendly and always greeted us.

We had a little issue with our spa not working. They quickly organised to change our room and even sent us a cheese platter for the inconvenience. The issue was quickly dealt with and they were very apologetic.

The resort was very beautiful and we loved the pool.

Side note for people booking the hotel though. When we were there the swim up pool bar was closed. We asked why and they said it wasn't busier enough to have it running during the week. We were a little disappointed as this was one of the reasons we picked this resort. So something to keep in mind.

Other than that we were really happy with our stay and would recommend this resort.

We then went on to 5 nights at Peppers Port Douglas but we would recommend the Palm Cove one alot better for many reasons.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Luana82,

Thank you for your feeback we appreciate your comments.

Occasionally the weather plays a part when deciding to open the pool bar or not, our team members always complete regular service checks and frequently take orders.

I am sorry the bar was not open during your visit.

Best regards,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We Stayed at Peppers Palm Cove for 9 days in January and really enjoyed our stay. This was our first trip to Northern Queensland, and wow what a beautiful place. We took my partners two teenage boys and they had a great time. They loved the pool, and so did we, especially the swim up bar! Staff were all really friendly. We had a two bedroom suite with spa bath, excellent rooms clean & well equipped and spa bath was fantastic, although a little tricky to control, we shot water everywhere a few times, much to the boys amusement, I presume this is why they are out on the balcony! The serenity pool is lovely, and very quiet and I had a few treatments at the spa, which although a little pricier than Melbourne prices, was still a nice pampering experience. Breakfast was included and there was a very good selection of choice. Palm cove itself is very quaint with a few nice restaurants, you can get a lovely meal at peppers, but its not really aimed at kids, so we went to the pizza place at the small shopping centre a few times and there is a Greek restaurant and a another italian place we went too which was very good. If your looking for buzzing nightlife then this isn't the place, it's a little too laid black for that, this is a place to unwind and relax, and great for young kids. There wasn't a great deal for the teenagers to do, but then we hired a car and took them out for the day to cairns and surrounding area and of course went snorkelling at the Great Barrier Reef, which was the highlight of our holiday and then getting to hold a koala at the night zoo, which is worth a trip. Overall was a really lovely place to stay and I would go back tomorrow!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear MissM404,

Thank you for your feedback.

Please come back soon for your second visit to the Tropcs!

Kind regards,

Chris & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We had booked sea temple but were dissapointed about the room and pool area. We stayed 2 days and were ready to go back home to Sydney.
We checked out and went to peppers and did not want to leave. Walked around and checked out every single property. Peppers is amazing. The best by far.
Please don't do any more research or reading. Go to peppers palm cove. You will loooove it.
By the way I have stayed in many many 5 star hotels. Peppers is one of the best.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Saaco,

Thank you so much, we look forward to your return as soon as possible!

Best regards,

Chris & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Just back from 4 days at Peppers, Palm Cove. We left the kids at home for our first holiday alone in a decade and our 20th wedding anniversary! This was our first trip to Cairns, so picking a hotel was a bit of guess work but what a joy to get it right the first time. We'll never forget it because everything fell into place. The staff were genuine, patient and helpful to a fault, and they all enjoyed working there, be they front-of-house, pool guy, room attendants, management. Their natural and agreeable way just set the tone: You're the honoured guest, even in the less expensive rooms such as ours, and they're happy if you're happy. To be honest, though, I cannot imagine working in a more gorgeous setting. The weather for us was sunny and breezy. The nights were mild and there are plenty of dinner options in Palm Cove. At the airport I struck up a conversation with a local and I asked 'where should we dine?' Her reply says it all. 'If you're staying in Palm Cove, you don't have to go anywhere!' But even more than that, I think we had chanced upon a real gem. As I said, we don't get away much, so when we do we want to make it special. That's why we definitely want to return to Peppers, Palm Cove.

Tips (from unseasoned travellers):
- Get a package incl breakfast, it's worth it!
- If you are unsure about activities that catch your attention, ask the staff. they were spot-on for us!
- If you dine elsewhere, return to the Lime+Pepper restaurant, especially for the mousse!
- Swim in the serenity pool in the evening or early morning, it's a little piece of heaven
- Speak to reception about snorkelling at Green Island, it is a win. Do take lots of your own bottled water, though.
- Make light work of getting around FNQ: take your (rent-a-) car. Peppers provides underground parking, we were able to park our car directly under our suite.

Room Tip: The resort is a large complex of six or eight connected buildings. Some spa suites at ground and fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Owen M,

Thank you for your kind feedback.
The team here do create a special feel and I am glad you noticed that, I will pass it on!
Come back to the Tropics as soon as you can...Chef's new menu has some more surprises...

Best regards,

Chris & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We just returned from Peppers after a 5 night stay with myself, husband and active 3 yr old. We booked a private apartment, not through Peppers itself. We are a professional couple who wanted to relax, make use of the pool bar, and watch our toddler make the most of the fabulous beach style pool, and this resort did not disappoint. We stayed in a 2 bedroom penthouse apartment (a studio with balcony spa + 1 bedroom apartment) which featured a private rooftop terrace with jacuzzi and bbq. Parents note: there is no internal access to the rooftop, so you need to leave the apartment and go up a flight of stairs - not ideal if you are wanting to enjoy the terrace after the kids go to bed and I should have investigated this before booking. The rooms are modern and well equipped. All of our interaction with the Pepper's staff was wonderful - very friendly. I underestimated just how humid it would be at this time of year, so relied on airconditioning. The Surf Club is a couple of doors up and the meals are great with the bonus of aircon (which many of the restaurants don't have). Our days consisted of arriving at the pool around 8am, swimming until 11.30, toddler and hubby napped while I sat by the Serenity Pool (gorgeous adults pool), more family swimming in the afternoon, dinner at the surf club or other restaurants close by), then another swim after dinner. We did a day trip to Green Island and the snorkelling was fantastic - even our son was in the ocean snorkelling. I'd recommend hiring a car from the airport for the duration of your trip as we used it to and from the airport and to and from cairns for the green island trip. We organised a babysitter one night so hubby and I could have a night out and we dined at Temple of Tastes at Sea Temple which is nearby - the meal was superb and it was a good chance to check out their facilities. While it looked lovely and we could foresee staying there in future, Peppers still has the best pool for our needs. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms opening directly onto the pool are ideal for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear SK,

Thank you for your great feedback.

Kind regards,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We are a few days into a 10 night break and let me start from the outset by saying we are enjoying our stay very much. We turned up well before check-in and as there was low occupancy and our allocated room had not been in use the night before we were directed there straight away. Our one bedroom apartment in the serenity wing is lovely and spacious leading from a balcony ( with BBQ) straight out to the beautiful tranquility swimming pool.
With a full kitchen and laundry it is perfect for longer stays such as ours and had a small sitting room off the main bedroom perfect for our 4 yr old to bunk down in.
The apartment is generally well furnished although showing signs of wear and tear. Many of the soft furnishings could do with a jolly good wash, the sofa cushioning, throw cushions and bed cushions are all removable so I'd venture the original idea was to change and wash them each time a new guest was coming in. The walls and doors could also do with some extra attention as there are many easily cleanable marks and grimy areas which seem to have been ignored by successive cleaning staff. Trifling though these points are, the hotel boasts a 5 star rating which in itself leads to an expectation of certain standards being met throughout.
The common areas, landscaping and pools are lovely and well tended, the service is great, the staff friendly and helpful.
The buffet breakfast is adequate, not brilliant, but does the job. That is, other than the coffee. It is awful, truly truly awful. Every morning you watch as new guests try it, trying not to laugh as at first disappointment, then horror registers on their face. It comes pre-made in an urn and is often at best lukewarm. We have asked for some fresh to be made and although hotter it is still just dreadful. You can however ask for 'proper' made to order coffee, and this is actually very nice, but you do have to pay extra for it. I've stayed in accommodation all over the world from very basic gites in France to some amazingly wonderful 5 star hotels in Europe, Asia and Sydney; Peppers here and in Port Douglas are the only places I've ever stayed where I've had to pay extra if I want a decent coffee to go with my breakfast.
All in all it is a very comfortable place to take some time out, with one exception, the coffee

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher N, General Manager at Peppers Beach Club & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Claraf,

Thank you for the feedback. We appreciate it!

Kind regards,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Peppers Beach Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Beach Club & Spa

Address: 123 Williams Esplanade, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Palm Cove
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
#5 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Cove
#7 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers Beach Club & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Beach Club & Spa is set in the heart of charming Palm Cove village in Tropical North Queensland offering the perfect place to indulge in tropical relaxation. This idyllic intimate beachfront destination is situated at the start of the beautiful coastal drive to Port Douglas and majestic Daintree Rainforest and only 20 minutes from Cairns airport. The resort offers a range of accommodation, from elegant suites and spa rooms, to one and two bedroom penthouses with private rooftop terraces, BBQs and a plunge pool or jacuzzi. Each suite has a fully equipped kitchen and laundrette and takes full advantage of its surroundings with views to the ocean, pools, gardens or mountain ranges beyond. All rooms are serviced daily and offer guests free WIFI (up to 500MB), free movies, TV, FOXTEL, in-room safe, fridge, minibar and tea and coffee facilities. Our Serenity Wing has a selection of suites offering entertainment areas with gas barbecues on the balcony and a private rainforest pool. To achieve total relaxation you won't ever need to leave Peppers Beach Club & Spa. The beach lagoon takes pride of place, gently lapping against a white sandy beach surrounded by swaying palm trees. Swim up to the pool bar or dine overlooking the Coral Sea. Other diversions include tennis, lap pool, gymnasium, boutique shopping and the Salt Beauty & Spa, with its signature massages, revitalising facial treatments and soothing body treatments. Lime & Pepper Restaurant offers a combination of eccentric cuisine incorporating distinct flavours of the tropics utilising a variety of local produce. The visual appeal of the chef's creations complements Lime & Pepper's unique beachside location and uninterrupted views of stunning Palm Cove. The restaurant is open seven days for breakfast, lunch and dinner. On the Rocks Cafe Pool Bar is open daily for in-house guests (seasonal & weather dependant). Venture outside of the resort and will find yourself in the heart of Palm Cove. There's something for everyone, with an abundance of activities ranging from reef tours, scuba diving and deep sea fishing adventures to white water rafting, evening dinner cruises and rainforest walks. Embark on a day trip into Cairns or explore the wonders of the Daintree, Mossman Gorge and Cape Tribulation. Ride the famous Scenic Railway train to Kuranda or visit Tjapukai Aboriginal Cultural Park. The resort is perfect for a memorable romantic interlude or second honeymoon, family hideaway, wedding, birthday or a well deserved break from the rigours of modern life. If you elect to pay your incidental account by credit card or other card using a credit payment facility, Mantra Group reserve the right to charge a payment processing fee in order to cover its associated administrative costs. Payments made by MasterCard / Visa / Amex / Diners will incur a 2% surcharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Peppers Beach Club & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Beach Club Hotel Palm Cove
Peppers Beach Club And Spa
Peppers Beach Hotel
Peppers Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Beach Club & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.