We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove to your Saves list
Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Coral Coast Drive, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia (Formerly Novotel Palm Cove Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Palm Cove
Sydney
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is my second time staying at the Sebel and was delighted. This time we stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment which was spacious with a sofa bed in the lounge and a king in the bedroom. However the kitchen wasn't a full one like the 3 bedroom apartment I stayed in last time as it doesn't have an oven, just a microwave. The pool is still nice and even though the Novotel is now the Grand Chancellor you can still use the pool with crocodile slide. The staff at the Grand Chancellor were very friendly and professional and go the extra mile to make you feel welcome even though you are staying at the Sebel. The young lady on reception on April 7th at around 8pm was very helpful on check in (as you check in there if you arrive after 5pm). My plane arrived late so she drove me and my online shopping over to the Sebel and even helped me carry it up to my room. (5 star service). I went over to the Grand Chancellor a few times to buy some beers and cocktails by the pool and found all the staff so friendly and polite especially one of the managers who was there late 'Sam', he was extremely courteous and offered his assistance anytime we needed even though he knew we were at the Sebel. Before this I'd never consider staying at a Grand Chancellor but because of Sam I now will consider staying with this brand. Also I must mention Cora who is over at the Sebel who is also very professional , helpful and friendly. I actually expected someone grumpy being by themselves most of the day with exception of a couple of cleaners, but I was very surprised seeing Cora with a big smile who is self motivated and a true leader who may be over looked, I heard her telling one of her staff, that for every complaint made, you need to make up for it by doing 10 good things over and beyond and how people remember and focus on the negatives. This is so true and what I teach my managers as well. Being a senior manager in a large company myself I have a keen eye for talent and can see Cora and Sam being a great asset further up the ladder. Keep up the good work and I'll be back soon after the re-furb and look forward to the BBQ area as well as everyone else has mentioned on trip advisor.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    21
    15
    9
    8
See reviews for
31
21
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aussie in Newquay
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

from the moment we checked in the staff were so helpful and really made us feel welcome. The property is beautiful, understated charm. The room was in top conditions with everything we needed for a wonderful holiday. The two areas of the hotel are spread out well so that you don't feel like you are too close to any other holiday maker. The back pool was especially nice for couples as it was quieter. The front pool is great for kids with plenty of shade over the swimming areas and different areas with different depths for all ages. The restaurant was lovely, great decor, lots of outdoor seating and the food was delicious. Would highly recommend a stay here. I will be back for sure

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel itself is OK ish and has a nice outdoor pool, however this is ruined by the poor, unprofessional service offered by the staff. At check-in we were told we were entitled to complimentary breakfast during our 4 night stay. So we enjoyed breakfast for the first 2 days. After the second day we were told that was a mistake in our booking and must pay a fee for breakfast...which was fair enough but then they tried to charge us for those first 2 days that we ate breakfast!...even though we were told at check-in that we have complimentary breakfast.

The manager Krishna was very rude and went about it all the wrong way. We weren't fussed about the breakfast but the way the staff and manager handled the situation was very unprofessional. They made us feel like we were lying to them about the complimentary breakfast which we were offered at check-in.

I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff were attentive and the grounds lovely with a great pool for the kids including a crocodile water slide and shallow areas. Fish ponds at reception with giant barramundi and small rainforest boardwalk are fun to explore with kids especially at night. Location good for large resort with beach, pier and restaurant's easy walking distance. The rooms need some love but good large size and balcony. Beds and pillows are all a bit lumpy and uneven, tv reception isn't the best, bathrooms could do with a makeover especially the mirror and there was a broken toilet seat in the room we stayed. Overall good location and pool for a affordable family mini break in Palm Cove

Room Tip: There are 2 pools so specify kids pool if you want a closer location and ground floor rooms open out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Our organisation recently held a Conference at this hotel and we cannot fault the service we received. All staff, from the hotel manager, to the grounds people, to the cleaners, to the wait staff, were very accommodating at all times.

Our rooms were clean, spacious and very reasonably priced. The standard of food was excellent.

We thoroughly recommend this hotel as a Conference venue.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

Wonderful hotel. We booked this last minute and couldn't ask for a more peaceful place to stay. Excellent service. Would definitely return. Hotel is close to all the attractions. Daintree and crocodile farm is just up the road. Choice beach.

Stayed January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove

Address: Coral Coast Drive, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia (Formerly Novotel Palm Cove Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#10 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
#13 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove is set in 45 hectares of lush tropical gardens, just 5 minutes walk from the beach, or the charming village of Palm Cove. The accommodation includes large resort rooms with two double beds and lounge, 1 and 2 bedroom suites and superior suites with cooking facilities. The resort facilities include a restaurant, bar, 2 swimming pools (one with kids slide), complimentary internet stations. Access to the Palm Cove Country Club 9-hold golf course, tennis and squash courts, gym & sauna is provided at discount rates.Conference & Catering facilities specialising in everything from large residential conventions through to intimate boutique Weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Palm Cove Hotel Palm Cove
Accor Palm Cove
Palm Cove Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.