We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Manager” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove to your Saves list
Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Coral Coast Drive, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia (Formerly Novotel Palm Cove Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Palm Cove
Wollongong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Brilliant Manager”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The manager was extremely helpful. He went out of his way to give us a lift in the middle of a tropical storm. We cannot thank him enough for his kindness. His assistant also went out of her way to see if she could help us in anyway.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    18
    12
    9
    6
See reviews for
25
19
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have been going to this resort for more than 20 years - there have been good owners and ones who were underwhelming. I am impressed by GCH who took over a year ago. Their staff are friendly and competent and the overall ambiance is vastly improved. The rooms are clean - the grounds impressive and the location ideal. Pool is fantastic - a piece of paradise that I wholeheartedly recommend - looking forward to next November!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns Region, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Hotel Grand Chancellor is in a beautiful location not far from the Palm Cove beach. It's quite colonial looking with manicured gardens and a golf course nearby. The staff were friendly and helpful and our room was clean and comfortable. There is a pool near the restaurant with a crocodile slide that looked like lots of fun. We didn't have kids with us but would definitely have jumped in there if we had. There is also another pool in the complex which is much quieter and kid free if that's what you prefer. All in all we had a lovely time and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the superior room for an extra $25
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The bed was well past its useby, when we sat on it it hit the base, extremely uncomfortable. The airconditioning was hopeless and the room became so hot and stuffy we were forced to sleep under wet towels. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were impressed with our stay at the Grand Chancellor. The staff were excellent and the room was clean and of good value. The main pool was busy with kids but the pool across the road was a real saviour. It is a short 5 min walk into town. The room had a big tv and fridge and a good bathroom. Our 'king' size bed was two singles though which separated after the first night which we didn't enjoy. Otherwise we absolutely loved Palm Cove. Smaller but far better than Port Douglas in our opinion.

Room Tip: Rooms around the main pool are quite noisy. The rooms across the road are better for a bit of peace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nhulunbuy, Northern Territory, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel Grand Chancellor was a wonderful place to get married. We could not fault the service and the planning of our wedding. The fig tree was amazing venue to have our ceremony.
The hotel room was nice however the mattress was too soft and we had trouble sleeping by the 2nd night. We had quite a few family members and friends stay and generally they were happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Excellent value for money (this is palm cove, after all). Staff are very friendly and so attentive. You could say it's 5 star service without the 5 star price. Our room was spacious and the breakfast was delicious. I would definitely return.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krishna R, Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Mavericky R,

Thank you for this glowing recommendation of Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove!

I really appreciate your kind mention of our staff and the service provided – they do work hard to ensure our guests comfort so it is wonderful to have that acknowledged by a happy guest. “5 star service without the 5 star price” is just a fantastic comment to receive – thank you so much!

Again thank you for sharing your feedback, we look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Krishna Ramadugu
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove

Address: Coral Coast Drive, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia (Formerly Novotel Palm Cove Resort)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#13 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove is set in 45 hectares of lush tropical gardens, just 5 minutes walk from the beach, or the charming village of Palm Cove. The accommodation includes large resort rooms with two double beds and lounge, 1 and 2 bedroom suites and superior suites with cooking facilities. The resort facilities include a restaurant, bar, 2 swimming pools (one with kids slide), complimentary internet stations. Access to the Palm Cove Country Club 9-hold golf course, tennis and squash courts, gym & sauna is provided at discount rates.Conference & Catering facilities specialising in everything from large residential conventions through to intimate boutique Weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Palm Cove Hotel Palm Cove
Accor Palm Cove
Palm Cove Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grand Chancellor Palm Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.