We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room overlooking the pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Reef Retreat Palm Cove

Save Saved
You added The Reef Retreat Palm Cove to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   10 - 14 Harpa St, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 hotels in Palm Cove
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great room overlooking the pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our first visit to Palm Cove and we are glad we chose the Reef Retreat which is more of a boutique resort than typical medium rise resorts, I suggest is ideally suited to couples especially the pool, it is close to the beach and shops, the pool is heated and not overly large but nice in any case.

Room Tip: One bedroom superior spa suite is the best choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Many thanks for posting your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back one day.

Clive & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    48
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
35
130
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

nice studio, with everything you need.
clean and functional.
close to the beach and restaurants.
the people at the reception are great, always happy to help and very very competent.
even if it's not a hotel, the room looked like a luxury hotel accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Mary R, Owners/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to share your kind thoughts following your recent stay we appreciate your comments.

Clive & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

So glad we stayed here, what a treasure of a place. After reading other trip advisor reviews we booked a pool view room as recommended and were pleased we did.

Our room comprised a large bathroom with double spa bath, a very comfy king bed and flat screen tv and a lovely outdoor kitchen/balcony area with table and chairs, microwave, sink, fridge, toaster and jug. Made our own breakfast and enjoyed sitting out there watching the activity in the pool and spa below.

The Retreat is just off the beachfront (which is sometimes very windy but not at the Retreat) and only steps to the shops etc. Clive has a drinks fridge in reception from which we were able to purchase wine and beer which was very handy.

Loved the twinkling lights each evening - would most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: A pool view room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Clive & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My daughter and I stayed in July 2012. Despite not having twin beds as requested, we had two sets of bedding on a king size bed and slept brilliantly. Clive was expert at getting us on trips at short notice - even those that were fully booked (thank you, Clive)! Our outdoor kitchenette overlooked the pool and it's night-time twinkling lights. It was far enough off the front not to be noisy but just minutes walk to the shops and restaurants. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to assist with your tours. We regret being unable to provide twin bedding at the time however it is good to hear that the solution found suited you and you had restful nights.
We are able to supply twin bedding in some apartment types however the apartment type chosen via an online booking agent all have king size beds. We have bought this to the attention of the site concerned and hope that the correct bedding information will be listed soon.
Thank you for staying and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
Clive & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Having read the rave reviews on Trip Advisor, we had high expectations, despite the low price tag of this accommodation.

The rooms are well equipped, with a nice bathroom with spa bath, a very comfortable king bed, and pleasant outdoor kitchen/dining area. However, the room was little cramped.

The pool area (which includes a very nice spa pool) is nice enough, in a rain forest type setting, but has limited sunbeds. We were a little disappointed that there was no cafe/bar on site, from which to purchase drinks whilst at the pool. This would be a welcome addition to this venue.

In summary, the Reef Retreat is a perfectly acceptable apartment complex, but in our case, we wished we just spent few more $s and chosen a superior resort.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your couple of days here in Palm Cove for us and others.

We are sorry that your weekend did not get off to a good start as you arrived very early in what is a very busy time of year and appeared unhappy that the room was not available, however we did manage to check you in a few hours before actual check in time although you did have to wait 45 minutes which clearly upset you.

We have no control over the rankings on TripAdvisor and are saddened that you had formed unrealistic expectations of what a 4 star self catering apartment in Palm Cove could offer which is unfortunate. As you mention in your latest assessment the aparments are well equipped,clean and comfortable and we find that guests usually enjoy this together with the benefit of having their own kitchenettes so that they have the option of storing their own food and drink which can be consumed on site. We also have a liquor license and sell a comprehensive selection of beer and wine on site however as we are only a small family run operation we do not have the resources to serve drinks by the pool.
Thank you for staying at The Reef Retreat.

Clive & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We spent 2 nights here in August. Unsure where to book we took a punt on this place and we were not disappointed. Lovely, well equipped, modern, spotless and great value for money. Its not beach front but is only a few steps away. The room had a lovely little kitchenette so if you wanted to have nibbles and a wine (or cook in) before going out for the evening, it was perfect.
We would definitely stay here again rather than pay twice as much for a 5* resort - you just don't need to.
Lastly on another note, one night for dinner we ate at The Reef House, it was beautiful - great service and gorgeous food. Enjoy ....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience here at The Reef Retreat with the TripAdvisor community, it is good to hear that you enjoyed your brief visit and we very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Clive & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

A gem of a resort with lovely rooms and very helpful owners. The BBQ area is exceptional with every tool, condiment & even paper towels provided. It is a very short walk to a host of restaurants and the beach. A good place to relax after days touring the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive and Mary R, Owner/Managers at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for your kind review, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at The Reef Retreat and pleased that you made good use of the BBQ, we love the photograph that you uploaded!

Clive & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Reef Retreat Palm Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Retreat Palm Cove

Address: 10 - 14 Harpa St, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Cove
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
#2 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reef Retreat Palm Cove 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reef Retreat is an intimate 4 star boutique resort style complex of 37 one and two bedroom self-contained studios, suites and spa suites with well-appointed king and twin rooms. Apartments offer kitchenettes and living/dining areas opening onto large private balconies where guests can enjoy views over the pool or tropical gardens. Located in a rainforest setting just a 30 second stroll to the idyllic palm fringed beach in the centre of Palm Cove, the Reef Retreat is peaceful and secluded, ideal for relaxation by our heated swimming and spa pool surrounded by majestic Melaleuca trees, palms and exotic plants and birds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Reef Retreat Palm Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Retreat Hotel Palm Cove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.