We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in Palm Cove” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Reef Retreat Palm Cove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Reef Retreat Palm Cove to your Saves list
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 - 14 Harpa St, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Perfection in Palm Cove”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We just returned home to sunny Melbourne from a seven night stay at The Reef Retreat in Palm Cove, which was a "home away from home". The week spent in TNQ for my B.F and I was to be really special as for our anniversary he became my fiance. The Reef Retreat was the perfect place. The gardens, massive trees, tropical flowers and quiet environment make for picture perfect surrounds. Seeing other big name resorts from the Esplanade I really felt the Reef Retreat offered something really lovely and unique.

We were upgraded on arrival to a Superior Spa Suite that from our balcony overlooked the gorgeous pool deck as well as the misty mountain range; divine place to make breakfast or have pre-dinner drinks. The room (room 30/Flinders) was incredibly spacious, well appointed, clean and fresh (for TNQ zero bugs, rust and must is no easy feat from our experience!) and a massive bed... Amazing for the price we paid per night in a resort town.

Walking distance to everything you need but one street back which is great for noise and wind buffering. Tour desk where you don't get ripped off or sold something you do not want. Refreshing!

Great spa and pool - sitting in the spa on twilight feeling like you're in the middle of the forrest itself, private, quiet, stars poking through the trees was truly romantic...

I have stayed in five star hotels three times the cost and budget motels for about the same price per night; The Reef Retreat stands out as one of the best places I have stayed in as it met every one of our expectations, exceeding some, and was brilliant value for money.

Above all, Clive, Mary and Sarah were just sensational. Friendly, helpful, knowledgable and really want to help guest get the best experience possible during their stay. They made our time away in paradise absolutely perfect. Thank you - we will never forget it and will be back next year!

Room Tip: For a couple on a budget, ask for room 30 Flinders.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wonderabout, Manager at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Thank you for your kind review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Clive Mary & Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    65
    16
    2
    4
See reviews for
56
185
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed at the Reef Retreat on a four day trip to Palm Cove. The positives and negatives of the stay were:

Positive: The Reef Retreat is in a fantastic location, slightly off the esplanade which is beneficial if you have days of high winds which we did. The owners were very helpful and the accommodation reasonably priced.
Negatives: We had a studio ground floor apartment which didn't allow for much privacy (unless the front curtins were closed) and the apartment was quite dark. We self catered a little and found that some of the utensils were dirty and the cupboards smelt very musty. The pool area was lovely but it was difficult to get a sunny spot as a result of the overhead trees.

I'm not sure I would go back to Palm Cove, I much preferred Port Douglas but this is obviously just a personal opinion!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wonderabout, Manager at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you found our location to your liking but saddened to hear that you did not enjoy your room. It is disappointing that you chose not to bring the issues to our attention at the time as we would have welcomed the opportunity to address them. With regard to the pool area, The Reef Retreat is unique in that it is in a rainforest setting a few metres from the beach, because of the trees we enjoy a wide variety of birds and wildlife together with shade and as this is the tropics most of our guests find this aspect a welcome relief, we also heat our pool for the comfort of our guests.

Clive & Mary Ratcliffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Our family spent five nights at the Reef Retreat and had a wonderful time. The pool and grounds are just what you would expect for a tropical hotel, and made for a lovely view from the table each morning and evening. Also, the rooms are clean and the kitchen decently appointed. We had a roll away tucked into a corner of the room for our daughter and that made the space a little tight, but we knew that going in. The family that runs the hotel are very friendly and helpful. They made great recommendations for things to do and made the bookings on the spot for us. While in the area we visited both Cairns and Port Douglas and felt that Palm Cove was a much better place to stay. Even though it is a resort town, Palm Cove is smaller, more homey, and less touristy than the other two towns.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

we stayed here for four nights and it had everything you could wish for, room was big with great facilities, spotlessy clean, fantastic private pool area. We will definately go back there and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: we just booked a standard room but it felt like an upgrade because it had everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

This little boutique hotel was a little paradise. Close to the delightful beach at Palm Cove and close to the equally delightful Casmar restaurant, this was truly a fantastic place to chill out in. The rooms were spacious with a good sized balcony, the staff were very friendly and couldn't be more more helpful. Do yourself a favour when visiting the northern beaches of Cairns, stay here for a few days, you certainly won't regret it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamplona, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed for four days in this Palm Cove hotel. Is a small two floor building with an individual entrance for each room. The kitchen equipment was complete, the room decoration very nice. Sleeping in its enormous bed was great!
Overall we loved the hotel. As we stayed there in may, when we return for our day trips, the air was a little bit freeze to use the outside pool and spa.
If you are travelling with children or are looking for a romantic and relaxing stay this is a good option.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wonderabout, Manager at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Thank you for your review Amaika we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Reef Retreat but sorry to learn that you did not use the pool and spa. " Winter" in Palm Cove is usually a non event, we sometimes have a few cool evenings and that is it, however this year has been unusual in that we have had lower evening and day temperatures for the time of year, having said that we heat our pool and spa so that the pool is kept around 28 degrees celcius and the spa at 36 degrees, we can only think that the cool air temperature put you off trying the pool and spa which is a pity as you would have had a nice surprise. Thank you for staying and we appreciate your feedback.
Clive & Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

The Reef Retreat is nice. Clean rooms and big beds. It is also very near the beach but not facing the beach. This has the advantage of not getting the road noise and also not getting the wind, but the outlook of the rooms is not so good. Our room faced a whole lot of other apartments, so it was not very private.
The manager was really good and very helpful.
The top floor did not get an internet connection, so we had to come right downstairs to get email.
Palm Cove is a lovely place to have a very relaxing holiday but remember that the sun is off the beach by 3pm. Heaps of really good eating places.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wonderabout, Manager at The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Thank you for your review, the room type booked in this case is our lead in room the standard spa suite, this room type does not have a view as such and this consideration is reflected in the room rate. Our Superior Spa Suites are identical apartments however they have views over the pool and gardens. A number of years ago another property was constructed infront of the 6 Standard Spa suites, the result was a limited view available from these apartments as the rear of the new building can been seen through the Palm Trees. This room type has been fitted with full wooden shutters to ensure privacy. With regard to internet connection, some guests with small screen appliances have difficulty picking up the wireless signal due to ariel size in the small screen, into their room in this part of the property as was the case here however the undercover BBQ area has a strong signal and is a short distance away, this fact was bought to the attention of the guest when the inquiry about internet access was made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.2 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.1 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#12 of 13 in Palm Cove
4.0 of 5 stars 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#8 of 13 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
#7 of 13 in Palm Cove
4.0 of 5 stars 912 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Palm Cove Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Retreat Palm Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Retreat Palm Cove

Address: 10 - 14 Harpa St, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reef Retreat Palm Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reef Retreat is an intimate 4 star boutique resort style complex of 37 one and two bedroom self-contained studios, suites and spa suites with well-appointed king and twin rooms. Apartments offer kitchenettes and living/dining areas opening onto large private balconies where guests can enjoy views over the pool or tropical gardens. Located in a rainforest setting just a 30 second stroll to the idyllic palm fringed beach in the centre of Palm Cove, the Reef Retreat is peaceful and secluded, ideal for relaxation by our heated swimming and spa pool surrounded by majestic Melaleuca trees, palms and exotic plants and birds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Reef Retreat Palm Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Retreat Hotel Palm Cove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.