We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience. Highly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Reef Retreat Palm Cove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Reef Retreat Palm Cove to your Saves list
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 - 14 Harpa St, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent experience. Highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

I found the Reef House on your website, and could not have been happier with our stay.
The owners are wonderful, super helpful. Heated pool, beautiful grounds, lovely setting,
we had a great four days in Palm Cove!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    67
    16
    2
    4
See reviews for
57
187
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

Just wanted all to know what an amazing place the Reef Retreat in Palm Cove is .. Great location, spacious rooms (with everything you need), and the hosts (Clive and Mary) are most accommodating - they would do anything to assist making our stay better. Some people think this area is still affected by the cyclone / floods but it is picture perfect and well worth coming up to relax on the pristne beaches!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

One bedroom unit was quite spacious and very comfortable. Location is great - around the corner to the beach and yet very quiet and peaceful. It's almost like the property sits in a tropical rainforest. Can't say enough about the owners, Clive and Mary, who were so very helpful with information and also in arranging some trips and transportation for us. We would not hesitate to return as we were more than satisfied with all aspects of our stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

I really loved staying at the Reef Retreat. The location, service, cleanliness, courtesy and friendliness was faultless.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

We stayed here for three days in April and booked a two bedroomed apartment to accommodate my husband and myself and also my sister who was joining us for a few days in QLD. In fact we had two apartments with a link door which was ideal as it allowed each of us to come and go as we pleased without disturbing the other party (particularly handy if one's sister likes to go running at 6.00 am every day!).

The larger apartment had a fully fitted kitchen with oven, hob, microwave, toaster, dishwasher, large fridge etc. The smaller had a kitchenette with hob, fridge, microwave and toaster. There is also a gas bbq on the patio area in the grounds. Both apartments had good sized terraces which accommodated a dining table and chairs, and the larger terrace also had space for a sunlounger. Dining outside on the terrace listening to the birds (parakeets and so on) in the luscious tropical landscaped gardens was an absolute delight. The only slight problem we had in the apartments was the aircon could be a bit noisy but we managed to cope with it. In-room safes would have been nice but there is a safe deposit facility at reception.

The property is ideally situated about three minutes walk from the beach which turned out to be a godsend as the property was sheltered from the bracy winds coming from the shore during the time we were there whereas beachfront properties did look a bit windswept to say the least! The property has a swimming pool (which was quite deep) and spa bath as well as loungers round the pool. It was quiet whilst we were there apart from one evening when a group held a pool party but sensibly this did not go on all night.

There are plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance and Clive was very helpful in providing tips on where to go and what to do etc. If visiting Palm Cove, you may not need a car as you can walk everywhere but obviously if you have transport you have more flexibility for trips and visiting larger supermarkets and shopping areas. Clearly Clive has a lot of knowledge on tours etc but it is also easy to book your own directly if you prefer to do so.

We really enjoyed our stay there and would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Just discuss your priorities with Clive
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

We visited this spot for a wedding and found it delightfully nestled in the trees with a canopyed deck for group cooking and eating. Our wedding party stayed about a week and this place accomodated us all very well. A great spot to have a group visit.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

We had picked The Reef Retreat as the location for our Wedding in Feb 2011 and could have not hoped for anything better. The apartments were ideally located in Palm Cove and were clean, comfortable and the owners could not have been more helpful. The apartments are 2mins from the beach and there were plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. We would definitely recommend The Reef Retreat.
James and Hannah

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.2 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.1 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#12 of 13 in Palm Cove
4.0 of 5 stars 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#8 of 13 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
#7 of 13 in Palm Cove
4.0 of 5 stars 918 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Palm Cove Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Retreat Palm Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Retreat Palm Cove

Address: 10 - 14 Harpa St, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reef Retreat Palm Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reef Retreat is an intimate 4 star boutique resort style complex of 37 one and two bedroom self-contained studios, suites and spa suites with well-appointed king and twin rooms. Apartments offer kitchenettes and living/dining areas opening onto large private balconies where guests can enjoy views over the pool or tropical gardens. Located in a rainforest setting just a 30 second stroll to the idyllic palm fringed beach in the centre of Palm Cove, the Reef Retreat is peaceful and secluded, ideal for relaxation by our heated swimming and spa pool surrounded by majestic Melaleuca trees, palms and exotic plants and birds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Reef Retreat Palm Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef Retreat Hotel Palm Cove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reef Retreat Palm Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.