We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent honeymoon location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 Williams Esplanade, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia (Formerly Sebel Reef House)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Palm Cove
Bristol
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent honeymoon location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Reef House for a five night stay during our honeymoon in August 2007. Prior to booking our honeymoon we undertook a lot of research with continued visits to this web site and following our visit I am once again surprised by the negative comments made by some people.

The Reef House was excellent and offered a real romantic setting with friendly staff that would do anything for you to make your stay enjoyable. The room was both spacious and clean. You could not ask for more.

We booked a number of day trips with via the hotel which we enjoyed, I would particularly recommend the morning canoe trips out to sea to see the sun rising. There are many other such activities that you can but Palm Cove itself is only a small place and as such you might have to travel for some of these but the hotel can arrange efficient transfers. One such trip we did was horse riding on a beach north of Port Douglas, my wife loved it.

The food at the hotel was great, we had two evening meal and a lunch at hotel which were great. I particularly enjoyed hitting breakfast buffet every morning, they had everything that you could possibly want to eat. There was nothing better than sitting out of the front of the reef house in the sunshine in the early morning. Palm Cove also has a number of other excellent restaurants which help in really making your holiday, but one word of warning most places stop serving food at 9pm. Most restaurants are of the higher end but in a relaxed style which is typical of the Palm Cove charm.

The beach was also excellent and very clean. Because we visited in August we able to swim in the sea, however if you are visiting in the Australian summer months you will not be able to do this because of jellyfish. The pools at the hotel are nice and a good place to enjoy a quite beer or the free punch supplied by the hotel. Just one issue why is it that some people see it as being reasonable to put towels on pool side chairs all day to reserve them when they only spend two minutes in them?

Both my wife and I are seasoned travelers staying in a range of accommodation throughout the world from budget to fine hotels. This was the best place that we could have selected for our honeymoon. We looked at a number placed both in Australia and outside, this was the best option.

My wife was particularly interested in us using the spa facilities at the resort. They were great and I think that I will defiantly pop into the Reef House again just to use the spa facilities and have a further treatment, lovely.

In all I would recommend to Reef House for anyway wanting to stay in a relaxed and chilled hotel. We did quite a lot of activities during our trip in the wider area but the reef house is ideal for those that just want to relax. Because of other commitments we were only able to stay at the resort for five nights this was just about the right amount of time.

Take no notice of any negative comments (there are not many anyway) on this web site our experience was excellent.

  • Liked — The setting, the location, clean beach, the food and the service.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    173
    76
    31
    33
See reviews for
66
335
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Aussie
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2007

We stayed at the Sebel Reef House in Palm Cove, this was the most beautiful place, everything was supurb. We had Champagne on arrival, the food was fantastic, pools great, service prompt. We had on Ocean Spa room, very private like our own little home. We would definately go back again and worth every penny.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDNEY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2007

Wonderful, old world charm. Decor and layout very user friendly. The veranda room allocated to us was a beautiful spacious room, restaurant food was of the highest standard. Staff very attentive. The 3 pools were a touch cold but my daughter didn't mind and the spa made up for it. We didn't want to leave.

  • Liked — the luxury, feel and look to the place
  • Disliked — no games room computers did not have USB drive and expensive to use
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2007

We had a comfortable and relaxing 6 night stay at the Reef House. The room had just been repainted, which was probably needed, looking at some parts of the hotel. Very nicely decorated, although the bathroom could do with a revamp. It is in an excellent location and the staff were all very helpful. Not luxurious, which was not what we were looing for as we prefer something with character, which the Reef House has. The breakfast (which was included) was nothing special, however you can't beat the fantastic view. We found the restuarants in Palm Cove (apart from Nu Nu, which was excellent) to have similar menus, quite boring and overpriced. Coming from Melbourne though I think we are rather spoilt and nothing really compares.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2007

How anyone can rate this hotel at anything less than 4 is bewildering!!!

I've just stayed at the Reef house for the 4th time. This time on honeymoon. As usual the staff were excellent, the room was beautiful.
as a returning customer we were given an upgrade and had spa bathand a stuning sea view. We'll be back and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, IN
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2007

This hotel is across the street from the beach.The decor is very tropical. The rooms are done in white with netting over the bed. The location of the hotel is great. We walked to a new restaurant each night of our three day stay. This hotel is a perfect base for a trip to the Great Barrier reef. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2007

I've stayed here twice and love the place, it has a colonial charm of it's own.
The pools are excellent and the restaurant, if a little pricey (try Colonies down the road for the best food and BYO) is great for lunch and breakfast.

The rooms are not like most hotel rooms, feel very airy and natural and the staff were all extremely helpful, however, if you are the sort of person who expect staff in hotels to lick your boots clean then this is not the place for you, they are more likely to share a joke with you.

If only this place wasn't on the other side of the world......

  • Liked — Very relaxed atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection

Address: 99 Williams Esplanade, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia (Formerly Sebel Reef House)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#5 Spa Hotel in Palm Cove
#8 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
#8 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
#8 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 25 minutes north of Cairns in the secluded Palm Cove, an upscale boutique beachfront experience awaits guests at Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection.The resort offers a warm, personalised service for all guests and together with its comprehensive range of resort facilities, The Reef House is the perfect getaway for couples seeking romantic bliss or simply a holiday in sheer relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef House Hotel Palm Cove
The Sebel Reef Hotel
Sebel Reef Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.