We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 Williams Esplanade, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia (Formerly Sebel Reef House)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Palm Cove
Charlottesville
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Nice, but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We went to Palm Cove to spend a few nights before getting on a chartered boat for 10 days over the Great Barrier Reef.
Palm Cove is a charming little beach town. It has a nice feel to it and a lovely beach. There isn't much to do there however. The town shuts down early and wakes up early. My husband and I were surprised to see lots of people out and about as early as 6:00 in the morning, going for walks etc. There are some good restaurants and everyone is really friendly.
The Reef House - it's nice and the people at reception are certainly friendly and helpful. But the hotel feels very dated and a bit worn. We had a two bedroom apartment with a little kitchenette. The bedrooms were fine/basic. The floor always felt a bit dirty on our bare feet which we always re-washed before tip toeing to bed (soas not to get them dirty again on the way). It gets quite hot in Far North Queensland, and our A/C units had a governor on them which didn't allow us to set them below 21 degrees Celcius. Felt a bit hot at night when sleeping.
Our boys used the secondary pool a few times and had fun. There are lots of board games and a couple of bicycles for the guests' use.
It's a laid-back and nice enough place - just not great. But I don't know if anything in the area is any nicer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    186
    79
    31
    35
See reviews for
71
362
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Having done some significant research I chose The Reef House for a 5 day break. My husband and I are both well travelled and work hard so we were looking forward to aome time out. From the moment we arrived and the welcome smiles from the staff (Holly and Mark) to the comfortable rooms with cool terracotta tiles to the fresh and salt water pools with teak lounges to the brigadeer bar and punch and canapes at 5pm for guests to the surprisingly good food (Chef Ashe well done). I say surprising only because breakfast is standard but the lunch and dinner menu - delicious and as good if not better than many other offerings in Palm Cove (king prawn risotto, pork belly with scallops, gazpacho with crab and cumcumber ribbons, seafood tasting plate...).

To all the staff who made our stay and my birthday special thank you. If you are planning a stay in Palm Cove we highly recommend The Reef House. Its laid back, comfortable, a home away from home. It has a great location, spacious rooms, a fabulous spa and a team that make such an effort it brings a smile to your face.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Arguably Palm Cove has become highly developed, albeit still just off the beaten track. There are ample accommodation options, some very sophisticated some a little less. The Reef House is something unique these days. It has culture, heritage and a genuinely boutique feel. We were so close to everything but easily able to feel as though the entire world was unaware of our whereabouts. The accommodation is full of character, not modern but very comfortable. The people were friendly and extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: with quite a few accommodation/room options be sure to select one that best suits your specific need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have to say I wasn't expecting the location to be more than a hotel near a beach and for some reason I didn't research Palm Cove itself before booking the Reef House. The location was pretty well situated away from the bustle of Cairns and Port Douglas. Nice beach and we just happened to be at the RH during the Reef Feast food event. What a treat!

My initial impression of the Reef House was that it was one of the nicer hotels along the esplanade however after checking in and getting relaxed we started to notice rough edges throughout the property. We didn't see any major issues just some smaller details that mean it is time for some hotel-wide touch ups. With some sprucing up the RH could be stellar.

Our room was near the sal-water pool and very comfortable. Two weddings and receptions (with music) during our stay didn't really detract from our stay.

The staff was super-friendly and accommodating, especially with a very early check out (breakfast boxes helped with the early flight for our departure). Be sure to join the other guests in the evening for house punch and canapes. It is a great way to meet other travellers and exchange tips and stories.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Beautiful hotel but needs some serious maintenance. Bathroom leaked slightly & there are signs of rust & corrosion. The service was good, the food lovely & the hotel is perfectly situated. Reef House need to update their maintenance budget




  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection

Address: 99 Williams Esplanade, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia (Formerly Sebel Reef House)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#5 Spa Hotel in Palm Cove
#7 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
#8 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
#8 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 25 minutes north of Cairns in the secluded Palm Cove, an upscale boutique beachfront experience awaits guests at Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection.The resort offers a warm, personalised service for all guests and together with its comprehensive range of resort facilities, The Reef House is the perfect getaway for couples seeking romantic bliss or simply a holiday in sheer relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef House Hotel Palm Cove
The Sebel Reef Hotel
Sebel Reef Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.