We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 Williams Esplanade, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia (Formerly Sebel Reef House)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Palm Cove
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Home away from home resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Reef House for 8 nights and we both felt that instant feeling of being in a friends home, it really took me back to my childhood. We did have some minor hicups in the first couple of nights of our stay but the fabulous staff and management were extremely attentive and went beyond duties to make the rest of our stay comfortable and wonderful. We stayed in a Verandah Spa room which was of generous size for and super private, I also noticed that all balcony areas were generous in size at the resort. We dined at the Reef restaurant a couple of times during our stay and found the staff so welcoming, engaging and we both made feeling very special, I can recommend there amazing Vanilla Bean Crème Brulee, the best I have had in a long time and any of there mains. All in all this resort would suit couples, families and friends as there is entertainment for everyone to enjoy and we look forward to staying there again soon. I would also like to say a huge thank you to the most friendliest and fabulous Mandy on the front desk for making us feel so welcome and it was a pleasure to talk to you everyday, also the wonderful bar staff Karrie and team you were all amazing and lastly the General Manager, Brett, thank you for your time in welcoming us to your fabulous resort!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    173
    76
    31
    33
See reviews for
66
335
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay at Reef House. First impressions mean a lot and we couldn't have had a more friendly welcome. The pleasant attitude of every staff member continued throughout our 4 night stay. The room was spacious with a separate dressing room and patio. The decor was tasteful and the bed very comfortable. In the public areas, there is a large restaurant, a lounge area/library, 2 pools and a bar that works on an honour system. At 5pm every day a complimentary glass of punch is offered.The atmosphere is of another gentler era. If you look closely, parts of the resort show signs of slightly faded glory but it does not detract from the experience. Food in the restaurant was good but not great but there are restaurants every 5 metres in palm cove. Further along the street was Nu Nu which was excellent and in the other direction Vivo was very good. There is plenty of accommodation to choose from in Palm Cove but there is a certain sameness to most of the resorts we saw - all very modern and slick and I'm sure offering great luxury. If you are after a bit more atmosphere and a more friendly boutique feel, I would certainly suggest Reef House.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This place has a fantastic location in palm cove, you can sit and dine looking out at the beach and the ocean. We had both dinner and breakfast there - really good food. The five course tasting menu was fantastic.
The rooms are pretty average for a 4 star but the pool is sweet and they have some nice touches like the honesty bar and the complimentary canapés and cocktails.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We chose the Reef house for our wedding and couldn't be happier. The resort staff were very helpful and well organised, nothing was too much trouble. The resort organised the beach location for our ceremony and our reception was in their freshwater pool area.
The meal for the reception was a bbq buffet which was fantastic.
Holly Jones was our wedding coordinator, supplied by the Reef House and she was only too happy to accomodate our requests, it took a lot of the work and stress away from us.
We stayed the Reef House for our wedding night and the following night and were very pleased with the facilities. We had a beautiful room with a spa on the balcony.
The resort is not one of you 'swanky' 5 star resort, but it is clean, and has a lot of character. the staff are very friendly and the service was excellent.
We would recommend the Reef House as a beautiful place to get married and a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here as a base for our Queensland stop on Honeymoon Feb 2005. Very boutique, lovely big rooms with amazing Jacuzzi on the balcony. Was private enough walk around naked and dip in and out of tub without offending other guests. Lovely little place to base yourself from. The spa was also lovely, and treatments were out of this world!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The hotel is in a lovely setting and the facilities are very good. We enjoyed our stay and the lady at the desk was very helpfull when we checked in although some of the other staff were a bit off hand.
My only criticism was the standard of cleanliness. Our bathroom floor was dirty and still had someone else's hair on it which didn't move while we were there. I felt that some areas could do with a good clean but I have to admit that given the humidity of Palm Cove it must be difficult to keep things pristine.

Room Tip: A room on the third floor was light and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I recently stayed at the Reef House with my boyfriend for just the one night and it was such a lovely experience!

First of all, the staff was so friendly and welcoming, we had been travelling the whole day and they were all so nice. Norman (I believe that was his name) was such a pleasure to deal with (especially after some hotel staff in Cairns who were mediocre if not rude). My boyfriend and I were celebrating a special occasion and I really felt that the staff at the Reef House ensured it was that little bit more special. Our room was beautiful and the late check out was a fantastic finishing touch.

The resort facilities are great too! Their pools are wonderful (they have both freshwater and saltwater ones). The resort is so relaxing and Reef House even has bikes you can use.

Needless to say, I would thouroughly recommend staying here and it was really worth getting out of Cairns for a bit (my only regret being that I didn't schedule 2 nights outside of Cairns instead of 1)!

Thank you Reef House - if we're ever far north queensland again we will definitely we will definitely be staying with you again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection

Address: 99 Williams Esplanade, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia (Formerly Sebel Reef House)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Palm Cove
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#7 Family Hotel in Palm Cove
#8 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
#8 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 25 minutes north of Cairns in the secluded Palm Cove, an upscale boutique beachfront experience awaits guests at Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection.The resort offers a warm, personalised service for all guests and together with its comprehensive range of resort facilities, The Reef House is the perfect getaway for couples seeking romantic bliss or simply a holiday in sheer relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef House Hotel Palm Cove
The Sebel Reef Hotel
Sebel Reef Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.