We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic chill out apartments” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alamanda Palm Cove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Alamanda Palm Cove to your Saves list
Alamanda Palm Cove
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Veivers Road | PO Box 40, Palm Cove, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Angsana Great Barrier Reef)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Palm Cove
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic chill out apartments”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great welcome by front desk staff and porterage was provided to 2nd floor suite. No elevator, however this was not a negative for us. We were given upgraded suite which was huge, with every mod con you would need including full laundry facilities with spectacular sea view.
Everything you would need is within strolling distance including a great selection of restaurants along the beachfront.
Would love to go back...however it was a one-off bucket list holiday to Great Barrier Reef ...although I should never say never!

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the beach, the views are spectacular early morning as the sun rises
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    28
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
65
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I booked this trip as a recovery getaway for just me and my husband. The Alamanda Palm Cove is right on the beach at the south end of Palm Cove; a town with no marina, only a beach front promenade comprising several hotels, resorts, restaurants, and a few shops, all built in a colonial plantation style (except for two determinedly remaining beach shacks!) Very tasteful, but really, not much to do!! But so beautiful and peaceful. Just what was needed.
All tours to the reef and Daintree, etc. are available from Cairns or Port Douglas, 30 minute drive in either direction. I didn't partake, but my husband did, and having a rental car made it all very easy.

When checking in at the Alamanda, we were presented with tropical drinks and cold scented washcloths. The service had already begun! We were further told that we'd been upgraded from a one bedroom to two bedroom suite at the far end of the resort where it would be nice and quiet.
The suite was a large, cool and beautiful sanctuary; the doors opened onto a private patio enclosed by a hibiscus hedge with an opening straight onto the beach. Exactly what I had hoped and yearned for.

That first afternoon, a knock on the door surprised me with the reception person handing me a complimentary bottle of champagne and a card wishing me a good recovery stay. Boy, had I picked the right place!
I swam in the adult only pool every morning and evening, which faces the ocean. The lovely rock pool was beautiful too, but being heated, too warm for this time of the year.

I booked a spa treatment at the resort's Day Spa on our last day which finished with a pot of tea and a swim in a private 'plunge pool' on the resort rooftop overlooking the ocean. A perfect ending to a perfect stay.
The only downside of this 'Kick start to recovery getaway' was it wasn't long enough!!! I think seven nights would have been much better!

Room Tip: I loved being able to walk out the patio doors almost onto the beach. Ground level suites with beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have been to Palm Cove numerous times but this was the first time we've stayed at Alamanda and I have to say, we'll be staying there again. We arrived earlier than the advertised check-in time but our room was ready and what a room!! The 1 br apartment we had overlooking one of the 3 pools was huge, with an enormous bedroom with 2? bathrooms, a well equipped kitchen with quality appliances and even an espresso coffee machine! A bonus was that our room was serviced each day (at other places we've stayed in Palm Cove this has not been the case) and all the staff we encountered were helpful and friendly. The resort itself sits right on the beach. We can highly recommend the Almanda if you are thinking of a nice relaxing holiday in Palm Cove.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Alamanda Palm Cove is one of many impressive looking resorts on the beach front at Palm Cove. The main attraction is that there is no road between the resort and the beach. The staff were friendly and helpful and arranged airport transfers. We stayed in a beachfront one bedroom apartment. Through the palms there was a lovely view of the water. The apartment was spacious and welcoming. The apartment was serviced daily although they did not replace T2 teas and for a three night stay we were provided with only two coffee pods for the coffee machine. Our package included a bottle of sparkling wine but this never arrived. There were some cleaning issues in the apartment and I have provided the resort with feedback regarding this.


Overall, this was a lovely holiday destination and the accommodation was of a high standard. If they were more generous with small items such as coffee pods (perhaps two per night), chose a higher quality instant coffee (instead of Nescafe) and replaced the T2 teas, I would have rated it as an excellent property.

Room Tip: It is worth paying extra for a beachfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty G, General Manager at Alamanda Palm Cove, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for your feedback.

I apologise for you not receiving your bottle of champagne with your stay package, as it should have been placed in your fridge upon arrival. I have placed one in the mail today for you to hopefully enjoy over Xmas. Although you should not have had to, if you had let us know it was missing after you arrived we certainly would have delivered it to you during your stay. Again I can not apologise enough that housekeeping failed to replace your T2 daily as they should have. We provide two complimentary coffee pods upon arrival as a gift to guests, as we do with a sachet of laundry powder, dish-washing liquid etc. I believe that having the coffee pod machines is a real positive point of difference for our resort, rather than a negative that we do not provide enough complimentary pods. We have not had complaints regarding the Nescafe instant coffee sachets before, being such a popular brand, but I will look into alternatives.

Again thank you for your feedback and our apologies for missing you bottle of Champagne on arrival.

Have a safe and happy Xmas,

Regards,

Ty Goulter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

lovely hotel, reception staff were 10 out of 10 house keeping 5 out of 10 our second room was meant to be a double,reception staff had to make the twin bed into a double but only had single blankets :( Nu Nu restaurant for breakfast was lovely until a staff change over 5 out of 10 food was a little odd tea was frankly disgusting staff got huffy when we provided own tea bags even though they were an Australian brand. Felt as two adult couples paying half and half for apartment that second room was basic felt this let the accommodation down sadly. Pools lovely, barbee area a bonus, beach views stunning frankly even though comments may suggest other wise my party would love to stay at the hotel again, and my husband has said it is the best hotel he has stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ty G, General Manager at Alamanda Palm Cove, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Lucinda,

I am very glad you and your friends really enjoyed your stay.

I am at a loss as to why housekeeping would only make up the zip king with single sheets?
Needless to say I will ensure it does not happen in the future, as once the two long singles are joined it is a king and therefore should have been fitted with King size sheets, and we certainly have ample of those?
Our apologies for this.

I look forward to making it up to you on your next visit.

Regards,

Ty Goulter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just came back from Alamanda Palm Cove resort yesterday! I couldn't wait till I put my review on tripadvisor :)
The place itself is just gorgeous, clean and relaxing ! Surrounded by tropical design swimming pool and just by the beach! (Ohhh almost forgot to mention :) and for mango lovers :) like myself :) there is a mango tree in the resort and you can pick a mango on your way to your room :)

Staff just overly nice and professional! They always there to help you out and they give the best info about all the activities that you can do in Cairns! Thanks specifically to Casey and Lachlan for their help and advise :) we enjoyed our stay and we definitely would have gone back if the world didn't have so many different beautiful places to offer for us to visit!

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful spot. Our experience at Alamanda Palm Cove was great from the minute we walked into the reception to the end. The staff were great, apartment was lovely, the view, restaurants, peaceful settings was just wonderful. We will be going back for sure!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alamanda Palm Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alamanda Palm Cove

Address: 1 Veivers Road | PO Box 40, Palm Cove, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Angsana Great Barrier Reef)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palm Cove
#1 Spa Hotel in Palm Cove
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palm Cove
#6 Romantic Hotel in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alamanda Palm Cove 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore is the only 5 star resort in Palm Cove situated on the absolute beachfront. Just a matter of steps and you are surrounded by the beach, sea and swaying palms. Alamanda Palm Cove has quickly established itself as a popular boutique Resort with a bright and contemporary edge. Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore offers 60 luxurious one, two & three bedroom apartment-style suites, each with en-suite and second bathroom, dining & lounge area, fully equipped kitchen including Nespresso coffee machine, laundry with washing Machine and Dryer, balcony or terrace overlooking the pool or ocean depending on booked room type – the perfect place to relax at the end of the day. The four bedroom "Alamanda" Suite comes with its own plunge pool, large balcony and barbecue. The suites are all extremely spacious and are the perfect “home away from home” for holiday makers looking for somewhere tranquil and relaxing to stay. The resort is truly breathtaking from the moment you first step foot onto the premises and it also offers 3 saltwater swimming pools surrounded by tropical palm trees and rocks with a few little waterfalls around and a hot spa tub, a wonderful way to relax. NuNu Restaurant and Bar is an award winning beachside restaurant that takes diners on an exquisite culinary journey, featuring internationally inspired cuisine in one of the most ambient al fresco settings. The service is relaxed yet sophisticated, the seaside setting unforgettable. Long lazy lunches and romantic candle-lit diners are ideal at Nu Nu's Restaurant and Bar Palm Cove. This location is one of the most photographed in the whole of Queensland, it’s simply stunning. Nu Nu's Restaurant and Bar is a fully licenced venue serving Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner and catering for conferences, events and Weddings etc.The Alamanda Palm Cove Spa – is a multi-award winning purpose built destination Day Spa, a true sanctuary for the body, mind and soul. The Alamanda Palm Cove Spa is a brilliant beachfront Spa that has outstanding Thai therapists and features organic products, natural oils and spa products that you can take home. It features eight deluxe treatment rooms, six of which are ideal for couples. Three of the treatment rooms are located rooftop in private white canvas pavillions, overlooking the endless blues of the Coral Sea and the thin line of the horizon beyond. Outdoor spa therapies are conducted upstairs, and outdoor showers and private infinity edge plunge pools complement all spa therapies for you to bathe in and gaze out across the ocean and watch all the activities. Located on absolute beachfront, with a private white wedding chapel and one of the best health and wellness Spas you will find in Australia, this is a five tropical resort unlike any other. Perfect for tropical Palm Cove beach weddings or the smaller intimate conferences, Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore provides the most striking backdrop for your next function or event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alamanda Palm Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Great Barrier Reef Hotel Palm Cove
Angsana Resort Palm Cove
Angsana Hotel Palm Cove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alamanda Palm Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.