We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food & service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reef House Restaurant

Reef House Restaurant
99 Williams Esplanade, Palm Cove, Queensland, Australia
+61 7 4055 3633
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 51 Restaurants in Palm Cove
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Had the best degustation menu. The menu had a good selection of variety of light & refreshing & rich full flavoured dishes. All was fresh & delicious. Generous portion size. Service was efficient and very friendly.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    61
    33
    14
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Top Class restuarant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Amazing food and great service. Wonderful wine list and perfect location. Will go back as soon as we can!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Expensive food poorly prepared”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The atmosphere at this restaurant is very nice and the prices of tge dishes suggests a fine dining experience.
The staff were mostly polite but did not refill our water unless asked and not particularly at tentative to the table. They did not really check if we wanted more drinks unless prompted.
We ordered mains and sides including bread. The food was all presented very well on the plate but the flavours were a poor choices. The lime sauce with my salmon was very strong and in fact over powered the dish itself. Tgey did not go well together at all .

Our side of chunky chips were served with bland tomato sauce (I would expect home made or none at all given the price) abd with q similar sauce to my main dish.

Too much lime !

Thanks guys but I wont be trying this poace again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great food shame about the service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Decided to revisit the Reef House restaurant after spending our honeymoon there 11 years ago.

Lovely day to sit on the front deck overlooking the water. Drinks were promptly ordered & delivered. We then ordered our meals. That was the last service we had for 45 minutes. Considering the food was so slow in coming out we would have at least expected someone to ask if we would like another drink.

Despite that the food was very good.
It's just a shame that it took numerous attempts to get our bill right.

A bit of a disappointment.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the food, limited menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We ate at this restaurant 3 times as we were staying in the hotel. The food was generally of a very high standard, except for a barely warm bowl of chips that I should have sent back. The chips themselves were good. We had the seafood tasting plate, steaks and the tapas. at various times, and they were all very good The main problem was after the third visit there was not a lot we fancied on the menu as it was pretty limited. Service was good and the outlook is wonderful. You do not get much more than basic cutlery and a paper napkin, but water arrives when you sit down. I thought the beers overpriced by at least $1 to $2 per bottle and there was not a lot of choice of beer. They accept "Accor Advantage Plus" which gives the holders 50% discount and makes the meals outstanding value..

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reef House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Reef House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reef House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.