We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was okay - service shocking” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Nu Nu Restaurant

Nu Nu Restaurant
1 Vievers Road, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
+61 7 4059 1880
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 49 Restaurants in Palm Cove
Price range: $24 - $95
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Food was okay - service shocking”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

For the high reviews it has received and the cost for the meal I really had high hopes. I've eaten at many great restaurants in the world that were similarly priced and recommended and I have to say I was incredibly disappointed by my meal here.

To start we were immediately asked if we would like a cocktail to which we emphatically asked for and they took over 25 minutes to arrive and we had to follow up twice. We even had had our first courses by then and no one had even come over to apologize for the cocktail delay or ask if we wanted to do the wine pairings. This is just unacceptable for a high quality restaurant.

We were asked still or sparkling water, given no option for tap...

When we left we remained hungry. Again the portion sizes were ridiculous given the amount paid for each dish.
The staff make you feel as if you should be thanking them for letting you dine there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    90
    59
    45
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
new york
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stand Out in Palm Cove”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We had an excellent dinner at Nu Nu on Dec 29th. Superb!. All the menu items we picked were prepared perfectly - the ingredients were fresh and local! Presentation of the food was beautiful. Flavours amazing!. This was a stand-out meal for us in Palm Cove!.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“oh my goodness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This was our 5th time to Nu Nu and it never disappoints. Have the tasting menu if you feel like a bit of a feed. The combination of flavours and textures is a delight. Nick and Jason have created an amazing foodies experience. Well done. Regards, Danny

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best in palm cove!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We visited this place on our second night in palm cove and after a week of trying most places this place definitely stands out in our books. We lived in Melbourne for some time and ate frequently at the best restaurants and knew right away when we asked the waitress that this Chef was from Melbourne... and knew his food and flavours. Every meal that came to the table was incredible, we loved it so much we have booked again for our last night here on Saturday for my birthday. Can't wait to go back!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Dinned here recently with a group of people, Food was really good - Portions where a little small given they had been designed for sharing.

The mud crabs are highly recommend as well as the Baramundi fish !

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nu Nu Restaurant also viewed

 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 

Been to Nu Nu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nu Nu Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.