We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nu Nu Restaurant

Nu Nu Restaurant
1 Veivers Road, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
+61 7 4059 1880
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Nu Nu Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 53 Restaurants in Palm Cove
Price range: $24 - $95
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Everything was wonderful about our dinner at NuNu; the famous lemon bread, the amazing house cured barramundi, the gorgeous XO bun with ponzu, the crispy oysters that managed to be sweet and briney at the same time (no idea how they did that!) the magnificently inspired veal sweetbread sausage with apple risotto (wow) and the scrumptious, tender, beautifully flavoursome pork belly. That was one fine pig. The service was excellent, as were the wines (and my off-list Negroni). Soooo wish we could go back. We eat out at a LOT of good restaurants in Sydney & Melbourne (Hobart too!) and have subsequently become pretty spoiled in terms of great meals, but NuNu was overall the best experience we've had this year. It just ticked every single box perfectly. Go there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    123
    81
    57
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
melbounre
Level Contributor
173 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“NO tablecloths for $48.00 mains!!??”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Ok we know its Queensland and this is supposed to be laid back lassie faire attitude then how come the prices don't match? I had to remind my waiter to bring my wine. We waited 40 minutes maybe longer for mains the restaurant was half empty. Yes it was a FANTASTIC dish. Deep fried barramundi in an exotic thai sauce full of complex flavours that only fresh ingredients and time painstaking Hard work can produce. But this is still too high a price for this dish in this restaurant in this state and served in this atmosphere, with NO tablecloth. I don't want my arms sliding on a plastic diner type table while I eat an expensive dish. The chair was also uncomfortable and I had to ask for a cushion. We were also bitten by mozzies in this outdoor venue. We had a nice Heart of Palm mango and pickle salad for $18 which was about 3/4 of a cup full. Now desert: we all ordered the Passionfruit Soufflés with doughnuts. I made sure we told our waiter when we ordered our mains that we wanted this desert so there would not be a 40 min wait. I needn't of worried for this was NOT A TRUE SOUFFLÉ . It was egg whites beaten and baked no chance of it failing and the chef having to bake a back up in case it flopped. But at least this was reasonably priced $15 dollars it was a nice desert but not a grand soufflé experience in the true sense of the French tradition. The bill came to $201 two glasses of wine one kids plain pasta and two main courses and one side dish and 3 deserts. It's no wonder people are dining at the surf life saving club and this restaurant is unfortunately half empty and now even closes for half the week. We have noticed the calibre of clientele has changed and it seems to be the Jetstar airline family crowd. We can afford to eat here but don't like to pay more than is reasonably fair for the current going rate. This price may be justified in a Michelin star restaurant in a big city like London or sydney but not in this venue and not until they at least get tablecloths.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Although it wasn't one of the best meals I've had, that is only because of my unsophisticated taste buds. The food was at the highest standard and well presented. The service would be of the highest standard too. We eat out quite a lot and we could not find fault with the service. Great atmosphere. World class dining, and we didn't have to wait long at all for our meals. Amazing!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor service - good food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We had an 8 pm booking (made one week in advance) and arrived at (perhaps unsurprisingly) 8 pm.

Our table was not ready and we were asked if we wanted to have a drink at the bar. The bar is an area at the back of the restaurant and more of an ante room to the kitchen. Think lots of foot traffic and bells dinging. The maitre d' told one of the waitresses to get us some water. A few minutes passed and a different waitress gave us the cocktail list and asked us if we would like a glass of water. We said yes. About ten minutes later the original waitress who was to get us water asked if we would like some water. (So we were not off to a good start - but given this restaurant has a hat I was willing to let that slide). At this point no one had asked us if we would like a cocktail.

It got to 8:35 pm and we were moved to our table. We were not seated by the maitre d' (no big deal) but by another waiter. On being seated I asked if we could order cocktails. These arrived about 10 minutes later but brought out by a different waitress. We then ordered our meal from our assigned table waiter. But alas the waiter returned about five minutes later to let us know the side order of carrots I had ordered wasn't available.

Our entree (first course) arrived at 9:10 pm (which was sashimi tuna and so required little preparation) and our main course at 9:45 pm. The food itself was of a high quality and well presented. The flavours and tastes matched the descriptions in the menu. The passion fruit sour cocktail was devine.

When we had arrived and first read the menu we had our eye on dessert. But, after waiting so long for our table and then an inordinate time to be served our meal we just couldn't be bothered. We were also mindful of how long it might take them to make dessert.

At the end of our main course, the couple next to us were given free drinks due to delays. (This couple were seated when we arrived and had just finished their dessert). No such offer was made to us.

We asked for the bill. We had to ask a different waitress because our waiter was engaged in a long conversation at another table who were making an extensive complaint about their evening.

Perhaps it was an off night. But in my experience this restaurant is well off "hat" quality for service.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Another beautiful meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Love the new menu! Some new flavour sensations mixed in with old favourites. Have always had a great meal here with great service.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nu Nu Restaurant also viewed

 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 

Been to Nu Nu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nu Nu Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.