We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rising Sun Bar & Bistro

The Rising Sun Bar & Bistro
95 Willaims Esplande, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
+61 7 4059 0889
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 51 Restaurants in Palm Cove
Price range: $13 - $27
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: Standing proudly in the middle of Williams esplanade we offer all day dining with a relaxed coastal vibe. We focus on being a house of good food and a home of hospitality, offering locally sourced products, a great variety of beverages, outside dining, foxtel sports and a kids corner. So go where the locals go and come on down to The Rising Sun!
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

As with AshaCairns' review, we were thinking of trying somewhere different to Vivo. It started raining so that made our mind up. We popped next door to the Rising Sun. We found it a little more upbeat. There was a good selection of meals on the menu and the specials board. The food was described to us as "pub grub", but it was better than that. We had a selection of their tappas type snacks. Mmm, everything sounded so good, so we ordered four different things each, which was a bit too much. Mark was our waiter and he did his job well. We returned the next night and weren't feeling quite so hungry. Mark welcomed us with his smile and happy banter. I had the tasting plate, my wife had a fish main and banana fritters with icecream for desert. The food was above average and the pricing very reasonable for Palm Cove. The icing on the cake was having a waiter who was happy, kept watch on us without being intrusive, welcomed us back and thanked us both nights for dining in his establishment. It was a very enjoyable experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    124
    40
    24
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bowral, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Great view and welcoming location but the food is very disappointing. My husband had the pizza which was pretty ordinary and had a dry thick base. I had an Asian style salad that was similar to one you can buy pre-packed in Coles. The wait staff looked tired and disinterested. Obviously they are 'over it'. Pick up your act guys, surely you can do better.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The Man's Favourite Place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I'm not too sure why this place has received poor reviews but my partner and i thought it was a great place! We went there for dinner on our first night in Palm Cove. We ordered a few things off the Plates to Share section of the menu: Pulled Pork, Fresh Spring Rolls, Hand Cut Chips & Fish Croquttes. My oh my was it delicous. The tamarind sauce with the pork was to die for and the chips were cooked to perfection. We are very accustom to fine dining and good food so it takes a lot to please our pallettes. My partner loved it so much that he insisted we eat there for breakfast and lunch again! Breakfast was even better. We ordered Banana and coconut bread toasted with honeycomb butter and the eggs bennedict. My yoghurt and muslei was disappointing but everything else made up for it. Would definately dine there again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flaxton, Australia
1 review
“Dreadful meal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Liked the laid back look with the blackboard specials. Seemed to fit the feeling of staying in Palm cove. Sorry, but all down hill from there. Our joint order of pork and apple pie for him and beef rendang for her were the mistake of our trip. They were both mince meals without body or flavour. The herb salad accompanying the pie was so salty I could not get through it. Never before have I/we been unable to finish any part of our meal but, alas, tonight was it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Good service and good food. Went there for lunch with three adults and two kids and had a lovely time. Service was fast and the waitress was lovely

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rising Sun Bar & Bistro also viewed

Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 

Been to The Rising Sun Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rising Sun Bar & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.