We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rising Sun Bar & Bistro

The Rising Sun Bar & Bistro
95 Willaims Esplande, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
+61 7 4059 0889
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 51 Restaurants in Palm Cove
Price range: $13 - $27
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: Standing proudly in the middle of Williams esplanade we offer all day dining with a relaxed coastal vibe. We focus on being a house of good food and a home of hospitality, offering locally sourced products, a great variety of beverages, outside dining, foxtel sports and a kids corner. So go where the locals go and come on down to The Rising Sun!
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Good service and good food. Went there for lunch with three adults and two kids and had a lovely time. Service was fast and the waitress was lovely

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    124
    40
    24
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“SSH -KEEP THIS ONE A SECRET - VIVO HAS A RIVAL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I'd read the reviews - some good, some not so good - so decided to try this with an open mind. We usually go to Vivo which is excellent, but decided to try somewhere else for a change. Started with predinner drinks of the days' specials - a mango lychee daiquiri for me, an Angry Man beer ($16 and $8 respectively.) Now the daiquiri was good (but not up to the Novotel Palm Cove - THE BEST) and the beer good enough for the MM to order a second. The specials had soft-shell crab (I'm a sucker for ssc) so we shared that, duck spring rolls, pork ribs, and onion rings. The food was glorious - this was the best soft shell crab I have eaten in Cairns. The duck spring rolls were fresh-tasting, packed with greens and duck with a fabulous oriental dipping sauce. The ribs were juicy, properly cooked and moist on the inside and firm on the outside and again the sauce was fantastic. The onion rings were just that - battered fried onion rings very good but needed a sauce (so we ordered more of the sauce that came with the spring rolls. Really too much food (I wanted to try their pineapple bread and butter pudding but had no room) but with 2 more cocktails and 2 glasses of wine that bill came in at less than $135 and represents gsntastic value. Next time I'll forego the onion rings and have desert instead. And there will be a next time - this place is too good to pass up.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Despite the great location our food was average and we felt that we were imposing on out waitress. There was no greeting when we arrived just handed us the menus and walked away. We were tempting to leave but had trouble finding another sv sizable restaurant at they time. A smile would have made the difference but we observed her manner with other customers and she really didn't enjoy her job. Food was ordinary

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Amazing food, good service , great daily specials .. A must visit in palm cove! We shared the special grazing plates, calamari and pork .. We could not fault anything! We will be back ! Thank u for a great night

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Large Gathering”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Calm, casual atmosphere, across from the beach, indoor and outdoor choice of dining areas,very good food and a large selection of meals ! It was busy, the staff did their best to take care of our needs with so many. They are open from morning until night. Not a large place so get in early for meal time. Also if you dine at night wait until the sun goes down as the wind disappears at this time also.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rising Sun Bar & Bistro also viewed

Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 

Been to The Rising Sun Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rising Sun Bar & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.