We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy & Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Rising Sun Bar & Bistro

The Rising Sun Bar & Bistro
95 Willaims Esplande, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
+61 7 4059 0889
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 53 Restaurants in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $26
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Standing proudly in the middle of Williams esplanade we offer all day dining with a relaxed coastal vibe. We focus on being a house of good food and a home of hospitality, offering locally sourced products, a great variety of beverages, outside dining, foxtel sports and a kids corner. So go where the locals go and come on down to The Rising Sun!
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Easy & Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This place seems to get the full range of reviews, but we found it great. Simple, interesting food, service was good for us - and the location can't really be bettered.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    142
    48
    28
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had lunch and dinner here and both were excellent. Shared pork ribs and calamari for lunch were the best we have eaten. Really friendly waiting staff with great views over the beach.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We went here for breakfast yesterday and had the house cured barra and eggs on toast and they were just so yummy the staff were friendly and helpful in making our decision and the coffee was better will be back for sure as we are locals will recommend this place for breakfast any day

Thanks

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
“YOU HAVE TO GO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

If you're visiting Palm Cove and not sure which restaurant to choose as you stroll by the multitude of options, do yourselves a favour and stop at THE RISING SUN. It doesn't present as a romantic, fine dining experience, but the service and food is outstanding. You will not find any restaurant in Palm Cove that can match value for money and give you a memorable experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Decided to have a light lunch with two friends. Quite expensive for what was on the menu and service. After sharing a bowl of prawns, the wait for our meal was extraordinary. We were considering leaving when we were told there was a mix up with our order, when we finally did receive our meal, it was as awful. My friend ordered a steak sandwich - the steak was almost raw; the toasted bread was of similar size of a slice of french bread and crumbled when he attempted to eat it. It also had an identifiable relish applied (not listed on menu) and the salad was wilted. My other friend is allergic to avocado and so ordered a salmon salad wrap (as per menu) specifically because it did contain avocado When the meal arrived, it was stuffed full of avocado and very little salad. Needless to say, my friend could not eat the wrap. I had a sweet pork rib meal which was edible, but had obviously been kept warm for a long time as it was very dry - I gave my meal to my friend who ordered the steak sandwich as he was ravenous at this point. The total amount charged for this meal was $100 for 12 prawns, the three light meals and three soothies. The only redeeming aspect of the meal was that the waitress gave us 10% off for the wait.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rising Sun Bar & Bistro also viewed

Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 

Been to The Rising Sun Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rising Sun Bar & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.