We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Mixed Bag” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Rising Sun Bar & Bistro

The Rising Sun Bar & Bistro
95 Willaims Esplande, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
+61 7 4059 0889
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 49 Restaurants in Palm Cove
Price range: $13 - $29
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Standing proudly in the middle of Williams esplanade we offer all day dining with a relaxed coastal vibe. We focus on being a house of good food and a home of hospitality, offering locally sourced products, a great variety of beverages, outside dining, foxtel sports and a kids corner. So go where the locals go and come on down to The Rising Sun!
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A Mixed Bag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We ate a nice lunch of a chicken burger with chips ($17) (there were only 4 chips on the plate !) and a Vietnamese beef salad. Both were good. We returned for dinner on another night but were disappointed. My chicken parma was dry and my wife's grilled salmon ($32)was tasteless. For the prices I did not see value at dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    104
    36
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food, great staff and very reasonable prices.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Have had lunch here on numerous occasions over the last couple of years and have always enjoyed the good food, friendly and relaxed atmosphere and great cocktails. The calamari and the Sun burger are always good, as are all of the meals we've had. Will definitely be heading back for more.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good food, great service, excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We went here for a late lunch (after arriving into Palm Cove) and the service was very good, friendly and prompt. I liked the calamari entree and the rest of the meal was good too. They have a decent choice of wines as well. The prices are very reasonable. Unfortunately we didn't get a chance to go there for dinner, but when we'll be back in Palm Cove, we'll try that as well, so definitely coming back to this one.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wings beyond edible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Ate here last night for the first time. Food was average, however the chicken wings were so disgusting I could not finish a mouthful. When we left to pay, including the wings we did not eat, the male waiter was so rude. I never would recommend this place.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very rude staff - wouldn't go back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

The first rule of running a business is the customer comes first. The staff at The Rising Sun failed so miserably in this regard I would discourage anyone from going to this restaurant.

My friend I was dining with ordered chicken wings. When they arrived they were boiled and swimming in sauce. They were not the crispy tasting wings he would usually expect to eat. He did not touch them. Instead he complained and sent them straight back. He did end up having some delicious cooked prawns. Except this does not reflect the standard of cooking at the restaurant, they were straight out of the fridge.

At the end of the meal the chicken wings were still on the bill. We disputed the charge, the chef came out and said you still have to pay, we don't take anything off the bill because of personal taste. I can't believe he would not be more interested to find out how they could be improved. That would be the sign of a good chef. Instead we had to pay for the chicken wings and it left a very bad taste in our mouths.

This is the first time I have ever written a review of a restaurant. I've done it because I'm so angry about the way we were treated.

I recommend not to go to The Rising Sun, do not touch the chicken wings. Eat at Vivo instead.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rising Sun Bar & Bistro also viewed

Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 

Been to The Rising Sun Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rising Sun Bar & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.