We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I stayed in Palm Cove for a week and had all my meals at the Ming Dynasty Chinese Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ming Dynasty Chinese Restaurant

Ming Dynasty Chinese Restaurant
Shop 6 | 47 Williams Esplanade , The Drift Complex, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia (Formerly Marilyn's @ the Cove)
0740592185
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 51 Restaurants in Palm Cove
Price range: $18 - $120
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Cantonese
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I stayed in Palm Cove for a week and had all my meals at the Ming Dynasty Chinese Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Each day I had lunch and dinner at the Ming Dynasty Chinese Restaurant and enjoyed the food immensely.
Over the past eight years I have spent the equivalent of one year in China and experienced Chinese quisine across many provinces.

Without a doubt, the quality and presentation of the food was better than anything I had experienced in China (that includes dining at 5 star commercial hotels and private Communist Party establishments).

Sure you may question the prices compared with those of average restaurants serving ozzie tucker, but in life you only get what you pay for.

Regarding the service, the owner Mia is friendly and very efficient.

Over all, the restaurant is a top notch establishment, serving a nice range of excellent food in a professional manner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    26
    8
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

we were recommend this place by our apartment host and it didn't disappoint. Coming form a big city we've had lots of good Chinese before but this was right up there with the best. My kids are now HUGE fans of peking duck pancakes - thanks !!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food,great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had the best Chinese food we'd had in a long time...highly recommend...and the staff couldn't have been more attentive

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north coast, nsw
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“top notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

OMG the Deep Fried Beef & Walnuts is amazing. Satay on the sizzling plate very good too. Beautiful view & nice friendly people.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Food was so-so for the price they charged”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My family and I dined at the restaurant last night after reading some fantastic reviews about this restaurant. At the first glance of the menu, we knew that the dishes were overpriced (steak and black beans was $28 and stir-fry veggies were $24) but were hopeful that the food would taste fantastic therefore, we wouldn't have minded paying the extra price. The servings were not big at all when they arrived on our table. All in all, out of 10, I would give the food we ordered just a 5. The dishes weren't bad just that for the price that they charged, one would expect more. We have had better and more tender steak and black beans before and the satay sauce that was mixed into the veggies didn't taste authentic at all.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ming Dynasty Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 

Been to Ming Dynasty Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ming Dynasty Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.