We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food - service worse” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Baci

Bella Baci
123 Williams Esplanade, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
(07) 40553186
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 53 Restaurants in Palm Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average food - service worse”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Came here after reading the positive trip advisor reviews, and was greeted by a lovely staff member who after sitting us down was only to be seen once again and was instead replaced by a team of rather uninterested young girls. Way too many items on the menu. Food was very average.
Wasn't great, did not enjoy it at all. Would not go back in a rush.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    84
    18
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not Good :-(”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Food very average, worst risotto in the world? A pile of dry rice with mushrooms through it is not a mushroom risotto! service very average, took waaaaay too long for the mains to come, very expensive - won't be back

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Great service. Staff were great with out 6 year old. Food was fantastic. We planned to eat somewhere different every night but went back here for our last night. We enjoyed it that much. Highly recommend.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Absolutely worth visiting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Visited here last night for my first meal in palm cove. Wanted seafood and a pleasant atmosphere and got more than that. The food is great, but the service is simply outstanding. Am starting to find service is a key feature of palm cove but even so this restaurant was brilliant. Staff will chat if you want, leave you alone if you don't. I was dining alone so had several lovely conversations in particular with a delightful lady who had great knowledge of books, the menu and the local area (good luck with your trip to Italy if you read this!). To the food - I had seared scallops special with mango, onion, herbs etc. brilliant paired with a glass of sparkling white, extremely fresh, scallops perfectly cooked though just a little on the small side (trimmed of the roe, some hate it, I prefer it attached if it can be cooked well!). But entree paled compared to the seafood crepe main. I rarely order seafood crepe as have had so many bad ones but took a punt. It was amazing along with the Italian Pinot Grigio. The seafood was great but the highlight, the very lightly creamed tomato sauce (it's a lot more than just a tomato sauce!). I cook a lot of Italian, and I wish I could create this. Found myself eating a mouthful of seafood, then a spoon of the sauce on its own. So good. Finished up with amaretto espresso liquor. Enough said. Put simply, it's a restaurant that deserves your business and will earn a return visit.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful meal in a beautiful place.excellent service friendly,and totally enjoyed every mouthful of my meal.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Baci also viewed

Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 

Been to Bella Baci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Baci, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.