We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portobello

Portobello
41 Williams Esplanade, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
+61 7 4059 0611
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 49 Restaurants in Palm Cove
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

A great place for a nice dinner out with very good quality food and a nice dining experience. I found it to be the sort of restaurant we are used to in Melbourne.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    119
    54
    39
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Reasonable pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We took the kids here for dinner. THe pizza was quite nice although it was very thick bases, I prefer thin. Quite expensive. There was a big hens night on when we were there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Italian cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Fast friendly service and the food is very well cooked and flavoursome. Been there two nights in a row, we enjoyed it so much.
Highly recommended if you like genuine Italian food.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have eaten there two nights in a row. Both times we were impressed with the service and the excellent food.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Mixed bag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

First off, the location can't be beat - outside seating on the esplanade overlooking the coral sea. Excellent other than the occasional hoon in a Ute. But more importantly, the food. My wife had a nice pasta main that she was very happy with. I tried the cannelloni. Now, I've been to Italy, Little Italy in NYC, and have had some very good cannelloni. This was really pretty terrible. More of a pasta bake, with overpowering spice. I'm not sure what it was. Way too much pepper, or way too much thyme, but it was so off it was almost inedible. Portobello is very popular with every seat taken on Saturday night, so this was probably just a miss on their part, but was disappointing for me as the meal was not inexpensive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portobello also viewed

Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 

Been to Portobello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portobello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.