We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow slow service, average at best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Portobello

Portobello
41 Williams Esplanade, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
+61 7 4059 0611
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 49 Restaurants in Palm Cove
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Slow slow service, average at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Outdoor seating with good view of ocean from the patio. Waiter was friendly and attentive in the beginning, then was virtually non existent half way through our meal. We had to ask other staff to assist us. Italian restaurant with some fresh pasta and other pre made pasta. We ordered a brushetta pizza that was average and very different from pizza in the states. Toppings were fresh. We also had chicken parm and pomodoro pasta, both which was average. We left with our stomaches full but nothing was memorable or worth a return trip. Wish we had tried another place instead. Price was average for a vacation beach town. If you want Italian, not sure if there are many other choices however.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    119
    54
    39
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE with a capital T”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Went here when it was Blue years ago! Loved it! It's now an Italian Resturant with terrible table service, shocking prices and food is soggy and over cooked with no flavour! Not to mention expensive prices with owners children running around changing tables! You don't pay good money for this type of service! Do yourself a favour and eat on the other corner opposite!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Avoid like cancer”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We didn't even get to try the gruel!!!
We waited 45 minutes just to be seated. Which is odd because there were plenty of empty tables on this night. We only chose to eat here because have tried every other restaurant in Palm Cove and made it our goal to eat everywhere. The front of house 'Manager' was more concerned with facebook than he was at seating us. His disgusting attitude to paying customers had rubbed off on his staff too, all but one poor young girl who was trying her best not to cry at the manager's constant berating of her. The chefs looked more interested in 'who spilled the sauce' and this argument could be heard out on the street. The unpleasant looks on the few patrons faces suggested that the food was worse than the service and once we were finally seated, I joked to my wife that we should have got fish and chips. She laughed and said 'OK' and we walked out, never to return

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Service was abysmal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The food was average, the service horrible, some alarm kept clanging all during dinner. Took 2.5 hours for 3 courses - kids were beyond frustrated.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Service was abysmal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The food was okay. The service abysmal. Some alarm went off halfway through our meal and kept clanging for 15 minutes. We waited over 45 minutes for each of 3 courses. All I could think was "thank heavens tipping isn't expected here." Don't go.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portobello also viewed

Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 

Been to Portobello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portobello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.