We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizza to forget” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Portobello

Portobello
41 Williams Esplanade, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
+61 7 4059 0611
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 53 Restaurants in Palm Cove
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pizza to forget”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Had takeaway pizza and garlic bread last week. Staff member who answered the phone did not even give the name of the restaurant when she answered. The pizza was very ordinary as was the garlic bread and at a cost of $34 was totally overpriced.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    155
    69
    51
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rosa treats you like one of the Family.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Rosa the owner was great and really looked after my Husband and I.
Her food is as lovely as she.
Best tasting Seafood and great piza and pasta.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good pasta, but expected a little something extra”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were looking for a pasta place so headed here. We ordered two pasta dishes - one a napolitana and the other a gnocchi with pumpkin, chicken etc. Both were quite good - tasted fresh, enjoyed the basil in the napoltenana, but was hoping for something a little more special given the higher prices (to what we are used to - although prices suited palm cove) and higher-end appearance of the place.

Comfy seats, great atmosphere. Could hear each other, so not too loud, and staff were attentive.

Ordered a mango dacquiri too and loved it.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Palm Cove”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Fantastic food, friendly staff and beaufull place! Best Restaurant in Palm Cove for lunch & dinner!
We went there for the last three days of our 5 days stay and we could not get enough of the tasty food, generous sizes and unique recipes that only Mama Rosa has them!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

And great that it had a so-called "take away" menu. We had a group of eight, with two kids, and it helped so much that they provided a printed menu and let us take the pizza to go.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portobello also viewed

Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 

Been to Portobello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portobello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.