We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“S'alright, not bad, nothing reeeaally wrong with it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Portobello

Portobello
41 Williams Esplanade, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
+61 7 4059 0611
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 49 Restaurants in Palm Cove
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“S'alright, not bad, nothing reeeaally wrong with it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

It just wasn't right. Things are starting to look a bit dated in the seating area, toilets etc. Food was also ok, not sure if the Gnocchi were made fresh on site or bought in - it was difficult to tell - Do you know what i mean? The sauces were good.

This is one of those places where you could eat there or not eat there and your life would be no different. It wasn't bad, it just didn't offer anything of note either.
Place = Average
Food = Average
Service = Average

Overall, Average. Unless you have a hankering for average you should probably go somewhere else and even if you hate that other place at least you will come away with a feeling of some sort

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    119
    53
    39
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
SOUTH MISSION BEACH QLD
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“great food and fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

the location overlooking the beach. Our waiter , Eduardo, was very professional and prompt. His food recommendation was spot on . Price was not over the top like some of the restaurants..definitely a must eat at, either brekkie or dinner



Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice spot opposite the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

My wife and I had pizza and wine one evening and had a very pleasant evening. The pizza wasnt as thin crust as we prefer but all in all a nice place

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Horrible Service and food!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

We were welcomed by a snotty nose waiter, The prawns were under cooked, Pasta was packet and clumpy. We had entree mains and three year old meal and was practically pushed out the door in 35mins! To top it off it was the most expensive meal that we purchased FOR PASTA WTF?

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great pasta, quick takeaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

We had both pizza (good) and pasta from Portabello, as we often got takeaway from there and ate it on the balcony of our room. The restaurant always seemed to be pumping but our food was ready in about 15 minutes and the pasta was lovely and al dente and the pizza fresh and crisp.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portobello also viewed

Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
Palm Cove, Cairns Region
 

Been to Portobello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portobello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.