We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful apartments but beware body corporate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Views Palm Cove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Island Views Palm Cove to your Saves list
Island Views Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   137 Williams Esplanade, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartments but beware body corporate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

While we could not have asked for a bigger or better-appointed apartment, or one that had a better view of the ocean, our experience at Island Views Palm Cove was lessened by the fact that there are problems with the building’s body corporate, which have a negative impact on holiday-goers.
Firstly, the so-called temperature-controlled pool was freezing. Out of the 12 days we stayed there, the pool’s temperature was only bearable on two occasions. This is not good enough for an alleged five-star property. It was actually warmer to swim in the ocean.
There appears to be a fight going on between full-time tenants in the building because on a few occasions when we went to check the pool’s temperature, because it was so cold, there were several threatening signs placed on the equipment. It sounded like this temperature problem had been occurring for some time.
Secondly, the Wi-Fi did not work during our stay, which was blamed on the body corporate by Boutique Collection staff. We eventually were told to “piggy-back” onto another room’s Wi-Fi, which gave us intermittent internet access at best.
Other annoyances included the fact the baby's cot was not put up correctly upon our arrival, which we then had to chase for several hours before it was fixed, the extra room servicing we paid for was not done until 4.30pm, which again we had to chase up for several hours, numerous lights did not work and a light fitting was missing from one of the bathrooms – all very slack for a property of this standard and the way it is marketed.
It is a shame these factors contributed to us not having the five-star holiday we were looking forward to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoutiqueCollection, Manager at Island Views Palm Cove, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We have passed your feedback in relation to these issues on to the body corporate committee, and we understand that steps are being taken by the body corporate to resolve both concerns.

Please accept our apologies as to the other matters – we have used your feedback to ensure that all cots are installed with bedding for guests on arrival, and have noted your comments in relation to the service and maintenance issues. We hope to see you in beautiful Palm Cove again, and look forward to exceeding your expectations on your next stay.

Regards, the Boutique Collection team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    9
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed for 4 days in a third floor apartment for out Honeymoon post Ironman Cairns. It was perfect. An amazing apartment and the Boutique Collection staff were fantastic. The girl we dealt with had just started but was well informed and went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable. The apartment was 5 stars. Beautiful inside and a perfect location. Couldnt have asked for more. There was one apartment for sale at the time and if it wasnt on the ground floor we were seriously thinking of purchasing it so we could return more often. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Spent 10 days in a one bedroom apartment, level 3. Superb ocean views only interrupted by a few beautiful palms. Beautifully appointed unit. Fantastic situation in the middle of the Esplanade, a short stroll from great cafés and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Island Views by far is the best beach front apartments I have stayed in, and that is comparing them to properties such as The Ritz Carlton Keybiscayne Miami.
The customer service was great, we dealt with lovely people.
The Apartments are 5 star with amazing desighn , layout and furnishings.
Great large kitchen two lounge areas with flatscreens and gorgeous leather couches, extremley comfortable bed and large bathroom with double shower and vanity.
They are also very well airconditioned which is a must in the tropics.
The best parts though are the Balconies ours had a 8 seater table on one side then a 10+ seater lounge on the other side.And a gas BBQ with sink and shelf space.
Watching Paradise is the only way I can describe the view ,with the swaying palms and the sight, sound ,smell of the ocean wich you can listen to while you sleep , Sunrise, Sunset
what more can you ask for.

Room Tip: I think all the rms would be great we stayed in 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Beachfront (well, except for the road) and well located toward the middle of the esplanade. Self-catering, not a hotel. Fit out in the apartment we stayed in (10) was at a very high level, very clean, good supplies of cleaning products, good linen and towels. All of the apartments have ocean views, even the lower levels. Check-in through Boutique Collection was a bit disorganized, our booking made that morning in Wotif wasn't in the system, and the included welcome basket never appeared, but really, once you were inside looking at that view, didn't really matter.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantirna Victoria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed in Island Views apartments once again for 7 nights from 5th Feb to 12th Feb. We were not let down. The apartments are huge with fantastic big balconies which overlook the ocean. . They have your every need . They are kept very clean by The Boutique Collection and would highly recommend these apartments to anyone. Would like to thank Liene for her warm greeting . Checking in was done promptly and we were in our apartment within 5 minutes and shown around by Liene once again. We stayed in our favourite apartment on the 4th floor which we loved. Would like to thank Sara from FNQ apartments for booking our holiday and who was also very helpful with any need we had. We woulld book again through them without any hesitation. We had awesome weather for February and it only rained for 5 minutes one night and the rest of the time the weather was sunny . Island Views we love you

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed in one of the self-contained apartments within the Island Views complex. There are only 12 apartments, all fantastically designed with views overlooking the ocean. The main bedroom opens up onto the balcony which overlooks the ocean and it is an amazing way to go to sleep and wake up. The living area is very spacious, however you will spend most of the time on the balcony, well we did at least because we had great weather. The spa and main bathroom were great, and there were two other bedrooms at the back of the apartment that had their own little balcony, however this was more useful for hanging out the washing rather than hanging out.

There is also a separate living area which is ideal for kids, and a separate bathroom and double shower that services the back two bedrooms. Really great design.

The location is great as well - on the main strip, and Palm Cove is very easy to walk around so you are really in the heart of it. With underground car park access, the apartment is very easy to access. The only downside for us was that the swimming pool is not heated. When we had some wind, it made the pool a little cold for our little ones, however bearable for us adults.

Remember though that these are self-contained apartments and not part of a resort, so you pretty much need to look after yourself. In great surrounds though, it's a pretty easy thing to do. There is also a BBQ on the front balcony which is a powerful 4-burner beast and great to cook while listening to the waves crashing on the shore nearby.

We found the team at Boutique Collection who manage the apartments and who we booked through very easy to deal with. We arranged two have two portacots and high-chairs ready for us for our kids and this was easily organised. Would recommend though arranging this sort of stuff through Hire for Baby - much cheaper. We hired a pram and some toys through Hire for Baby and they delivered it at the apartment prior to our arrival. A great place to stay while enjoying the sunshine.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Cove hotels
0.5 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
0.3 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#2 of 13 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#11 of 13 in Palm Cove
4.0 of 5 stars 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#8 of 13 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
#7 of 13 in Palm Cove
4.0 of 5 stars 915 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pullman Palm Cove Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Views Palm Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Views Palm Cove

Address: 137 Williams Esplanade, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Palm Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Island Views Palm Cove 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Island Views Palm Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Views Palm Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.