We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real home from home :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Blue

Villa Blue
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palm Cove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Blue
Save
You added Villa Blue to your Saves list
Trivia Street, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“A real home from home :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

After researching many places on the internet for our holiday in Cairns, I finally settled on Villa Blue and was so pleased that I did! With having two young (ish) children, 10 and 6, we were looking for a home from home and we found it. The house had everything we needed for our stay and we all enjoyed the private pool in the shaded back garden. The house is situated in a very quiet, residential area and only a 10 min stroll to the Palm Cove beach. We visited many places during our stay (Port Douglas, Kuranda, Green Island, Mossman Gorge) and found Palm Cove to be a great, central location to base ourselves. The house was spotless and had lots of extra touches usually only found in hotels, the bottle of sparkling wine in the fridge was a lovely surprise too! I would definitely recommend the villa to friends and will book again if we are back in Cairns.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
canberra
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

We had a memorable holiday at Villa Blue, it had everything we needed plus lots more. Hazel was most pleasant to deal with and we will be recommending the house to our friends in Canberra. The weather was a bit against us, but we still managed to do some sight seeing. The children enjoyed the pool when the weather was sunny and so did the adults, it helped to cool us off when the weather was humid. The house is only a short stroll to the beach and restaurants. Furnishings were of a high standard and the house was very clean. The pantry had condiments in it which were appreciated, saved buying small items ie. pepper/salt, sugar, tomato sauce, glad wrap etc. We highly recommend this beautiful home and we are sure you will have an enjoyable holiday there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

My wife & I spent one week here with our 4 year old girl and 2 year old boy and we had a fantastic time. The home had everything that we needed for our week. It is very well appointed, the heated pool was great.

All up, we had a very enjoyable week, would highly recommend to anyone looking at staying and would definitely look at returning to this place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

Vila Blue is located in a quiet street setting, close to the beach and shops and lacks for nothing. A heated pool spoils you as you take an early morning swim. Bedrooms are very comfortable with the main bedroom having a spa to laze away the days exercise. House is very well maintained and very clean. Congrats to the owners and their hard working contractors.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vegemitefan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

We stayed at Villa Blue for 10 nights in March 2010, and would highly recommend it. Villa Blue is a 3 bedroom (2 with king beds, 1 with twin beds), single storey house with a lovely garden and it's own pool.

The house is furnished to a very high standard and equipped with everything you could wish for - even a cyclone kit, which we thought at one point in the stay we were going to need, but thankfully Cyclone Ului veered off to the South! In fact, the house is so well equipped, I didn't need many of the basic supplies I'd purchased from the supermarket on the way to Palm Cove - so my tip would be to check what is in the cupboards first, then go shopping!

The indoor entertainment system is great - a huge TV and good sound system - but the outdoor entertainment is even better! The pool is fairly compact, but fine for splashing about, and lazing around on a lilo! The back garden is very private, with a large covered veranda, range of sun loungers and a gas BBQ. We even had a resident kookaburra visit us most days!

For those who aren't familar with the area, Palm Cove is a relatively small resort located about 20 mins north of Cairns. I've been a frequent visitor there since 1996, and it's changed and grown a lot in that time. It's lost a little of its "villagey" charm, but on the other hand, the range of restaurants is great and the beach is still second to none. Most of the restaurants and shops are located on the Esplande - Villa Blue is set back from there, and it's about a ten minute walk to the heart of Palm Cove. There is a bus that runs close from the house down to the Esplanade, if you really can't face the walk!

We certainly felt at home in Villa Blue, and were sorry to leave - we've rented a few houses in Palm Cove over the years, and I would rank Villa Blue as one of the best. We'll be back (but only when the UK pound is a bit stronger against the Aussie Dollar!)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

Villa Blue is beautifully decorated with everything we needed for our stay. We stayed there for 1 week and felt very comfortable and relaxed there. From the large living areas to spacious bedrooms we could not have needed more room, even with 4 adults and 2 children. It is equipped with all modern appliances in great working order, including 4 air conditioners and ceiling fans throughout.
Villa Blue is very well maintained and exceptionally clean. You can tell that everything is cleaned regularly and properly.
The kids spent alot of time swimming in the pool. As did the adults. Outdoors was not forgotten, with a large BBQ and outdoor seating for relaxing. The gardens are also well maintained which encourage many local wildlife.
Palm Cove is the perfect location for any activity. It is close for many daytrips and tours as well as being the best holiday spot for views, restaurants and bars and swimming.
When leaving Villa Blue we promised we would return as there is still so much to do from there. We would not stay anywhere else!
Hazel was a great help and very easy to deal with. She always replied to emails promptly and could not have been more helpful. She made planning our holiday easy by answering all our questions and providing easy to follow directions.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

We were looking for a relaxed family friendly holiday in Palm Cove and we found it. Villa Blue was a delightfully tropical home away from home for a week late last year for us and our two teenage daughters.
It was very comfortable, well appointed and tastefully furnished. Everything had been thought of in terms of what we might need. There was even internet access and an excellent tv for those days when the weather was against us.
There was plenty of room for our family of four and we could have easily accommodated another couple without getting in each other's way.
Much time was spent in and around the pool, both day and night and it was difficult to drag ourselves away. When we did, it was only a short stroll to the beach, the shops, cafes and bars of Palm Cove. An easy drive took us to all the other sights we wanted to see in Far North Queensland.
Villa Blue exceeded our expectations with it's charm and casual elegance. We hope to return to Palm Cove in the future and would happily stay at Villa Blue again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Blue

Address: Trivia Street, Palm Cove, Queensland 4879, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Palm Cove
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Palm Cove
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privacy and comfort are key features of Villa Blue. Three bedrooms & two bathrooms accommodate 6 guests (or 8 with portable bed). The spacious lounge has surround sound home theatre, a large plasma and broadband internet access on Villa Blue's laptop computer. Outside, azure waters sparkle in Villa Blue's pool, which is embraced by landscaped tropical gardens to create a vibrant outdoor living space to enjoy whilst having a barbecue or soaking in the pool. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.